1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some quick advice on "review" based keywords.

Discussion in 'Online Reputation Management (ORM)' started by JournoNick, Oct 27, 2015.

  1. JournoNick

    JournoNick Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    on the frontline
    Hey guys,

    Running some ORM for a business and there is this one "review" based forum that attracts nothing but facebook using haters. This means that the negative "nonsense, ranting and raving" reviews are outweighing the positive 80% : 20% and it's not looking great. Most people know this forum is full of haters, but the 1 star showing in the SERPs for their brand name isn't doing anything positive for new conversions.

    I've done a few things that have knocked down some of the forum based sites to page two, but this particular review based site is a cockroach, meaning it could probably survive a nuclear holocaust.

    Any ideas? I'm happy to collaborate with someone in skype so we can both use the strategy if needed.
     
  2. Alpha.

    Alpha. Power Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Europe... No Borders? No Worries!
    Forums are actually a godsend! If the content you're talking about falls under slander, you can get a simple cease & desist sent - that's usually all it takes.
     
  3. JournoNick

    JournoNick Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    on the frontline
    We've gone down that path already with some websites, where others are not responding, hence moving into suppression of those results in the SERPs. Unfortunately, the domain that gives zero fucks is the most powerful (review based site is a cockroach, meaning it could probably survive a nuclear holocaust).

    Perhaps some new directories listings that mention "Review" and "Prices" might push down those listings with some linking. I might just give that a go and report back here unless someone chimes in and has a better solution.
     
  4. Alpha.

    Alpha. Power Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Europe... No Borders? No Worries!
    If they don't respond, send the same thing to their webhost. If it isn't hosted on one of the offshore server farms that really don't care (and it won't be, because those are expensive - 99,9% of people are cheapskates), then they are the easiest target. I've gone down that road a few times for forum posts & it always worked.

    Freedom of speech is one thing, slanderous behaviour another.
     
  5. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    What you're talking about is actually libel. Libel is written, slander is spoken.

    Regarding the C&D, freedom of speech trumps removing negative opinions. You have no legal ground to force them to remove something you don't like with a C&D. All they have to do is not respond. If you take them to court you'll likely lose and they can counter sue for damages and expenses.
     
  6. Alpha.

    Alpha. Power Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Europe... No Borders? No Worries!
    Sorry, but I disagree. I have yet to encounter a web host that just ignored a C&D sent from a legit law firm. We're not talking Seedbox or offshore hosters here, but rather a standard web host (hostgator, godaddy etc) who just don't want trouble - in most cases they will reach out to the forum admin themselves.
     
  7. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    I didn't state an opinion, just facts :) I was just saying they don't have to do anything. You've obviously seen good results with a C&D. Add me on Skype and let's discuss further! Skype: BrandonHopkins