Google announces product reviews algorithm update

redarrow

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
13,568
Reaction score
4,637
Don't Look at this as a non-profit dead method.

The competition doing all the work we can latch on that and rewrite as most do know.

or spinning way.

There no point thinking it all over an update we need to take advantage of it.

We all no google updating from February we all no it was going to get mad/crazy.

Just how marketing is these days.

Amazon moved to index their own afflicts links in December.

Then Amazon lowered commission and how it set out its niche rules

Facebook has been lowering the niche it allows on its platform.

Google and bing did the same.

I see the pattern

Know it googles time to shine.

The new SEO algo with their rules are starting and know this product reviews method need to be smarter.

In 2021 times move fast online so do business we have to adapt

All the software you use to help with SEO will just update to keep up with the times every business will move with the times to move forward .
 
Last edited:

MaikoSophie

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
69
After this update my traffic drop 90% :(
I suggest you give it another week...Wait till 1st May.

I also had the same issue last week when my traffic and many keywords were dropping. But today half of them have returned. In fact, some of my keywords that were hit from the December update even returned. All the SERPs are STILL fluctuating despite Google said the update has been fully rolled out.

So don't feel sad yet and don't give up. For now, take a break, my friend. Until 1st May.
 

redarrow

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
13,568
Reaction score
4,637
Just because a sentence is unique, doesn't make it unique. BERT can understand context. If the context is the same, it's not unique. Since BERT targets sentences and not entire articles don't matter which order you decide to review it in or how it reads to you.

I assume Google will be rewarding the articles that mention unique entities the most that's relevant to the product.

Now if you don't own the product, it's going to be extremely difficult to mention more unique entities over someone who bought the product and reviewed it. Your essentially blind, your competitor has full vision. They automatically get a big advantage.

In terms of unique images, probably some way to manipulate with photoshop, haven't looked too much into their use of T-SNE and machine learning on images. But I'm confident it can detect small edits on images. Will take some big edits in my opinion to fool it.

SEO is shifting massively into AI and Data Science. Which means it's getting exponentially more difficult to manipulate the algorithm.
I think everyone should look at this as future movement we can all adapt and rewrite what the competition doing.

I think those not providing a business and only personal income are on a winner, business will suffer as their updating will be heavy.

with the ai business I believe the ai competition just push more programmers to match anything google throw at them and we will get access with an application.

remember ig bot went down was wobbly but what happens we all adapted and got a new app and other apps that work

remember it usually a programmer that leaks something to help others go forward happens always humans can not keep secrets, everything comes out in the wash...


No one likes change that the truth (( fact))

Do you think semrush and big players that help millions daily will just go no way just adapt.

same with rest of them.
moz, majestic, ahreff, screaming frog, etc etc etc
 
Last edited:

redarrow

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
13,568
Reaction score
4,637
After this update, my traffic drop 90% :(
So have you looked at your server setup/host and the domain speed from the DNS.

That your first steps go back to beginning because Google has.

The new update involves speed very fast servers and all images compressed.

70% will be speed over this update 100% guarantee

Then move onto your plugins are they all updated from now onwards, remember everyone going update so be with those updated.

Very soon your get bench testing going on the forum and that info will let us know the in and outs, and eventually, we all be the same but adapted with new ways and info.

The only problem I see is the cost because of the speed, servers will be updated and internet lines will need to be bigger, domains and host and services will all rise in fees .
 
Last edited:

redarrow

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
13,568
Reaction score
4,637
Changes needed on a reviewed product according to Google review update on products only.

  • Express expert knowledge about products where appropriate?

  • Show what the product is like physically, or how it is used, with unique content beyond what’s provided by the manufacturer?

  • Provide quantitative measurements about how a product measures up in various categories of performance?

  • Explain what sets a product apart from its competitors?

  • Cover comparable products to consider, or explain which products might be best for certain uses or circumstances?

  • Discuss the benefits and drawbacks of a particular product, based on research into it?

  • Describe how a product has evolved from previous models or releases to provide improvements, address issues, or otherwise help users in making a purchase decision?

  • Identify key decision-making factors for the product’s category and how the product performs in those areas? For example, a car review might determine that fuel economy, safety, and handling are key decision-making factors and rate performance in those areas.

  • Describe key choices in how a product has been designed and their effect on the users beyond what the manufacturer says?
So when writing a product review we need this above in mind.

Affiliates won't be happy lol.
 

Vampirescu

Newbie
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
20
Reaction score
10
Enjoyed the insight I got reading through this, almost wanted to make some popcorn half way through from a few of the comments lol. N e way, had an ecom site till i caned it last night. It had gone up quite a bit in ranking I just saw in a weekly email report. Seemed like the ones that went up had 100% unique content with original products designed in house and photos and graphics I took/designed. Dropshipping ones raised a bit(maybe more so to other sites losing) but the inhouse items for sure had a good boost.

Seems like the update will be a positive thing, hate to hear a lot of you have lost that much traffic, but it still may be doing the ripple effect, see what happens in a week when it settles and adapt from there. seems easy enough to change your current content to more of what they are looking for...For some that could be a huge pain, but you reap what you sow. Lets face it, the majority of people are lazy and get complacent. So if you need to change things and actually get er done, you will be far better off then where you were before your traffic dropped.
 

cozziola

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
May 20, 2014
Messages
1,124
Reaction score
181
Mine in the last few hours has had its ranking bomb big time.

