WordPress Plugin for Tricking Reviewers

Discussion in 'Cloaking and Content Generators' started by X, Dec 18, 2017.

  1. X

    X Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    727
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Digital Marketer & Automation Specialist
    Location:
    Texas
    A long time ago there was a WordPress plugin that let you configure it like so:

    You make a page and put whatever you want on it - so lets say I have a weight loss blog and I make a page about XYZ Weight Loss Product. The page would be www.myweightlosssite.com/xyz-weight-loss

    If you visit that URL directly, you see the regular content (a review of the product, etc.).

    However, the plugin would let you set a random string, so the URL could look like: www.myweightlosssite.com/xyz-weight-loss?ref=232nakrew7kn (or whatever)

    And anyone who visited through that link, it would set the page as the referrer, and then redirect them to whatever URL you want. In this way if anyone were to review your traffic and visit the URL, they'd see your nice review page, but any visitors hitting your ref URL would be taken straight to the affiliate page.

    Does anyone know of any current WordPress plugins that can do this? I could write one myself, but I'd rather just use an already-existing plugin if possible.
     
  2. thescrrr

    thescrrr Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Skyrocket Your Rankings
    Location:
    Check the Link Below!
    Home Page:
    Why dont you give them a chance to read your review, than just redirect the back button with javascript to your afflink, win-win.
     
  3. X

    X Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    727
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Digital Marketer & Automation Specialist
    Location:
    Texas
    Not a bad idea, but I don't want any reviewers to hit the back button and see that - idk if that would break any kind of TOS but I'd rather not risk my earnings to find out in case I get a reviewer in a bad mood who sees it lol.

    I'd much rather just pass along visitors straight to the sales page, the page they're clicking from will do plenty of convincing without them needing to read a review in between.
     
  4. thescrrr

    thescrrr Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Skyrocket Your Rankings
    Location:
    Check the Link Below!
    Home Page:
    yeah, if you are promoting amazon products this could be a problem, CB is totally fine with it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. bartosimpsonio

    bartosimpsonio Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    12,946
    Occupation:
    MACHIN LURNIN
    Location:
    TUVALU
    Home Page:
    It was abandoned years ago. You'll need to create your own or adapt the original source code to your needs.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. X

    X Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    727
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Digital Marketer & Automation Specialist
    Location:
    Texas
    That's not the one I was thinking of, but thanks! Gonna download it and take a look at the code.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. bartosimpsonio

    bartosimpsonio Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    12,946
    Occupation:
    MACHIN LURNIN
    Location:
    TUVALU
    Home Page:
    There are a few others. Back when there were no central directories of plugins, these packages were found in sites that are no longer online.