1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm going to start reviewing every content BST

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by macdonjo3, Jul 7, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    I figured it'd be in the community's best interest if I start reviewing content providers and giving them a thumbs up or thumbs down in their BST thread. I regularly try all of the new content BSTs, and I figured I'd benefit the members by leaving a review on every single one.

    Watch for this stamp of approval in content BSTs. If I find it valuable for what you pay for, good TAT, friendly service, etc, then I'll drop this stamp in the thread.

    I should be able to get this stamp into 10-15 threads by the end of the summer.


    [​IMG]
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2016
  2. I know SEO

    I know SEO Marketplace Mod Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    15,689
    Likes Received:
    6,060
    Are the mod reviews not good enough?...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 8
  3. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    They are good, but people like to give the mods the best experience (which is surely biased), and the service provided at the time of the mod review will be different than the service provided to buyers several months later.

    There are content services from 2012 that haven't been reviewed by a mod in 4 years, for example. The writers and quality will have surely pivoted by now, so that's where I'll come in a re-test it.

    Also, I'll account for things such a pricing for what you get. If you're paying $15 for an article, I'll only give it a stamp if it's worth at least $15.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2016
  4. JamaicanMoose

    JamaicanMoose Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    370
    For content writing services, it would be extremely helpful to have the mods post the article they were sent. I'd assume that anyone applying for a BST would send their highest quality content to a mod for review. This would give the community a much better idea of what the seller and mod consider to be quality, since the term itself is very subjective.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 4
  5. I know SEO

    I know SEO Marketplace Mod Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    15,689
    Likes Received:
    6,060
    Do you not think by announcing to the forum that you are doing reviews they are doing the same?

    I get what you are saying, completely... Go for it if you want to do it.

    But I've bought stuff as myself after I've reviewed it. I've not noticed a drop in quality yet.

    We are very tough on people that want to sell on the marketplace, you really do have to deliver exactly what you say you will to be approved.

    But as you say, there are threads from 2012 around.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 10
  6. Apricot

    Apricot Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    12,658
    Likes Received:
    7,957
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    BHW Moderator
    Location:
    the clacks
    Home Page:
    Any honest reviews are very much welcome but if you're getting sample copies to review, you'll need to add a disclaimer in the review itself.

    Also, can't help noticing the URL and promotion of your own site in the seal. If you're going to be posting that all over the marketplace in other sellers threads, you might find it'd end up breaking the rules.

    Obviously, you wouldn't do anything like make the image a clickable link but I'm not sure how sellers would feel about you using their threads to promote your review site...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 13
  7. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    Yeah, I know you guys are, I'm not saying the mods do a bad job.

    Additionally, the job of mod approval is usually just to see if the services offer what is being advertised, and it's not a scam. They can deliver what they say. Then it's up to members to read recent reviews and build up their own thoughts if the service is right for them.

    This won't be a major focus of mine, but I believe dropping a badget in threads will benefit in the community.
     
  8. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    I'll comply with all members who are approved, and I'll get an "ok" from them, otherwise I'll take it down. I'm only looking to help members.
     
  9. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Nah
    Make sure to place all orders anonymously, otherwise it's pointless.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Ste Fishkin

    Ste Fishkin Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    10,418
    This is the worst seal of approval I have seen since @MatthewWoodward tried to tell us what PBN stood for.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 13
  11. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    I'll do that from here on out
     
  12. SupremeBotBuilder

    SupremeBotBuilder BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    33
    I don't think you really thought this through of... I mean @I know SEO , @JamaicanMoose , and @Lone Wolf have easily pointed out some flaws and much better suggestion than you "stamp of approval". First, what difference would your stamp of approval make if you are going to be posting that "stamp" on threads that know you are going to be reviewing them for the purpose of getting a review? Doesn't your "stamp" have the same flaw you pointed about the "mods" review?

    @Lone Wolf , has a much better idea one that you didn't even mention in your replies. Make the review anonymous, and don't post your "stamp" on threads else your whole review is flawed since it can easily be gamed.

    @JamaicanMoose , has an even simpler upgrade to the system. Basically, if the mods are reviewing content threads for the whole purpose of determining if they are really delivering what they say they are delivering(quality, TAT, word count, etc) then they should definitely post that piece of content on the thread for the individual potential buyers to gauge the quality of that service themselves.

    Your "stamp" can highly be seeing as a way to promote your "ego" as a supposedly central figure to "BHW" quality control content team. I really don't seen any benefit to what you are proposing, just pure flaws!
     
  13. pseudonym

    pseudonym Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    80
    Occupation:
    中国梦
    Location:
    一带一路
    im sorry but they are very definitely not good enough. im sorry. i have not met any content provider on bhw whos content matches that of a us$1700 graduate in-house writer. im willing to pay upwards of 20 cents a word for content that i dont need to spend rewriting again in-house... alas.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. T2tkid

    T2tkid Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    I have bought a lot of content service in BHW and I can join you to review them - if the mod approve of it - Some are worth it, while some are total garbage, or you get what you paid for thing.
     
  15. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    lol, I remember you from another thread where you tried to start something

    I think it's safe to post the stamp after the purchase is complete.

    I notice that most BST sellers do not treat Jr Exec much different, but I'll play the benefit of the doubt
     
  16. SupremeBotBuilder

    SupremeBotBuilder BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes... I don't have a college degree. Does that answer your question about what alma matter I attended to?
     
  17. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    I hold buyers to a high standard, so if I'm publishing the reviews under my name, I'm going to do every review myself so that I don't review someone incorrectly.
     
  18. TheUnborn

    TheUnborn Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Occupation:
    SEO Consultant
    Home Page:
    You should have done it quietly like a spy without creating this thread,so that bst sellers won't give you "best experiences" as mods knowing Now that you will go in depth !
     
  19. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    Likes Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    Funny, one of the new content providers that are not getting the seal thanked your post. They ought to side with you if they're being given a poor review.
     
  20. MartysW0RLD

    MartysW0RLD Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    171
    Occupation:
    ANGEL ON THE INTERNET
    Location:
    United States
    Your stamp has no authority, the mods reviews are much more credible.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.