I hope they bounce back over the next few days.

Just had some backings done so maybe its a bit of a dance?
 

MaikoSophie

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
69
Mine in the last few hours has had its ranking bomb big time.

I hope they bounce back over the next few days.

Just had some backings done so maybe its a bit of a dance?
It's been happening 2 days ago.

What's strange is one of my new site got bombed big time 2-3 days ago. But came back the next day.

But today, perhaps just around your time when you got affected I was hit again. One of my old site got bombed big time.

This whole erratic behaviour of G has made me become nonchalent. Since the product review update was rolled out until now, everything has been erratic and crazy.
 

Ikaz Elkazeer

Newbie
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
40
Reaction score
12
one of my affliate site was brought to its knees with this update. It still is. We're fighting. Trying to update the content as best we can.

But we cant actually buy the products and then review them. Its simply not economical even if we get ranked again. Lets see how it works out. If anyone has any strategies that worked with content updation please do share...
 

Dolan

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
316
Reaction score
132
Mine in the last few hours has had its ranking bomb big time.

I hope they bounce back over the next few days.

Just had some backings done so maybe its a bit of a dance?
Just had something similar with my affiliate site in the last 24 hours. Huge drops again like the initial affiliate update.
 

cozziola

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
May 20, 2014
Messages
1,124
Reaction score
181
Just had something similar with my affiliate site in the last 24 hours. Huge drops again like the initial affiliate update.
I feel like this may be the end of this update now.

Hoping though its a dance of some new backlinks
 

MaikoSophie

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
69
Eh, seems like today's fluctuation is even worse.


I guess all we can do is wait for another week.
 

Ozzyzig

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
1,663
Reaction score
1,103
Website
bit.ly
have you guys noticed a change in serp presentation because of this update? i still have not. if you have, please let me know the keyword that you have searched. thanks in advance
I've noticed a change in my reviews, they've had a big improvement. This goes back to what I've always said about knowing your niche.


For the sites in my niche where it's clear they've just ripped the information from the Amazon listing, they've plummeted dramatically. There isn't any real review going on, it's just nonsense to pad out the word count and slap in a link.

Two reviews I put up at the start of last week are now on page 1 and it's bringing people into the site as well as converting.
 

MaikoSophie

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
69
Anyone else facing massive fluctuations today? The past few days there were also fluctuations but not as massive as today's.

It seems that this fluctuation is never ending.

Edit: Then I realized because Mother's Day is coming. Big G's got something up their sleeve to force people to use Adwords? Just like pre-Valentine's update?
 
Last edited:

cozziola

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
May 20, 2014
Messages
1,124
Reaction score
181
Lots of my rankings have bounced back up today.

Some to old positions and some slightly below previous positions.
 

MaikoSophie

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
69
Lots of my rankings have bounced back up today.

Some to old positions and some slightly below previous positions.
Same here. Phew.

But I don't think it's over yet. I'm still seeing fluctuations.

As of now, the search results still seem messy and irrelevant. The worst part is I see some of my competitors who are ranking well have terrible content. One of it is a product review and they obviously did not purchase the product or even research about it. Instead, they just summarize the product with generic info from the manufacturer's site. Yet, they are ranking well for that. The only thing I can suspect why Google is letting them rank is because of 'authority'.

Example, the product is a particular model of a treadmill. 30% of the whole article they just rewrite the features and benefits directly from the manufacturer's website. The remaining 70% of the article is just generic info like "exercise is important for you. Obesity is a huge problem that's affecting many Americans. Wow, this treadmill xxxx helps you achieve that because you can now exercise at home without sweating outside. This amount of exercise will help you lose weight." Yes, that kind of generic info as filler content. Maybe Google sees this as a ranking factor for 'expertise'? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Last edited:

MaikoSophie

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
69
I've noticed a change in my reviews, they've had a big improvement. This goes back to what I've always said about knowing your niche.


For the sites in my niche where it's clear they've just ripped the information from the Amazon listing, they've plummeted dramatically. There isn't any real review going on, it's just nonsense to pad out the word count and slap in a link.

Two reviews I put up at the start of last week are now on page 1 and it's bringing people into the site as well as converting.
That's great to hear. Congrats! At least your post gives us inspiration that SEO isn't dead at all.

But quick question: for each of your site, do they focus on that particular niche (e.g: weight loss site focusing solely on weight loss)? Or your sites touches all niches (one site, covers all subjects)?
 

Ozzyzig

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
1,663
Reaction score
1,103
Website
bit.ly
That's great to hear. Congrats! At least your post gives us inspiration that SEO isn't dead at all.

But quick question: for each of your site, do they focus on that particular niche (e.g: weight loss site focusing solely on weight loss)? Or your sites touches all niches (one site, covers all subjects)?
Both. I've got dedicated sites and multiniche ones. But on each site I only cover topics that I know a lot about and that I'm interested about.
In my opinion, this now more than ever is a must when ranking reviews, unless the work is being outsourced to a specialist writer.
 
Top