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I'm Revealing A Profitable Facebook Campaign Based on FbDude's Poll Method.

Discussion in 'FaceBook' started by Mr Ex, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. Mr Ex

    Mr Ex Regular Member

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    Here's My Case Study. Fresh Campaign as of 03/16/11 0800 am - 1800 pm Based on Facebookdude's poll Method

    After participating in facebookdude's thread, i decided to test the method all expenses on me and wanted to share it with you guys here on BHW. But first, i want to give you everything you need to know, about advertising on facebook. Without this, you won't survive. Lazy ass people can scroll down to the campaign if they want to, but i strongly encourage you to read the whole post to get the max benefit out of this thread.


    Direct Linking or not?

    I cannot emphasize enough how important this is. Do not direct link to any offer. You cannot direct link to a cpa offer on fb anyway, but you shouldn't do it even if you could. Because by direct linking, you are sending all the traffic to the offer landing page, which you have no control.

    Second, you need all the traffic info to be profitable on fb. What time do they visit most? What is the bounce rate (average time people stay on your landing page) ? When you know these, you can adjust the campaign and make it stop during non performing hours so your ctr will increase, earning you cheaper clicks, more profits. Unfortunately, there's no way of automating this for now and you have to do it manually...

    Cpm or Cpc

    Most of the time, i don't know why, most gurus and people who have experience with ppc advertising will tell you to go with cpc. They will say that even if you get lots of impression, if no one clicks then it won't cost you any money. But we want clicks, right? We need as many clicks as we can get to our landing page. The more visitors we have, the better chance they will take action and make us some money.

    Let me put it this way; Let's say you want to promote a zip submit that pays $1.50 per submit. To be profitable, you need a cpc at $0.10 with a conversion rate of 10%. For every 100 clicks, you will pay $10 and if 10 people sign up, you will get paid $15. 15-10= $5 profit for every $10 you spend.

    Isn't that good? So, what's wrong with this?

    Well my friends, the bad news is the ctr for fb ads is less than 1%. The most successful campaigns run around 0.50-0.80% ctr. The ad performance is nothing like adwords ppc. Especially last year, it was possible to achieve higher ctr with girls with huge boobs but fb does not allow those type of ads anymore. They became very strict recently and if your ad copy and landing page is not relevant, then they instantly disapprove your ads during review.

    So, is fb dead now? How am i gonna make money then?

    It's not dead. It's just not easy as it used to be. With dating offers, expect to pay at least $1,20 per click, which will cost you $120 per 100 clicks. And you will need over 25% conversion rate to have a winning campaign, which we know it's almost impossible, assuming that you get paid 5$ per lead industry average.

    Cpm comes to our aid like superman

    Anyone who has little bit clue about math should have already figured out that there's no way to make profit with those click costs. So, what do we do then? We switch to CPM.

    All we need is lots of cheap clicks right? What if there would be a way to not pay per click? We can do that with CPM. If we can create an ad that will get lots of clicks, then it is possible to make lots of money with just one campaign.

    First we design several ads to see which one is getting the highest ctr. Then, we switch to CPM so we don't pay for clicks anymore.

    If you can get a 0.5% ctr, then you may have a winning campaign right there. Suggested fb CPM rate for broad targeting will be around $0.27 per 1000 impression. Let's say, you got 100,000 impression. With a 0.50% ctr, you would get 500 visitors to your landing page and this would cost you $27. With a 10% conversion rate on a $1.50 zip submit offer, you would make: $75 gross profit.

    However, cost per click for the same campaign would be around $0.50 per click, costing you $250 for 500 clicks. Do you see the difference now?

    How to make a profitable campaign on Facebook?

    This all depends on how intriguing your ad copy is. You gotta do your best and make those people click. The key factor to a profitable campaign is, to get as many clicks as you can. Because, with CPM 0 clicks and 10,000 clicks will cost you the same money.

    Facebookdude's Poll Method. Fresh Campaign Case Study 03/16/11

    Ok, this is the part where i reveal all the details about my campaign for facebookdude's poll method. Hey, sharing is caring so i am giving away the entire campaign including how i did it. And yeah it's profitable, with a twist. Enjoy :)

    Campaign Setup

    As you know, current events are very important to get the best reaction for the poll method. For this campaign i chose Justin Bieber, because i knew that he has lots of dedicated girl fans which was perfect for my cpa offer. I chose $500 victoria's secret gift card for this campaign, because the demographic perfectly fits for the cpa offer.

