1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rewards For Leaving Reviews?

Discussion in 'Online Reputation Management (ORM)' started by acidol2, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. acidol2

    acidol2 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    835
    Location:
    My Successful Future
    I've been reading up on ORM intensively for the past week and a half now.
    Found a good amount of resources, ebooks, posts, etc, and I'm just about done reading everything.

    I have a pretty good grasp of the process now, including the ever so lucrative review funneling system.

    But a question comes to mind...

    Those who do ORM, do you offer some sort of incentive or reward for your client's customers that post reviews?

    For example lets say you're working with a dog training company.
    After you give the client's customers a card or handout asking for a review, would it be a good idea to offer them a reward?
    They would recieve a reference number for example, and they'd redeem it for a free item after posting their review.
    Grooming brushes, dog shampoo, toys, free dog food, etc. Of course, you can buy these in bulk for cheap.

    I've read around that Yelp doesn't like incentive reviews being posted, so would this be bad practice?
     
  2. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17,194
    Likes Received:
    31,564
    Occupation:
    Selling CPA Sites
    Location:
    Not England
    Home Page:
    Typically the approach is, "Hey, it you could help us out and share your experience on XYZ, it would really help." as opposed to an incentive.

    You would be surprised how people want to help you out as opposed to be bought. Satisfied clients like to do things to help out the company that made them happy or solved a problem and often times a request for a little help goes much farther than a 20 dollar bill would.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  3. acidol2

    acidol2 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    835
    Location:
    My Successful Future
    Very true.
    Was just thinking of a free item as a way to maybe increase the conversion rate of those who actually do end up leaving a review.
    I know not everyone will leave a review. But like you said, the repeat, loyal, or satisfied clients will most likely be willing to help out regardless of a compensation.

    Thanks for the reply BTB.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. 1337WuLF

    1337WuLF Senior Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    378
    Occupation:
    IM
    Location:
    On a rock in space
    Greg is right, people want to help, it's human nature :)

    I usually only go for incentives if asking for reviews doesn't work well.
     
  5. acidol2

    acidol2 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    835
    Location:
    My Successful Future
    Ah sweet, thanks for the input man.
    I'll keep it as a backup plan then.
     
  6. PHPInjected

    PHPInjected Elite Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    Occupation:
    100% Unique Content Writer
    Location:
    Overriding Methods
    An incentive for a review seems fishy to people who do not partake in the riches of online marketing. You have to think like they think sometimes. Though, some people enjoy the nice incentive for doing nearly nothing. I would vote against it though. You would want the reviews to be natural.
     
  7. KELLOGGS

    KELLOGGS Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    1,395
    Location:
    London (more or less)
    As said above, an incentive isn't usually necessary but if you feel you need to give one, offer a discounted rate on upcoming services or their next month's subscription. It will help you to keep the client and then you don't have the hassle of buying personalised gifts, which as your business grows will really become a hassle.

    Note: Please don't out of the blue, come out with "I'll give you a discount if you write a review". It's so needy and will not only devalue the review but will likely affect the ongoing relationship you have with the client.
    "We run a loyalty scheme where clients can receive up to 30% off our services as a way of saying thank you for making others aware of what we do" is far more likely to maintain a professional reputation.
     
  8. Avid Learner

    Avid Learner Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    105
    Occupation:
    BHW Apprentice
    Location:
    In the BHW Jungle
    OP make sure that any incentive does not cross the line such that it appears to be paying for positive reviews.

    Potential customer's "trust" in the reviews might be diminished, if they perceive a relationship between incentive and volume of positive reviews.

    It is why Amazon identifies verified buyers, or Yelp identifies elite yelpers - they seem to pull more weight in reviews, and add credibility, as two examples.
     
  9. acidol2

    acidol2 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    835
    Location:
    My Successful Future
    Right. Duly Noted.
     
  10. Avid Learner

    Avid Learner Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    105
    Occupation:
    BHW Apprentice
    Location:
    In the BHW Jungle
    Let us know how it goes ;)
     
  11. acidol2

    acidol2 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    835
    Location:
    My Successful Future
    Haha wont be for at least a year or more lol. Still need to finish my CB journey, then build my PBN to sell links on.
    Lol no where near ready for my offline business right now.
    But ill be sure to make a journey thread for when I'm ready to get things going. :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  12. PHPInjected

    PHPInjected Elite Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    Occupation:
    100% Unique Content Writer
    Location:
    Overriding Methods
    ^ A better explanation of what I was trying to convey.
     
  13. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    1,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    I believe, not certain so do your own research, that if you offer an incentive for doing something, people can say they want the incentive without actually doing the thing.

    It's why you see, "no purchase necessary" on every contest.
     
  14. acidol2

    acidol2 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    835
    Location:
    My Successful Future
    That's true.
    But they'd be given a reference number after successfully giving their feedback.
    So the only way they'd be able to redeem their coupon, complimentary thank you gift, or w.e is if they really do leave a review.
     
  15. RTSteam

    RTSteam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    23
    How about partnering with the client to provide rewards to those who would leave reviews? Would that do more harm or good? Haven't tried it yet so it made me curious.