1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to Avoid Getting Reviewed by Adwords. Would changing my ads' title text trigger...

Discussion in 'Adwords' started by guest2, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm curious if anyone has knowledge (based on experience) of the following:

    I'm trying to avoid getting reviewed by Adwords. Would changing my ads' title text trigger a review by a human employee of Adwords?

    And the broader based question: What kinds of activity on Adwords trigger a review (frequent logging in, infrequent logging in, changing billing info, adding a new domain, etc.)?
     
  2. johnwoo

    johnwoo Power Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    96
    for me, there are some keywords when i use in adwords, they went straight away to human review, it something like that happens, i edit my add and change my keywords in ads
    until it goes to pending and it approves in less then half an hour via Bot
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fortunately my keywords are stable and not a problem. I'm primarily trying to find out if modifying the title of my ads would trigger a review even though the text used is not inherently anything that would be a red flag.
     
  4. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone have any specific experience with (or knowledge of) this kind of situation?
     
  5. chipmunk951

    chipmunk951 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    443
    Occupation:
    IM
    Location:
    Zimbabwe
    This will most definitely cause a review, changing the ad title text is a big deal and something can go from being compliant to uncompliant with slight wording changes.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. extreme90

    extreme90 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    ★☆ Earth! =) ★☆
    I guess you are having a manual review, due to your niche. Can you confirm, in what niche you are working in?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's good to know. And I'm guessing that a review would involve them not just looking at the text changes, but at my actual site...correct? I'm trying to avoid having them look at my site because although 90% of adwords employees wouldn't have a problem with it, I had an experience 2 years ago that made my life a hassle due to one overzealous adwords employee.
     
  8. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it doesn't look like I'll be having a review. I'd prefer to not go into the niche details, but my situation is that I was considering promoting a different affiliate...which would've involved me changing my text ads' titles since they would no longer match. However, I think I'll stick with the current affiliate!
     
  9. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm curious if the type of text change makes the difference as to whether or not a review is triggered. I just recalled that the last time I changed the text (from $1.99 to $10) didn't result in a review...or at least not one that labeled my site an "affiliate portal" or whatever their term is.

    I'm currently wanting to change the price again, so I'm wondering if the only text changes that would be problematic are those that contain content that would create "red flags"? Thoughts, anyone?
     
  10. mazzika1985

    mazzika1985 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    36
    i think cloaking will fix this
    part f the cloaking idea is to avoid there review
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. mazzika1985

    mazzika1985 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    36
    is the bot cloaking the keyword it self ?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. customs

    customs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Adwords has a list of stop words and if they found one in your ad or on your landing page - this will trigger a manual review.

    But as it was said earlier, just changing ad text will get you approval, but if you have stop words on your LP, you still will be reviewed in a few days.

    Cloak (but it's not that easy with Google) or avoid shady niches.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fortunately I'm not in a shady niche & am not using stop words so I should be ok since I just want to change the price listed in my ads' title. The problen I ran into a couple years ago was having a site labeled as something such as "site has no inherent value other than a bridge to an affiliate site." I found this assessment subjective & am trying to avoid review because of the potential to be labeled as such again.
     
  14. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, in terms of avoiding words on one's site that trigger reviews, what's to prevent site owners from temporary putting up a site that isn't a problem...waiting for the automatic approval of ads and/or keywords, and then uploading a version of the site that would normally trigger their system?
     
  15. customs

    customs Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    The Adwords bot checks the LP every few hours, this won't work in the long term.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. mazzika1985

    mazzika1985 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    36
    there are good cloakers in this forum can avoid ban
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. guest2

    guest2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    About 4 months ago I purchased a new URL that is superior to my current URL, and am considering replacing it in my Adwords ads. The content will be the same, but the URL will be changed...and I'm wondering if a URL change will automatically a manual review (as opposed to an automatic approval). The Adwords account I'm using is about 12 years old and has never had any penalties or problems...but I once had another account where my site was labeled an "affiliate bridge site" so I'm trying to avoid that problem, and want to make sure changing my URL won't automatically result in a manual review.
     
  18. partymarty4870

    partymarty4870 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    I come from a land downunder
    I don't consider an ad successful unless it gets rejected and rewritten a couple of times, but I'm a big ecommerce store so have not the slightest fear of them having problems with my site.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. albimorkal

    albimorkal Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    At Small Village
    Umm... pause your ads? you are trying to avoid getting reviewed aren't you? setting adwords accounts are pain in the hollies... I wouldn't risk a campaign for it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. devtheworld

    devtheworld BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    12
    Frequent logging in would not affect review, infrequent logging in does not affect, changing billing info may go to under review because if they see billing change, they may take time to verify, adding new domain would go to pending review. It is all your keywords and ads which goes to frequent review, do not add high risk keywords, do not create ads which has inappropriate words.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1