1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do YOU make Yelp.com reviews stick?

Discussion in 'White Hat SEO' started by randybishop, Jun 25, 2014.

Tags:
  1. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    Every review that I have gotten on Yelp has been deleted. The reviews are up for
    a month then they are deleted. I got friends to write reviews, so they are different
    IP addresses.

    How do you get Yelp reviews to stick?
     
  2. TJnoodles

    TJnoodles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    38
    If you pay them, good reviews will stick.
     
  3. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    Thanks for your reply TJnoodles...pay who?
     
  4. Patel

    Patel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Location:
    On the coast
    Aged account, filled profile, IP address that matches your profile's hometown, lots of ranging star reviews

    No IP's of proxies, vpn's. IP's should be either residential or business.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  5. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    I don't. I request that my customers be removed from their website.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. TJnoodles

    TJnoodles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    38
    Pay for advertising, Randy, ... I believe they are being sued for manipulating review results. If you are paying them they will suppress neg reviews or do the reverse as an incentive to be a customer.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. davidffa

    davidffa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, yelp is a serious racket. We had a legit reviews from 60 customers go up, and only 10 stuck. Granted, some of them weren't aged, or had tons of reviews, but it still sucks. We did get a phone call from a Yelp rep asking if we wanted to advertise after we starting getting a bunch of reviews, lol!
     
  8. resiak

    resiak Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes there is a class action lawsuit against them I believe. They are twisted and will remove bad reviews and not filter your good reviews if you advertise with them. It's something like $300 a month. Yelp sucks. They are putting a lot of small business out of business. I direct all my clients to post reviews on Google or Facebook and not Yelp unless they're active Yelp users.
     
  9. keywordspot

    keywordspot Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    contenu visuel
    Location:
    At Hill Station
  10. trish1

    trish1 BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    187
    i can help you get yelp reviews with 6 months warranty
     
  11. des1slav

    des1slav Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Home Page:
    I need yelp reviews from real accounts. Please contact with me on pm or skype des1slav
     
  12. kvmcable

    kvmcable Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    2,815
    Occupation:
    24 year business owner - old school dude
    Location:
    KFC - BW3
    You offer a 6 month warranty but only been on BHW one month? Yeah where do I sign up :D
     
  13. zigato

    zigato Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    20
    Umm that's a tricky one. Yelp really does clamp down on the reviews which IMO is a good thing. Maybe educate the client in trying to get people to review them online and why it's good for social authority and Google?

    In other news, fake reviews posted anywhere online for Australian businesses will incur legal action against them. There have already been several cases in the news regarding the clamp down on this too.
     
  14. BlueSteele

    BlueSteele Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Grabbed this from another forum, where Dexter, a super bright ORM dude puts it down:

     
  15. Alpha7

    Alpha7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    USA
    Our experience has been that Yelp will kick the "negative" reviews to the back for a business that promotes/advertises on Yelp.
     
  16. ming34

    ming34 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    69
    yes they give advertisers extra value
     
  17. gp425

    gp425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    15
    Would like to Trade or pay for Yelp, Google, Facebook reviews also I will help you out with any review sites if you do the same for me.
    If you have the ability to get a review on Yelp to stay hit me up.
     
  18. EMP1R3

    EMP1R3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    Extremely proficient professional digital media, m

    We are pumping 2k a month into advertising with Yelp for one of my clients. Negative reviews are sticking, and legit reviews from actual patients are not.

    SM, Mother Fucking, H
     
  19. eeha123

    eeha123 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8
    "Exactly how can one get around Yelp?s review filter?
    To get reviews out of the filter I went into my filtered reviews and pulled up the reviewer?s individual review of Park Slope Eye. I began to engage that review and reviewer. I sent the reviewer a compliment, a message, and voted the review as useful, funny, or cool depending on the context. I did that for all of the reviews. Lastly, I added them as a friend, which you can do as a business owner. After doing all of this the review was taken out of the filter and is publicly accessible. "


    I don't see a useful etc.. button in the yelp's filter!
    if we can figure out a way to unfilter stuff it would be worthwhile
     
  20. NotDysfunktional

    NotDysfunktional Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Make sure the reviews are longer than normal and have other yelp users like it.