1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Removing Negative Google Reviews [Field Test]

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by ThopHayt, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Ok, so I keep seeing threads pop up with people asking how they can 'remove a negative review.' Like most of you SEO'ers and ORM experts I'll tell them its simply easier to wash it out with positive reviews. But, since I'm creeping up on my 5,000th post I'd like to do a little test just to see how hard it actually is to get a review taken down.

    For my test I've randomly selected a negative review of a legit business on Google. Its a brand new review left just a few hours ago, and the business has been brick and mortar that's been in NY for 25 years. I intend to flag the shit out of it over a period of days until Google removes the review. Lets see if this actually works as so many here have requested...

    Day One (last night):
    I flagged the review using a hyper-local aged Google account that is a registered Local Guide. I only have a couple of these at my disposal for this geo-targeted area, but I wanted to start out with a high authority flag. I flagged this one using a mobile device, in the actual Google Maps app WHILE actually in NY, which is where I'm flagging the review. This is believed to be the highest level of trust for a reviewer activity. As of this morning the review is still up, but I have more actions planned.

    ~Stay Tuned For Daily Updates and My Eventual Findings~

    -ThopHayt
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 4
  2. archixet

    archixet Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    462
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Im a webcam model and a part-time bottle washer!!!
    Subscribed! Looking forward..
     
  3. Take Action

    Take Action Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    261
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Very unique and interesting thread here. Looking forward to the progress and intrigued to know how it ends finally. And advance congratulations on reaching 5000 posts.

    Good Luck!
     
  4. nikchaing

    nikchaing Jr. VIP Jr. VIP UnGagged Attendee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Location:
    Florida
    Nice thread man. I've been working with reviews for a minute now and tried many different angles to reliably remove negative reviews. Hope you find something that actually works, and isn't just a coincidence.
     
  5. peter2will

    peter2will Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Hi, thanks for sharing this, keep us updated man.
     
  6. Naomi Tyrone

    Naomi Tyrone BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    I am interested in your progress, do you have any updates on this?
     
  7. pseudonym

    pseudonym Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    81
    Occupation:
    中国梦
    Location:
    一带一路
    posting to keep this thread in my history. i am also very interested in the outcome, and have some local reviewer accounts at disposal in EU
     
  8. MikeyMikey13

    MikeyMikey13 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    357
    Thanks for this, I will be staying tuned.

    Quick question: where did you get the aged accounts with geo-targeted area?
     
  9. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    I created them manually about 2 years ago when I was doing some ORM. I am also looking to "bribe" some actual human users into flagging the review for me as well. This will give me both aged "fake" accounts with Local Guide Status, and real local accounts at my disposal for the test. I personally am optimistic that this can work. The key, I'm hoping at least, is that slow and constant dripfeeding of flags over multiple days from high quality accounts. I've read studies that failed before elsewhere, and they typically were based around blasting flags in mass from (what I'm guessing) are cheap fake accounts. My next flag comes later today and I will do an official update after the fact.

    -ThopHayt
     
  10. Nut-Nights

    Nut-Nights Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5,296
    Likes Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Hell
    Home Page:
    Well added this to watched thread.
     
  11. tokokipiani

    tokokipiani Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    126
    Nice case study. Keep us updated!
     
  12. RuthSam

    RuthSam Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    976
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    And what do you want to end up with? a website filled with false reviews or a website where all reviews have been removed what is the point, sorry I don't get it?
     
  13. MikeyMikey13

    MikeyMikey13 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    357
    When a business has a bad review, you generally want it removed or buried.

    Here he is testing to see if he can get the review removed, thus the bad reputation will go with it
     
  14. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    UPDATE #1:

    Flagged the review for a second time, using a real account on a mobile device that is based in the same city. If the review is still up tomorrow I will flag it on yet another real account.

    -ThopHayt
     
  15. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Update #2:

    The review has dropped down a bit in the list of user reviews as of this morning, below two older reviews now. It has yet to be removed, however. Will keep you updated...

    -ThopHayt
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  16. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Update #3:

    Dropped two more flags this morning over the last hour, both phones again... one real 'not-so-geologically-close' from upstate, and one fake but with Local Guide status. Should carry some decent authority between the two.

    The little bastard is still there, but I'm going to keep taking this "dripfeed and grind" approach until either its gone, or I'm satisfied that this method doesn't work. Frankly I would think that at SOME point it should (or has to) work, but the question is how many flags and how long.

    -ThopHayt
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  17. nikchaing

    nikchaing Jr. VIP Jr. VIP UnGagged Attendee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Location:
    Florida
    From my experience, I don't think a review will get deleted unless it's breaking a rule. I've called in and had employees look over negative reviews, and they give a ton of leeway to the reviewer.

    The only review I got deleted was from a spam account that was promoting a car leasing site via Google reviews.
     
  18. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    You may be right, but it at least seems to be pushing the review down for now. At SOME point (brute force) you would think that a review would get removed though. I'm going to take this to the absolute limits to explore this theory.

    -ThopHayt
     
  19. Mikaelo

    Mikaelo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Australia
    It is extremely hard to remove reviews on Gogle my business listings unless they are defamatory (naming names of people who work at the business etc).

    I have tried many different ways with no success, ranging from -
    Flagging the review multiple times
    Calling Google local support & applying basic Social Engeering to get them to remove the review

    The best way is to drown the review out with other good, legitimate reviews!

    I will be keeping a close eye on this :). Good luck!
     
  20. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Dropped another flag last night, tablet account. The review is still there, although its not as high as it once was. Going to keep it going and see if it can be done though!

    -ThopHayt