What is going on here? Hack?

demongerbil

Power Member
Jr. VIP
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
570
Reaction score
515
Open https://www.globo.com/ and click on:
upload_2019-11-21_20-19-47.png

If you scroll down on that article the page redirects to a spam URL (which for me shows a Verizon scam offer to get a "free iphone").

How is this possible? Only ad networks on that page are AdSense and Taboola. Unless they hacked Globo (possible, but unlikely - it's the largest site in Brazil), are they using Taboola ads to redirect the URL, but how?
 
Open https://www.globo.com/ and click on:
View attachment 123928

If you scroll down on that article the page redirects to a spam URL (which for me shows a Verizon scam offer to get a "free iphone").

How is this possible? Only ad networks on that page are AdSense and Taboola. Unless they hacked Globo (possible, but unlikely - it's the largest site in Brazil), are they using Taboola ads to redirect the URL, but how?
It's only for your cookies man
 
Yeah, I don't see any iphone offers or redirects, only an option to sign up for their newsletter.
 
You're infected with some malware. It's just you.
 
I had two other people on separate computers and in separate locations test this and confirm.

Confirm OP has malware and site is clean or confirm it really is the advertiser site publishing malware?
 
Back
Top