What's Your Opinion on "Linkless Links?"

ContentWriter

Banned - Selling via PM
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
1,019
One of the expected SEO trends this 2018 are the "linkless links". Last year, Bing has confirmed that they are using them. So now I am just wondering: will this change link building strategy? What is your opinion on this one?

Loren
 
Last edited:

BassTrackerBoats

Professional Gibberishist
Staff member
Moderator
Jr. VIP
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
35,972
Reaction score
84,335
Website
www.blackhatworld.com
I've been a fan of those for the past couple of years and have had conversations with a couple of people about them... I call them mentions.

Although there is zero link juice from what I can see I do believe there is something in terms of giving your site some authority or "back bone" and I use them as part of some of my SEO strategies for myself as well as clients.

I don't target Bing rankings, and I'm not sure if anyone does that is looking to really make money in most niches, but I am 96.7% sure that Google sees them and takes them into account.
 

ContentWriter

Banned - Selling via PM
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
1,019
I've been a fan of those for the past couple of years and have had conversations with a couple of people about them... I call them mentions.

Although there is zero link juice from what I can see I do believe there is something in terms of giving your site some authority or "back bone" and I use them as part of some of my SEO strategies for myself as well as clients.

I don't target Bing rankings, and I'm not sure if anyone does that is looking to really make money in most niches, but I am 96.7% sure that Google sees them and takes them into account.
Thanks, @https://www.blackhatworld.com/members/basstrackerboats.100373/. With that new update, do you see link building to be obsolete in the future and replaced with mentions?
 

BassTrackerBoats

Professional Gibberishist
Staff member
Moderator
Jr. VIP
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
35,972
Reaction score
84,335
Website
www.blackhatworld.com
Thanks, @BassTrackerBoats. With that new update, do you see link building to be obsolete in the future and replaced with mentions?

That is not a new update as it has been in play for a couple of years from what I have seen and done but I doubt link building will ever go away. SEO, like most things, will continue to evolve but I don't see that drastic a change coming.
 

AngelSeo

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 3, 2017
Messages
2,774
Reaction score
2,482
Thanks, @BassTrackerBoats. With that new update, do you see link building to be obsolete in the future and replaced with mentions?
This is highly unlikely - people cannot click on mentions. The whole purpose of the link is to give a easy way to visit another website. Like BassTrackerBoats said mentions are nice, while not giving ranking power directly, they help build the "reputation" of the website in Google eyes.
 

Unreliable Witness

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
831
Reaction score
619
I reckon they are something search engines take into account in a small way. They wouldn't have anything like the same importance as regular links.

There has been talk of the importance of mentions for a number of years.

The more websites that mention your brand, the more likely you are to be reputable, even if they don't link to you.

I would guess that search engines use it to support other ranking factors.

Of course, mentions will only work if your site can be recognised as a brand in context of the page linking to it. I doubt Amazon (the shopping site) get credit in articles about the Brazilian jungle.
 

aidenhera

BANNED
Joined
Nov 30, 2016
Messages
3,059
Reaction score
913
I havent checked their influence but it makes a lot of sense if they provided strong kick (assuming they are coming from HQ sites)
 

ContentWriter

Banned - Selling via PM
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
1,019
I reckon they are something search engines take into account in a small way. They wouldn't have anything like the same importance as regular links.

There has been talk of the importance of mentions for a number of years.

The more websites that mention your brand, the more likely you are to be reputable, even if they don't link to you.

I would guess that search engines use it to support other ranking factors.

Of course, mentions will only work if your site can be recognised as a brand in context of the page linking to it. I doubt Amazon (the shopping site) get credit in articles about the Brazilian jungle.
I agree. With these linkless link strategy, there is another way in aiming to build overall brand awareness and reputation. With it, we can have another option aside from gaining backlinks to broaden our reach and achieve our goals. Thank you for sharing your opinion about that. :)
 

don chino

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
890
Reaction score
291
Website
pbn.solutions
I know it should work, especially for local seo (citations), however never been a fan of it myself. Doesn't give the same feeling as creating a fat juicy hyperlink on a good website homepage, also hard to analyse such "links" with seo tools.
 

ContentWriter

Banned - Selling via PM
Joined
May 8, 2013
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
1,019
I know it should work, especially for local seo (citations), however never been a fan of it myself. Doesn't give the same feeling as creating a fat juicy hyperlink on a good website homepage, also hard to analyse such "links" with seo tools.
That's true, @don chino. Having hyperlinks are much more satisfying than just "mentions". Thanks for your input :)
 

Array Experts

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Sep 26, 2015
Messages
1,803
Reaction score
796
Website
www.linkindexingexpert.com
One of the expected SEO trends this 2018 are the "linkless links". Last year, Bing has confirmed that they are using them. So now I am just wondering: will this change link building strategy? What is your opinion on this one?

Loren

I am not big fan of these kind links but agree these links is upcoming link building trend as in 2018 direct traffic & brand searches is one of top ranking factor so i strongly believe people will definitely play with linkless links to increase direct traffic
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Website
YouHaveToPayToAdvertiseOnBHW.com
Like BassTrackerBoats said, mentions have been around for a few years and yes they might help (with brand awareness more than anything), but not as much as actual links.
Is good you asked this here, I'm so tired of these "trends" at the beginning of each year that are based on nothing. All we know for certain in 2018 is that mobile speed will be a ranking factor, the rest...we'll wait and see.
 

SEOLair

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
421
Reaction score
105
Since they are way easier to game than links themselves, it's hard to believe they would ever be used. Every time Google tries to get away from links, social signals anyone?, they fail because its even more spammable than links.
 
Top