1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Delete AdWords Campaign

Discussion in 'Adwords' started by waimeng00, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. waimeng00

    waimeng00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    292
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Can we really "delete" AdWords campaign ?

    If you try to "delete" campaign/ad group/keywords/ads, it doesn't removed from you account, only the status chance from "pause" or "active" to "deleted".

    Anytime when you want to bring it back, you can just change it to "active".

    What do you guys think about it ?
     
  2. adsterhome

    adsterhome Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    34
    Occupation:
    Fulltime Forex Trader
    You can delete campaign clear by using change status function in Adwords Account !
     
  3. MKelly

    MKelly Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    UK
    Of course you can delete the campaign, you can delete anything, all the keywords, individual keywords, ads themselves.

    You can change anything and delete/add anything you like, you've not been looking through the options enough!
     
  4. eduaseso

    eduaseso Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download Editor Google Adwords and delete all that you want
     
  5. waimeng00

    waimeng00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    292
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Yes, we can "deleted" anything including campaign, ad group, ads, keyword... We can even "deleted" or "deactivate" the adwords account itself.

    However, all the data (keyword, ads, campaign, adwords account) that we created will not be "removed from Google server/database).

    Once you created a campaign, it will always remain in your adwords account even after you delete it. The only changes is status of the campaign change from "active" to "deleted".

    If you decide to stop using adwords, you can delete all your campaign, ads, keywords and deactivate your adwords account. However, whenever you want to re-use adwords, you can easily re-activate the adwords account by contact adwords support team. With a few mouse click after entering your valid billing info, you can bring back all your campaign, keywords & ads to live.

    In addition, every changes your make (such as bid price, rename ads, add & remove keywords) , you can retrieve it from "Account History" <- not sure about this name.

    Which means, whatever we create in our adwords account, Google will store it permanently. You can't remove all the data (campaign, keywords, ads) that is being created. You only can change it into the status "delete".

    For example:
    When we "delete" a file in Windows, it will be move to "Recycle Bin". We can restore the file by dragging it out from "Recycle Bin" as long as we do not "Empty Recycle Bin".

    In Google AdWords, we only can move it to "Recycle Bin", we do not have the option to "Empty Recycle Bin".

    Do we have the option to permanently remove our adwords data (campaign, adgroup, ads, keyword & other setting) from Google AdWords Server ?
     
  6. acotut

    acotut Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
  7. waimeng00

    waimeng00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    292
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Yeah, I know this. Do you notice this:

    "Enable a previously deleted campaign"

    All campaigns, including deleted campaigns, will now be visible. You can now select a deleted campaign and change the status to "Enabled"

    We can easily "Enable" deleted campaign by changing the status. That means we couldn't removed the campaign, we just temporarily change the status to "delete".

    If we really "Removed" the campaign, we have no ways to get it back by just changing status.
     
  8. beazt

    beazt Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    Occupation:
    IM
    Location:
    BHW
    Home Page:
    No we don't. Apparently, this is to enable Advertisers to analyze the data from their past campaigns any time they want. I don't like this feature either.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. asiriusthoth

    asiriusthoth Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    761
    Occupation:
    If your on here, might as well friend me. Let's sh
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    No, there is *not* a way to permanently delete an adgroup, or a campaign. Which can cause a problem down the line.

    If you delete an adgroup and/or campaign make sure to delete the advertisement also. From time to time Google will routinely check your campaigns even deleted campaigns. If to many of your deleted campaigns have a bad quailty score, the domain is no longer active etc... it could raise a red flag. Which you might start getting some Emails about campaign suspensions, get enough of those, and Google will suspend your account. It does happen...
     
  10. LucidMarketing

    LucidMarketing Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    75
    Home Page:
    All data in Adwords is in a database. Standard practice in proper database management is that you should never physically delete anything. This is different than your example of deleting a file in Windows where it is physically removed, never to be seen again. You can't compare the two.

    You can "delete" it and choose the option not to show anything that is deleted but the data still exists. So if you don't want to see it, select "Show all but deleted".

    Best practice is also not to delete anything. Use pause instead. Don't use Edit for the same reason as that deletes the original. You should delete only if you really, really, really, really, really won't need it. I never delete campaigns, groups or ads. Keywords I delete if I make a stupid mistake such as typing "keyword]
     
  11. waimeng00

    waimeng00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    292
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I got my first "White Hat" adwords account permanently due to a landing page (direct linking) in the campaign violated adwords policy 1 year after I delete the campaign. (the ads status is Good when I delete it due to not profitable)
     
  12. LucidMarketing

    LucidMarketing Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    75
    Home Page:
    Yes, curiously, even deleted stuff is subject to their policies. I guess because you can un-delete in most cases and Google wants only advertisers who follow rules.
     
  13. waimeng00

    waimeng00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    292
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    The problem is, you can "undelete" / re-active it with just a few mouse clicks.

    This means, you can't remove any trace that you have left, in the eye of google (adwords).
     
  14. sogol0098

    sogol0098 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can not clear it permanently
     
  15. JB2003

    JB2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    13
    I used direct linking on my adwords account in 2007. There is one site that went out of business, and even though I deleted the campaign years ago, G still gives me shit about it. They want me to change the content on the page, I kept telling them I don't own the domain and the company that does went out of business. Took months to resolve the issue, had to get the problem escalated to like 3 different people.
     
  16. waimeng00

    waimeng00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    292
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Would like to know how you get your account back :)

    I only tried to have a few email with them, all their responds tell me that:
    Please do NOT contact us again and do NOT advertise with us (Google) again.