    I had a generic domain, so i designed a landing page for the offer. Downloaded some images on google, made the background white, centered the image and created my poll. I also placed my cpa offer carefully, wrote my text and everything was ready to go.

    Here's my demographic

    [​IMG]

    My purpose was to target people who shared the similar demographics with people who like victoria's secret. Don't forget that you can never be 100% accurate.

    Facebook suggested cpc was 1.28 (you always bid 50% of suggested min)

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, cpc was not low enough for me to be profitable. So i switched to CPM By doing this, i cut my cost to half with one click. Facebook will ask for all your money, so you should be careful when placing your bid. Start less than 50% and increase 0.10 increments till the yellow warning disappears.

    [​IMG]

    Here, you can see that the min i can bid for this demographic is $0.28

    [​IMG]

    Now, you can see that making a wrong choise between CPC and CPM can be costly...

    Campaign Results

    Ok, here's the final part that reveals everything. I designed an ad about Justin Bieber's Hair cut. It's not actually the newest topic about him but it still had enough heat to test the waters. I just needed something to test the idea about polls on facebook and wanted to see how people react to it.

    I created my ad around the subject with a call to action. Unlike google adwords, facebook will allow you to use "click here, click now" type of call to action words so take advantage of it.

    [​IMG]

    When using CPM, you should certainly watch your ass! You have to make sure that you set a specific daily budget for the campaign so you don't end up burning several hundreds in one day, for just one campaign with too many invariables.

    After 12 hours, here's the final result of today's campaign.

    [​IMG]

    For a daily budget set to $40, facebook gave me 150,000 impressions. Out of 60 clicks i received, 36 people participated in the poll. 20 people went to the offer page and made zip submit. The pay was $1.50 per lead. Entire campaign cost was $19,30 so ended up making $10,70 net profit.

    Conclusion

    Yes, the poll method ended up being a profitable campaign but there are some important facts that you should consider before jumping in with your both feet.

    If i would choose CPC, same campaign would not be profitable. The min cpc bid was around $0.65 per click which would cost me $39 ending with -$9 loss.

    However, by switching to CPM , facebook gave me a discount on the total cost, turning a loser campaign to a winner.

    [​IMG]

    This, does not mean that you should stick with CPM I just tested a method to see if it would work. Other self serving ad platforms perform much better with cpc, such as adwords, msn search. But when the competition is high for a certain demographic, you should always consider the most cost efficient way to launch your campaign to get the highest earnings per click.

    Also, make sure you find hot topics and create intriguing ads that will receive as many clicks as possible. Like facebookdude said, fb is baid on user interaction so don't be surprised if you try to promote a clickbank product and burn all you money in one day. That's why you see a lot of dating offers on there, which requires user interaction rather than purchasing something.

    Anyways, i hope it was useful for the community. If you still have any questions, feel free to ask away and i will reply when i have time. Please just don't flood my pm. Post here so everyone can benefit from the answers. See you next time :)
     
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  2. reinie

    reinie Elite Member

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    Amazing post, thanks for taking the time
    Ill have to take a closer read when I have time
     
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  3. aReJay

    aReJay Power Member

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    Really useful post for people looking to start out in CPA. Rep + Thanks.

    -aReJay
     
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  4. Autumn

    Autumn Elite Member

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    Very interesting and well put together post! I don't do FB ads but it's always interesting to get an insight into how new things work. Thanks!
     
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  5. virtualc08

    virtualc08 Supreme Member

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    Whoa!That is one hell of a case study and it gives so much insight into facebook advertising. Really appreciate your effort to write the whole thing and share everything with us. Thanks + rep given.
     
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  6. daserpent

    daserpent Power Member

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    Thanks a lot for this thread.

    I was going to setup up a CPC campaign (almost had entered the CC details ) but now I will run a CPM campaign and hope to get good results. I will post my findings as soon as I am done with the study myself.
     
