1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

writing product reviews - a quick question

Discussion in 'Associated Content & Writing Articles' started by johnconnor, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. johnconnor

    johnconnor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    189
    i thought about submitting more product reviews because i find they are easier accepted by ac. now i'm just wondering whether ac might find it weird when someone submits 5 or 10 product reviews a day. writing a review about one blu ray player might be okay because the writer might own it but when i write about 5 different players... wouldn't it look rather strange? because no one owns 5 blu ray players, 10 hd tvs etc. (just an example)
    when submitting product reviews, there is always this field where they require information about the connection to the product... like: no connection/own opinion; based upon review copy; based upon sample; employee etc. relationship; other.
    is there a field that one shouldn't check? or is there a field that ac especially likes to see (e.g. no connection/own opinion)?
    some enlightenment on this issue would be greatly appreciated. thanks :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. tchashow

    tchashow Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    266
    Occupation:
    Broke student
    Location:
    U.S. - Da South
    I don't submit too many reviews but when i do submit them I always check that it's my own opinion so they don't think that I just wrote the article for affiliate purposes.

    Regarding your question about submitting multiple product reviews, I think it would be best if you spread the submissions out over a couple of days. If you group them all together, your upfronts will be considerably lower.

    I tried the same thing on one of my accounts. I found an untapped niche on A*C and I wrote all ten articles around one keyword. Not a good idea. I usually get around $5 per article but on that bunch, I averaged around $3. I know I'm not the only one who this has happened to and I'm sure some others will chime in with their opinions.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  3. mariopits

    mariopits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    Okay, I'm wondering if that's my problem then... I am only submitting product reviews in a particular category and I'm getting the same amount of money per article and it's not rising through 3 clout levels now.

    FYI Johnconner I always list myself as a source and a few other places that helped me with my product information.
     
  4. redtide1969

    redtide1969 BANNED BANNED Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    1,548
    The main thing is to switch and mix things up a little. Mix in some how tos and general category articles with your review pieces. If you're doing reviews that are based on a tightly focused niche like blu-ray players then I recommend to spread them out by at least a week. You're right in that it draws attention to your account/s if you're reviewing 5 dvd players for instance, and they're all being submitted in rapid succession. I just backlog some of them and spread out their submission by at least a week.

    Btw, the box you're talking about is AC's recent feature they deployed to meet the FTC's new requirements for review pieces. If you aren't being paid for your review by the product manufacturer (which most of us aren't) then you'll just select no connection/own opinion.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  5. johnconnor

    johnconnor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    189
    hey guys (and girls, if any), thanks for the prompt answers. probably i will just create a few more accounts and spread the reviews so they won't get suspicious ;)
    one of my 2 accounts is already on clout 4 after 3 weeks and i don't want to risk it being victim of suspicious ac staff, hehe.
     
  6. streetballa

    streetballa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    i'm also submitting only reviews.I have a problem with how to's and general articles.
    What keyword should i pick in let's say :16 Ways to Save $100
    or in 6 Steps for Gaining Control in Your Life

    A little help will be appreciated !
     
  7. xxjack189

    xxjack189 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    What i do when i do a few product reviews is use my local electronics supply store as a source, eg i write ten reviews about blu ray players, i just list for example

    Sources
    Electro City Employee

    Works well for me
     
  8. xxjack189

    xxjack189 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    Pick the one which you think people are most likely to search for, or using google keyword tool or wordtracker search tool, find out which one has a greater search volume. i find these two tools great for getting article niches.