1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting Yelp review removed TOS

Discussion in 'Online Reputation Management (ORM)' started by Brooklynseoer, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. Brooklynseoer

    Brooklynseoer Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Iron worker, SEO
    Location:
    Nyc
    Someone we work with has great online reviews (service business)

    Someone left a 1 star review claiming the business was tough to get in touch with then when they finally did get in touch with them they felt as if the price was too high. Also admitted in the review they never did or will use the business.

    We told yelp the business has no idea who this person is an seems like a competitor. What are the chances a review like this will be removed for violation TOS? The person never even used the service and are complaining of a price they never even paid? Seems unfair to us
     
  2. JustUs

    JustUs Power Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    582
    All of the large SE's and social networks like Google, Bing, Facebook, etc are grouping together in Europe to proactively remove hate speech. Have you thought about reporting said post to Yelp as hate speech?
     
  3. Brooklynseoer

    Brooklynseoer Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Iron worker, SEO
    Location:
    Nyc
    This was in USA..
    Not reporting it as hate speech but I feel As if it is slanderous. How can you just write a review for a company you never used and for a price you didn't even pay?
     
  4. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    I doubt they'll remove it, but let us know how it turns out.

    Google searchers are more likely to click a 1 star Yelp result than they are a 5 star result. Yelp and most businesses have the exact opposite desires when it comes to review ratings.
     
  5. MustaphaMond

    MustaphaMond Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've actually had pretty good luck having Yelp reviews removed on the basis of the person not having an actual customer experience, but those cases were all a little more clear cut than this -- this is in a pretty gray area. I'm interested to hear what happens too.
     
  6. sunny_clicks

    sunny_clicks Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    PPC Account Manager Buckdat Media
    Location:
    The Web
    The yelp team does look into such matters and checks to see if the review poster is indeed genuine although cannot comment on their process however I had had success with getting a few removed but other were unsuccessful too. So it depends
     
  7. andrew1978

    andrew1978 Regular Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Home Page:
    yelp will remove, this happened to me 2 years ago , good luck man
     
  8. b1step-ahead

    b1step-ahead Power Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    316
    can you post the review and leave out the names?
     
  9. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    Are you asking him to copy and paste the actual review? I'm confused by what you're asking.
     
  10. cryptexicebone

    cryptexicebone Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    79
    Occupation:
    Baller
    Location:
    los angeles, ca
    They have their own ways of assesOne company I worked with was able to get numerous reviews from verified customers removed so there is def the possibility.
     
  11. VijaySEO

    VijaySEO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Reviews on Yelp is all a money game, you need to be willing to pay to play! http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-yelp-ratings-20140905-story.html
     
  12. sadecentpoint

    sadecentpoint Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    11
    you can always contact them and explain the whole situation. i think it will do.