Old to New Group Migration, Better or Worst ??

uChangetoday

Newbie
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
2
What happens to my old group when it gets archived?

When your old group gets archived, it will be converted to the new groups format. Almost everything...
When your old group gets archived, it will be converted to the new groups format. Almost everything from your old group will be available in the archived group, with a few exceptions.

Things that will be available in the archived version include:

  • Group photos and Wall posts
  • Group discussion threads, which become Wall posts
  • The group description, which can be found at the top of the page when you click "See All" members in the new group

Things that will NOT be available in the archived version include:

  • Recent news
  • Group officer titles
  • The info box under the old group picture
  • The group network
  • The members of your old group. You can still add new members by clicking "Add Friends to Group."

If you would like to preserve any of this information, it?s recommended that you save it before your group is archived.

Keep in mind that the new groups format was designed to help you share with the small groups of people in your life. If you?ve been using your old group to promote your business, we recommend you https://www.facebook.com/pages/create.php instead.


How do I upgrade an old group to a new group?


If you see a message at the top of an old group with the option to upgrade, simply click "Upgrade Th...
If you see a message at the top of an old group with the option to http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20337, simply click "Upgrade This Group" to upgrade to the new groups format. Members of the old group will also be given the option to ask the admin to upgrade. Note that it may take a few minutes or more before the content from your group is converted to the new format.

If you choose not to upgrade your group, or if you do not see an option to do so, the group will eventually be http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20336.

You can continue using your group after it is archived. However, since members of old groups will not migrate to archived groups, you will need to http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18849.




What happens when an admin upgrades an old group?


If the admin of an old group decides to upgrade, the group will be converted to the new groups forma...
If the admin of an old group decides to upgrade, the group will be converted to the new groups format. If the admin chooses not to upgrade, the group will eventually be http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20336. Almost everything from the old group will be available in the upgraded group, with a few exceptions.

Things that will be available in the new group include:

  • Group photos and Wall posts
  • Group discussion threads, which become Wall posts
  • The group description, which can be found at the top of the page when you click "See All" members in the new group
  • Members of the old group will be migrated to the new group

Things that will NOT be available in the new group include:

  • Recent news
  • Group officer titles
  • The info box under the old group picture
  • The group network

If you would like to preserve any of this information, it?s recommended that you save it before your group is upgraded.

Once the group is upgraded, members can:

  • http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18808 with the whole group at once
  • Share http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20339
  • Poll the group with http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20342
  • Connect off Facebook using a shared http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20423
  • Create group http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18804 to share information
 
i dont see the upgrade option on all my groups does anyone know why?
 
worse... you lose ALL members .... that is BAD. what can we do to restore the members? i dont want to lose group members
 
send them a msg with add me ( if youre not friends with them already ) if you want to be part of the new special group, the old group will die cause of changes in facebook
the ones that will add are actually interested in whatyou have to offer them
for the new groups you can add people yourself to a group. the ones you add and stay are targeted .
thats what its all about. targeted people.

if you want your group to be big get an outsourcers and let him create 1000 profiles and let him join them all to the group .
 
how do i upgrade these groups

i dont see the option to upgrade or the option to tell the admin to upgrade
 
i wont mess with that if mean lets say some thing goes wrong then you loose all... that is bad
 
Why do they do it? I maen what is the aim in changing goup's format?
 
Back
Top