1. This website uses cookies to improve service and provide a tailored user experience. By using this site, you agree to this use. See our Cookie Policy.
    Dismiss Notice

Suspicious BST Reviews

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions & Feedback' started by ContentExpert, Jun 9, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ContentExpert

    ContentExpert Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Occupation:
    ↓ USA-Native Author↓
    Location:
    ↓ Money-site Quality↓
    Home Page:
    Eventually, we may see an Escrow system implemented although this would be quite an ubdertaking for DD.
     
  2. sonyhp

    sonyhp Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    62
    I think I saw someone was selling BHW reviews on amazon's digital marketplace section.
     
  3. Toz

    Toz Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,765
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Public Relations
    Location:
    United States
    Home Page:
    What good would this system do against an aged, fake account that uses a proxy (or even a VPS) and a VCC? The end result would be the same. Fake reviews by those crafty enough to not get caught, and end users being tricked into buying crappy services from dishonest sellers promising the dream while delivering a nightmare, all while pumping out excuse after excuse and encouraging patience (and of course, more money).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ContentExpert

    ContentExpert Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Occupation:
    ↓ USA-Native Author↓
    Location:
    ↓ Money-site Quality↓
    Home Page:
    Find the service if you can and share the link with me. I'll do some digging and may reach out to them to see "how established their accounts are" so I know how authentic the reviews will appear.

    When they share the link to their BHW profile(s) I'll share it with the MODs. :)
     
  5. Social Sparrow

    Social Sparrow Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    100
    Gender:
    Female
    To avoid fake account reviews,all the members will add their personal info like phone number, Facebook I'd , twitter, any government approved documents can submit in their profile. It can be verified by mod or staff members it's real or fake.so that we can reduce the fake account and reviews. I hope it's work
     
  6. NoExcuses

    NoExcuses Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    This is a black hat forum, and some services like selling fake documents aren’t the best thing to look on your profile. Many people would use fake documents or just not use BHW at all
     
  7. Social Sparrow

    Social Sparrow Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    100
    Gender:
    Female
    Last time Fiverr did this method to find some fake I'd in their database.
     
  8. BlueBuzzy

    BlueBuzzy Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Oh Canada
    Its mostly due diligence at this point. Read a lot of fake reviews when I just started that pushed me to get the service, which ended up being not just not beneficial, but harmful to my site.

    We learn on our own mistakes only, am I right?

    Every single section of the marketplace has those, but you get a lot better as time goes.
     
  9. Purush

    Purush Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,521
    Likes Received:
    817
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Sometimes even after due checking. We can end up with cheated. It's the reason I am not going bigger transaction , out of fear getting nothing.
     
  10. krishnaverma

    krishnaverma Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,236
    Likes Received:
    2,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IM
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    Risks here are less as the services are reviewed by mods before getting posted.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. ContentExpert

    ContentExpert Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Occupation:
    ↓ USA-Native Author↓
    Location:
    ↓ Money-site Quality↓
    Home Page:
    Yes, and the CrapList helps to maintain seller accountability in the event of issues, of which are usually resolved.
     
  12. lokko

    lokko Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    64
    I hope BHW can come up with ways to track this. Maybe one month have the mods just focus on checking and verifying reviews by doing an investigation etc. Then another random month, do it again.
     
  13. hadnerd

    hadnerd Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    222
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Newbieland
    That's why the next HW update if I remember, will allow a way to purchase directly from here.
    By doing so, people who review a BST will have a purchase badge.
     
  14. Unreliable Witness

    Unreliable Witness Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    416
    When considering buying a BST I ignore reviews from anyone except a select handful of active, reputable members. Its not a foolproof method (the quality of the service might not always be the same), but serious sellers who are really in business are likely to offer reviews to the same people knowing the weight they carry.

    Just filter out reviews from members who don't regularly contribute.

    Some mod reviews are great (@Zwielicht and @BassTrackerBoats). The marketplace could be improved if all marketplace mods gave similar detailed reviews, and if services were reviewed say once a year.
     
  15. Adam Xtubeage

    Adam Xtubeage Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IM & ENJOYING LIFE & STUDYING....!
    Location:
    PARADISE
    Home Page:
    Well I think it would reduce the spam rate as this will be an in house contract system mods have a detail view of every transaction and if the buyer actually purchased the product or not.
     
  16. Purush

    Purush Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,521
    Likes Received:
    817
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Yes, its better than everywhere.
     
  17. Brilliant Digital Services

    Brilliant Digital Services Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    196
    Occupation:
    SEO Consultant
    Location:
    BHW
    Sometime real buyers with 1 post buy services worth 1k or more. And with second post they leave a review.
    Sellers who use fake reviews or send samples sort of post in order to get sales are many. Even it is happening from long back and no one leave footprints behind.
    Better is to stay away from such services, or get involved into the race. Best option is to report post, @MisterF will find evidence in backend.
    Coz forum knows everything.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  18. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,737
    Likes Received:
    50,936
    Occupation:
    Generic Human Being
    Location:
    As Close to Heaven as One Can Get!
    Home Page:
    If you think the review is fake, please report it with any evidence you have.

    We do not tolerate that sort of thing on BHW on any level.

    A lot of the one timers are coming here from other places though and are encouraged to join the forum or revive their account if it has been lying stagnant and that is a part of the reason people think reviews are not authentic in some instances. It looks hokey (it looks hokey to me too until I peeled back some layers on the onion).

    There are an abundance of ways for us to check things that may not be as they should be on BHW and we have a lot more access to accounts than one would imagine so if there is fraud in the "giving reviews" department we would love to hear about it so we can stamp it out.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  19. ContentExpert

    ContentExpert Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Occupation:
    ↓ USA-Native Author↓
    Location:
    ↓ Money-site Quality↓
    Home Page:
    That makes sense. In such cases, the reviews would definitely not look authentic. Will keep an eye out and will report future reviews that I deem skeptical.

    Thanks for your effort. :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. ContentExpert

    ContentExpert Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Occupation:
    ↓ USA-Native Author↓
    Location:
    ↓ Money-site Quality↓
    Home Page:
    FAKE.png
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.