1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

writing reviews..

Discussion in 'Clickbank' started by keyex, Oct 25, 2012.

  1. keyex

    keyex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've gotten 3 product reviews done, and reading them both through, they sound the same. It's really difficult to review a product that you've never even used, and is only sold as an ebook through a landing page. Do you guys maybe have any tips or anything to make reviews more realistic looking? I cant decide if I should be working to make short and concise reviews, or long reviews. I try to appear unbiased, but I also want to convince the reader to purchase the product. Really difficult.
     
  2. 7878

    7878 Executive VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    7,864
    Many product owners are more than willing to give a free copy of their product to potential affiliates and/or reviewers with an audience. Send them an email explaining how you intend to promote the product and how you'd love to get your hands on a review copy to boost the effectiveness of your promotion. You might be surprised at the response.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. reallife

    reallife Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    531
    It can be really tough. Try researching all the products before you start writing - and make a list of the best (and worst) points about each . If you've researched all the products, it's easier to pick out the USPs (unique selling points) of each one. Then write your reviews, highlighting the best (and worst, which will make you sound "fair") for each one. That way you can focus on the positive in order to sell the product, but you also sound unbiased by including a negative point or two (it can be something like "a little more expensive than the competition, but I've found that worth it" if you're trying to push a particular product).
    Good luck.
     
  4. pj413

    pj413 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    51
    If you're researching a well established product, there should be enough reviews out there with enough information that you can write an informative review. Focus more on your SEO or traffic generation first. Once you get your first 1-5 sales under your belt, the product author will generally be very happy to give you a review copy.
     
  5. mbreezy

    mbreezy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    120
    In writing there is something referred to as Tone and Voice. If you haven't ever used the product, try to imagine yourself as the type of person that has. Then think of how that demographic/stereotype typically speaks. Think of yourself as an actor getting into character.

    If you're writing multiple reviews for the same product/company it is absolutely essential to vary your reviews from being short and concise; all the way to long-winded and biased.
     
  6. keyex

    keyex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well the real problem is none of the products for my niche on clickbank are really popular. They're all just ebooks.. I cant really find existing reviews or I'd probably just cut and paste from those.
     
  7. reallife

    reallife Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    531
    Go through the sales pages and make notes of all of the key points, then "rewrite" the sales page. It's not fun, but it works.
     
  8. Oneshotshy

    Oneshotshy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    unemployed 28 year old student seeking MONEY!
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Nice thread, I was thinking about he same thing. good suggestions as well.
     
  9. The Nix

    The Nix Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    323
    Occupation:
    Weaver of Words
    Location:
    snip.li/WordCounty
    You need a good copy writer.

    There's no other way to go around it. You need to persuade people into buying the product. Even if you haven't tried it out, you have to remember that you're TRYING TO SELL SOMETHING. Learn how to market it.

    If you're selling something you own, you would hype it up and make it seem like it's such a good deal right? That's what you should do. Make the product HOT. It should come out as something that is a "must have".

    Another good element is to add some fake reviews. For example... a 34 yr. old architect who has a Yeast infection. Thanks to Product X everything went back to normal. Create a persona. Pretend to be someone else. TALK TO YOUR TARGET MARKET.

    There are more tips in writing effective product reviews, but this is all I can share for now. :) I'm sleepy :p

    But seriously though, this is what I've been doing for the past 3 years, and my clients loved it. Just don't oversell. Make the review interesting but know your limits.