1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old to New Group Migration, Better or Worst ??

Discussion in 'FaceBook' started by uChangetoday, May 2, 2011.

  1. uChangetoday

    uChangetoday Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    What happens to my old group when it gets archived?

    When your old group gets archived, it will be converted to the new groups format. Almost everything...
    When your old group gets archived, it will be converted to the new groups format. Almost everything from your old group will be available in the archived group, with a few exceptions.

    Things that will be available in the archived version include:

    • Group photos and Wall posts
    • Group discussion threads, which become Wall posts
    • The group description, which can be found at the top of the page when you click "See All" members in the new group

    Things that will NOT be available in the archived version include:

    • Recent news
    • Group officer titles
    • The info box under the old group picture
    • The group network
    • The members of your old group. You can still add new members by clicking "Add Friends to Group."

    If you would like to preserve any of this information, it?s recommended that you save it before your group is archived.

    Keep in mind that the new groups format was designed to help you share with the small groups of people in your life. If you?ve been using your old group to promote your business, we recommend you https://www.facebook.com/pages/create.php instead.


    How do I upgrade an old group to a new group?


    If you see a message at the top of an old group with the option to upgrade, simply click "Upgrade Th...
    If you see a message at the top of an old group with the option to http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20337, simply click "Upgrade This Group" to upgrade to the new groups format. Members of the old group will also be given the option to ask the admin to upgrade. Note that it may take a few minutes or more before the content from your group is converted to the new format.

    If you choose not to upgrade your group, or if you do not see an option to do so, the group will eventually be http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20336.

    You can continue using your group after it is archived. However, since members of old groups will not migrate to archived groups, you will need to http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18849.




    What happens when an admin upgrades an old group?


    If the admin of an old group decides to upgrade, the group will be converted to the new groups forma...
    If the admin of an old group decides to upgrade, the group will be converted to the new groups format. If the admin chooses not to upgrade, the group will eventually be http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20336. Almost everything from the old group will be available in the upgraded group, with a few exceptions.

    Things that will be available in the new group include:

    • Group photos and Wall posts
    • Group discussion threads, which become Wall posts
    • The group description, which can be found at the top of the page when you click "See All" members in the new group
    • Members of the old group will be migrated to the new group

    Things that will NOT be available in the new group include:

    • Recent news
    • Group officer titles
    • The info box under the old group picture
    • The group network

    If you would like to preserve any of this information, it?s recommended that you save it before your group is upgraded.

    Once the group is upgraded, members can:

    • http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18808 with the whole group at once
    • Share http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20339
    • Poll the group with http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20342
    • Connect off Facebook using a shared http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=20423
    • Create group http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18804 to share information
     
  2. Headshotcz

    Headshotcz Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for this info.
     
  3. fbadder

    fbadder Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    i dont see the upgrade option on all my groups does anyone know why?
     
  4. juicemane

    juicemane Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    23
    worse... you lose ALL members .... that is BAD. what can we do to restore the members? i dont want to lose group members
     
  5. clitorisfactory

    clitorisfactory Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    52
    send them a msg with add me ( if youre not friends with them already ) if you want to be part of the new special group, the old group will die cause of changes in facebook
    the ones that will add are actually interested in whatyou have to offer them
    for the new groups you can add people yourself to a group. the ones you add and stay are targeted .
    thats what its all about. targeted people.

    if you want your group to be big get an outsourcers and let him create 1000 profiles and let him join them all to the group .
     
  6. oxy200

    oxy200 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    6
    how do i upgrade these groups

    i dont see the option to upgrade or the option to tell the admin to upgrade
     
  7. moneyrocks

    moneyrocks Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    135
    i wont mess with that if mean lets say some thing goes wrong then you loose all... that is bad
     
  8. prteam

    prteam Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why do they do it? I maen what is the aim in changing goup's format?