1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Workflow for Writing Product Reviews

Discussion in 'Copywriting & Sales Persuasion' started by Dan Hansen, Sep 6, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Dan Hansen

    Dan Hansen Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey!
    Can anyone here help me with finding a good workflow for writing product reviews?
    I mean, i plan to write a lot of them, and i want to make the process as effective as possible.

    What kind of software do you use for writing? Word?
    How do you do research? how do you structure the researched material?
    Can you recommend a standard structure of a review article?

    Any feedback is much appreciated! :)

    (sorry if this has been discussed before. I am a newbie here. o_O)
     
  2. ridersark

    ridersark Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    before the screen
    I generally write the reviews myself. This is the template I follow,

    Introduction - 100-150 words
    Features - (Just mention how it works and what unique features it has) Total 600-750 words
    - Subheading 1
    - subheading 2
    ...
    ..
    .
    .
    Conclusion (Call to action) - 75-100 words

    This should put each of your review article between 800-1000 words.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  3. Dan Hansen

    Dan Hansen Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks!
    Do you write the content in word and paste into WP (or whatever you are using) before posting or do you just write directly in WP?
    I am asking because there should be some potential in creating templates for different kinds of texts (reviews, guides, how-to, etc) in word.
    Or do the benefits of being able to format the text directly while writing outweigh it?
     
  4. ridersark

    ridersark Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    before the screen
    I prefer writing out content on wp itself.
    First fill out the structure. Headings and sub-headings.
    Then I just fill up what ever comes to my mind and once I'm done with that I quickly format it and then use grammarly to check for errors.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. sadecentpoint

    sadecentpoint Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    11
    best conversion copy is the one which uses all 10 triggers . you actually have a few seconds to grab visitors attention .
    try to write in WP in Full screen mode to eliminate all distractions.
     
  6. ContentWriter

    ContentWriter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3,027
    Likes Received:
    397
    Occupation:
    Content Writer
    Home Page:
    We write product reviews in MS Word. Then, I deliver the files to my clients. Sometimes, they ask us to post the product reviews on their WordPress-based website.

    There are 8 powerful subheadings that we use when we write product reviews. That outline serves as a template for us.
    Sometimes, some of our clients have their own subheadings or outline. In such case, we follow theirs.
     
  7. SEO

    SEO Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    649
    Be careful copying and pasting from programs, they often inject terrible quality html. If you want an example, jot down a quick article in Google doc, format some headers, add a bulleted list, then copy and paste it into WordPress. Then click on html view and behold the inline css hell. Not sure if word does it, but it's worth checking if that ends up being your workflow.
     
  8. Michel_Bevan

    Michel_Bevan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, I'm also using MS Word and delivery the product reviews on their WordPress based website.