  7. Mr Ex

    Mr Ex Regular Member

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    Make sure you calculate which will give you the highest earning per click. CPM and CPC all depends on the demographic. Sometimes, CPC might give you a better ROI. So, be careful and don't forget to set a daily budget before activating your campaign.

    And thanks everyone for the nice comments, i really appreciate it. If anybody has a question, I'll be up for a while.
     
  8. $ThisIsTheLife$

    $ThisIsTheLife$ BANNED BANNED

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    yeah great post

    would be profitable withe some few tweaks
     
  9. Mr Ex

    Mr Ex Regular Member

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    It is profitable already. You would've known if you've read it all.
     
  10. dirtbag

    dirtbag Senior Member

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    How are you driving the viewers to the email submit? Is it a "You qualified to win, blablabla" sort of deal? Or is there some trickery involved in getting them to drop their email?

    A $10 return on a $20 investment is a pretty good investment in my books. It's all just scaling things up from there, replicating the model and making it happen again and again. Great post...
     
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    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  11. Randy569

    Randy569 Junior Member

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    Its a refreshing change to see someone take the time and effort to post up something as detailed as this. You've done a good thing here, and I, for one, appreciate it. When people talk about adding value to this forum, this is exactly what they mean.

    Thanks, and +rep given.
     
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  12. dirtbag

    dirtbag Senior Member

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    wait... what??? lol
     
  13. Mr Ex

    Mr Ex Regular Member

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    You just have to place your ad that will get attention. There's a thin line between being very obvious and subtle so make sure you don't kill the buzz. Also, fb may not like your landing page if it looks spammy.

    Scaling wise, not so much. Because impressions on fb are not unique. So, same person can see the ad several times and become immune to it. It is also possible for the same person clicking on your different ads. This is the down side of fb ad platform. That gives fb ads a very short life span.
     
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    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  14. dirtbag

    dirtbag Senior Member

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    In not suggesting that you scale the exact same campaign. Just the idea. As for the same person seeing the same ad repeatedly, that theoretically works in your favor (for a while at least). What's the magic number the marketing gurus like to throw around? 7? The average lead needs to be exposed to your advertisement 7 times before taking action. You want repeated exposure. At least until you start seeing your numbers dwindle away. Then it's on to the next campaign...

    If you can identify an offer which converts to your chosen demographic, it should be as simple as identifying new trends and subjects within the demographic, applying the same methodology, and weeding out those which are productive and those which are not. As things continue to snowball and scale up in terms of your overall reach, you could be throwing up a new campaign, or several new campaigns every day, or expanding into new demographics all together.

    Sounds scalable to me... $0.02
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  15. Mr Ex

    Mr Ex Regular Member

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    That's true, but you have no control over how many times a person can see your ad, nor you can know how many unique views your campaign got. For instance, you can do this with POF (plenty of fish) ad platform. The min is 3, standart is 5. I wish fb would bring an option like that. If people are not interested in your ad and the same people keep seeing it, there's an "x" button to close it. Once they do that you are screwed. Your campaign cost will sky rocket and if you get too many, fb will disable your campaign, no matter if it has high ctr or not.

    On the other hand, it is of course scalable like you said. It just requires a lot of work and time. People should know that once a campaign is profitable, that does not mean that all you have to do is spend 10 times more and get rich. You can do that with adwords, not 100% with facebook yet :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  16. dirtbag

    dirtbag Senior Member

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    Interesting. That sounds just so damn rapeable. lol...
     
  17. dirtbag

    dirtbag Senior Member

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    Making good money tends to do that to a guy... :p
     
  18. extremephp

    extremephp BANNED BANNED

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    To Make it even profitable, use a Voucher :) (Incase if you are jumping into a it for the first time :) )

    ~ExP~
     
  19. Website

    Website Supreme Member

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    good luck
    $20 for a few dozen impression seems like too much, but i guess if you can turn a profit it doesn't matter.
    i recommend apps though..u can get shitl0ads of traffic for free
     
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    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  20. BlackHunt

    BlackHunt Regular Member

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    Good case study..I plan to jump into fb ppc soon..
    This thread give me some idea to start with my campaign.
    Subscribe!