1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why does Amazon let you review an item without purchasing it?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by kitemiami, Mar 30, 2016.

Tags:
  1. kitemiami

    kitemiami Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I noticed that I am able to leave a review on a product that I have never purchased....why would Amazon allow this?

    (sorry if this is not in the correct location...I could not find the best place to post)
     
  2. collegeguys4

    collegeguys4 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    15
    Occupation:
    computer engineer
    Location:
    New York
    Home Page:
    they do have a verified purchase they place next to reviews where the person did buy the item. I have bought great items at my local store that are also sold on amazon. that would be one use case where a review not bought on amazon would fit.
     
  3. randybishop

    randybishop Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    627
    Occupation:
    I was born a poor black child
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Because social proof is what made Amazon the success it is today.
    They don't care where the reviews are coming from, they just want
    lots of quality reviews.
     
  4. Reaver

    Reaver Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    5,310
    Gender:
    Female
    Collegeguys4 and randybishop are both correct. Amazon allows you to review items you've purchased but haven't bought on Amazon because the more reviews a product has the more people will buy it through Amazon.

    Most people are not going to look up a product on Amazon for reviews and then go buy it at their local store. Most of the time if they're reading Amazon reviews, it's because they plan on buying that product on Amazon. Therefore, those reviews that aren't verified purchases are just icing on the cake.
     
  5. leisea

    leisea Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    thank you all, it helps me a lot. But it seems that Amazon have taken some steps to distinguish these two actions. Purchasing reviews will be marked as verified purchase.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2016
  6. goodperson

    goodperson Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    www.niceaccount.com
    Home Page:
    They need lots of reviews for their products. Reviews will help them sell more products.
     
  7. Cshark

    Cshark Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    184
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Grinding
    Location:
    NYC
    REVIEWS make more buyers understand about a product. Although, the verified reviews are most trusted than others but all are reviews nevertheless.
     
  8. Aluminium

    Aluminium Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    931
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    High-Quality Content Provider
    Location:
    Canada
    Home Page:
    There's a difference between a "purchased review" and anything other than that.
     
  9. Tintan

    Tintan Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably helps to boost the sales. ;)
     
  10. whiteblackseo

    whiteblackseo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    918
    Home Page:
    To be honest, when I look at an Amazon product I mostly look at the Verified Purchase reviews rather than the non as it makes me sceptical as if the product is "actually" good, but this topic can be debated.
     
  11. Furious Man

    Furious Man Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    235
    the review will increase buyers(customer) that mean customer /sales
     
  12. PHPInjected

    PHPInjected Elite Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    100% Unique Content Writer
    Location:
    Overriding Methods
    Home Page:
    A purchased review and a review are different. Amazon allowing reviews to be posted before purchases increases the amount of purchases each product will get.

    Note: not everyone who buys from Amazon knows the different and just sees a bunch of good reviews.