1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How does Google find fake reviews on Google Places?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by randybishop, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. randybishop

    randybishop Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    791
    Occupation:
    I was born a poor black child
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I would imagine they record IP address, but what about a computer's MAC address?
    Do you think they can record MAC address also?

    What are your thoughts?
     
  2. chumpss

    chumpss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    85
    Yes I think so, I have a small network setup for Yelp/Google/tripadvisor etc reviews. I am currently going through the testing phase of everything (and this is one of them)

    Should know in a month or 2 but to be sure, I assume hiding/changing mac address
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. jstevenson

    jstevenson Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can definitely attest that Google does for sure detect false/spammed up reviews. I remember that even if the reviews were published in a timely manner (2-3 hours per review) they will eventually dig them out of the Google places account of which you're trying to spice up.

    I anonymized my IP upon every review submission and after about one month of waiting, they ended up just deleting or removing all of the added reviews, and they actually left a few posted.

    I can understand that they may as well be tracking the MAC address associated with the computer that you're using to publish these reviews from, even if you anonymize your IP address upon every submission. Hope my experience helps!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. randybishop

    randybishop Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    791
    Occupation:
    I was born a poor black child
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I would be interested to see what you come up with!
    How do you hide/change mac addresses?
     
  5. innosoft

    innosoft Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    641
    Occupation:
    Software Developer, SEO
    Location:
    Office
    Home Page:
    I think its not with mac address with with new account.. i tried few months back.. created 3-8 new accounts.. setup g+1 profile.. after 2 days i wrote one review.. all accounts are used to write review on different sites/places.. and all got deleted including accounts.. i used hma vpn... not sure how they detect it..
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    You can't detect a MAC address by connecting to a web server, it's not identified in the TCP\IP packets.

    Perhaps the Google Searchbar or other add-ons would allow for this (something installed client side), but it's not possible by simply connecting to a web server itself, it's on entirely different layer. Besides, if you're changing the MAC address, you'd probably want to do it on the router, and not the computer itself anyways.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  7. asi_av

    asi_av Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    46
    they add flash cookie that you need to remove with ccleaner or any other cleaner that do it.
    they also check your account life, G+ account looged in once in month for review and every time from different IP is flagged.
    you need to use same IP with same user EVERY time you do review.

    make this account active! posts, pics, good profile bio, schools, high schools..etc

    good luck!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  8. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    Agreed, best info posted so far.
     
  9. Ptrick125

    Ptrick125 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Going To School
    Location:
    Near Austin, Texas
    I have posted a thread that has a link on where to delete your flash cookies. :) Just go to my profile, press "CRTL+F" and find the title by searching "cookies".

    Google has many algorithms that detect the intervals of the reviews, the IP address, the location, the flash cookie, and many more methods. The truth is that they have many of the smartest programmers working to keep their system "perfect".

    Posted via Topify using iPhone/iPad
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  10. moon612

    moon612 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Google Spiders period.
     
  11. nanavlad

    nanavlad Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    926
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SEO Consultant
    Location:
    Proxy Central
    How ever they do
    They got me fucked

    I tell my clients to buy their customers a beer if they give an honest review
     
  12. sivaanizer

    sivaanizer Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    INDIA
    these are all one of the methods ...they are having N number of methods to find them ..........
     
  13. sandy8899

    sandy8899 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also find that tripadvisor is as clever as google, do you agree?
     
  14. mapmakerexpert

    mapmakerexpert BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think Google Sees it.. If you need help to list your business without physical address I can help you published it. Just s k y p e me my user name is my username here on Blackhatworld.
     
  15. jascoken

    jascoken Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    751
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT/Web Systems & Development...
    Location:
    Sussex:UK
    It's really not worth it for a 'real' business. This is fine if you're black-hat gaming something, but if you have a real business with a defined google business page, don't risk false reviews. Not when it's so easy to use a simple reputation management system to get genuine ones.
     
  16. Adam718

    Adam718 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    438
    Occupation:
    Freelance writer and SEO Specialist
    Location:
    NYC
    I've found it to be mostly based off of IP and account activity. I ran a test last year by creating 5 accounts on a single IP and leaving reviews for some random place, they all got deleted. Then I tried creating 5 new accounts and adding pictures, posts, shares, reviews, etc on them, but the latest reviews were still deleted.

    Then I used unique IP's and spiced up their profiles and those reviews stuck.
     
  17. The Mentalist

    The Mentalist Power Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    269
    Location:
    Inside your head
    Exactly. If you really want to make fake reviews, you need to be farming your g+ profiles well in advance.

    I imagine using proxies that make sense also apply. Because a Seattle grocery store getting 10 reviews from IPs that are located in Dallas would obviously be a flag as well...
     
  18. frankie828

    frankie828 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    31
    Come on guys , we are just being silly trying to out smart their algo, We all want reviews and we all can post atleast 1, it takes no time at all. Maybe I will start a Skype group. PM me if you cool with trading reviews. I will add you on Skype and we can get a little network going
     
  19. m4dm4n

    m4dm4n Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    92
    Occupation:
    /dev/full
    Location:
    /dev/urandom
    If google would be getting your mac address you'd know about it. There are lots of smart people that keep a close eye on google and a mac address is a piece of information that they can't get by standard methods.

    The browser itself should never give up that piece of information and normal http requests ( hits on pages ) can't show this information because it is lost during tranzit. They can only see this piece of information if they send it from your pc on purpose

    i.e.: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/22281307/is-it-possible-to-get-mac-address-by-chrome-extension

    I'm not sure if they can do this in Internet Explorer though ( IE can run active x objects and i think you can see the mac address with them )

    i.e.: http://www.qualitycodes.com/tutoria...le=MAC-Address-Using-WMI-on-Internet-Explorer
     
  20. vitprim

    vitprim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    33
    Occupation:
    Tourism Industry
    Location:
    New York City
    More clever is Yelp. Accoding to my expirience review will be filtered on Yelp more often than on TripAdvisor and less often on Google+.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1