SocialCaptain review/ experience?

Joined
Mar 30, 2017
Messages
437
Reaction score
85
Anyone heard of this software?

I'm always looking for ways to "automate" my Instagram. I use jarvee but I'm open for other software/ bots as well.

When I google this + reviews I'm only seeing positive reviews and this feels fake to me. They do have a free trial of 3 days so I'm testing this out.

Before "buying" a monthly package I would like to know if people heard about this tool and have experience with it and if it really works.

Much appreciated :)
 

drgsbln

Newbie
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
I upgraded to their turbo plan this week. I usually use Jarvee bc I have about 100 accounts. Results are good so far but I will probably only use it for my main accounts bc of the cost.

If you manage a bunch of feeder accounts I would keep those on Jarvee as it's cheaper. If you don't want to deal with VPS and proxies I would give socialcaptain a try.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2017
Messages
437
Reaction score
85
Hmm interesting. Perhaps for clients social captain is better then jarvee? I mean if I were to grow clients accounts. Thanks for the feedback.
 

feIix

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
272
Reaction score
134
I'm using Jarvee for me and my clients and everyone is happy. Couldn't complain.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2017
Messages
437
Reaction score
85
I'm using Jarvee for me and my clients and everyone is happy. Couldn't complain.
Haha nice!

I use jarvee for myself and it works great. Just looking for a "white" hat method. This is more gray though :p
 

feIix

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
272
Reaction score
134
White hat? Post original content, pay tons of bucks for influencers.
 

Josh Ronald

Newbie
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Socialcaptain is a rebrand of Socialdrift who was closed down by Instagram, and socialupgrade.

Over priced service, I recommend using Jarvee
 

Social God

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
1,269
Reaction score
1,267
jarvee
massplanner
gmt2

only ones i see recomended for years .
Take this advice. I tried other services because they’re “cheap” or just to test them out and it’s just not the same experience as what @redarrow recommended. The new ones I tried always end up glitching or have terrible support. I’m currently paying a monthly subscription fee for this automation service and support left me hanging. Now I have to cancel it :/
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
17
Here is my experience with trying out several IG automated apps so far including SocialCaptain! I would also like your input on what worked for you and what apps you like! I'm really grateful if you are running any and have tips for me to walk me through them, because I'm looking for a good app (but do that in PM because I don't want to break any thread rules). Anyway here is what I have tried so far....

(PS, I hope this comment works, this is my first time on this forum website. In fact, I created an account just to comment here! I actually had this page bookmarked since January, and just kept coming back to it. I was (and still am) looking for an instagram growth program (I guess we don't call them bots anymore, lol). But I didn't want to be annoying back in January and come on here asking "Hey what app works?" like a noob. I have tried a few free trials and so far, I haven't really found any that worked for me because a) I'm too dumb and b) the price points were too high.)

Jarvee: I am trying out Jarvee for free right now and it's working for my LinkedIn sending in mass requests, but for my instagram, it was just super complicated for me. I had to watch the Youtube jarvee tutorial by some guy named Aaron who tells you what to click and stuff and so I followed all that, and I let it run for a day but no growth at all. So I don't know if I screwed up, because the app was really technical for me. Everyone is saying it's great, and I do believe it could be great, but I don't know why it's not working for me. I really wanted to like and do this app, because for $30/month, I can do like 10 apps on it (FB, LinkedIn, IG etc, it seems to be the best money value!)

Robolike: I also tried a free trial over at Robolike which is an only likes app that feels really safe, but the growth felt kind of slow. I bought it as well and ran it for a few months (before I saw this thread) but the growth was suuuuuper slow, like 100 followers a month. I can just do that myself manually, lol. I read on articles that mentioned that fast and long-term growth is better if you're doing the follow/unfollow type of thing.

Social Captain: I tried SocialCaptain free trial for a day and it gained me close to 70 followers in 24 hours so I was impressed with that. I just wished it could let me run a 3 day - 7 day trial instead of a 24 hour trial so I could test it out longer to see how it goes a bit longer term to help me with a final decision. I liked how Jarvee lets me run free for 5 or 7 days (not sure which, I'm still running it) and there was another one that was also 3 days. The price is kind of hefty though at $39/month for 1 instagram account, so I'm not sure if I want to go for that. I liked Jarvee's price better, but again, I found it really confusing to use. I so far was most impressed by SC but 1 day isn't enough to buy me in, I would need a 3 - 7 day trial to test things out to be honest.

Viral Soda: I went on Viral Soda for a free trial but was disappointed because they had an error where they unfollowed a bunch of my friends even though I told it "not to unfollow my followers", then the site went down for a day which made me mad because I lost a whole day of free trial there, and then they said they have to fix their unfollow error. It was such a bad free trial experience that I don't even want to go back to it.

Instazood: Then there was another called Instazood, I opened it for a free trial and it looked more complicated than Viral Soda so I didn't even bother. Lol. But I read on some blog that its price is really good at $10/month.

Buying Followers: Ugh... I cannot tell you how many times I have bought followers and the quality was horrid. I bought from loads of sites and gave up on that. This was about half a year ago. All non-English speaking fake followers with dead profiles and they all dropped within a few weeks. Don't do it! Yes, I am embarrassed to admit I bought followers. I read that IG just takes them down all the time so there's no point buying them. I just don't get how some IGers have 10,000 followers and their IG is crap. In fact, there is 1 that has 46k followers and his IG is total crap, I could PM it to you if you want to know it, it's so obviously it's running on some bot, but I'd love to know WHICH BOT!?

So this is just my experience so far as an IG bot newbie. I'll be going over to this website's other IG bot threads to dig more on what people are talking about....
 
Last edited:

Blackout99

Newbie
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
10
Hey everyone, I wanted to share an experience I've had with SocialCaptain. First off, I am the owner of a new small startup type business that has really started to grow. As a result, we have decided to throw some cash at Instagram to help grow our online presence in the online community and more importantly, automate most of our activity. As a disclaimer, I have zero affiliation with any of these types of companies. This forum seemed to be the only place discussing SocialCaptain and other services I was looking at in an unbiased fashion. I specifically made this account on here to share my current experiences with others looking for answers.

Our overall goal with any of these services is to gain quality followers that might actually have an interest in our products. We are not looking to just spam people 24/7 to gain the maximum amount of followers. After some research, I started to try some of these services. Most of them were garbage. But last week I decided to try ViralSoda. Over the span of that week, everything went pretty well. It is easy to understand and has all the features we were looking for. Price really isn't a major concern for us as long as the service provided is doing what we want. That being said, VS was on the lower end at $14/ month. Nearing the end of the trial, everything had gone well, other than our feed becoming complete trash. But I decided I needed to keep trying other services I had my eye one. I decided to try out SocialCaptain. IMO, the price is high. But I thought if many of the innovative techniques they're claiming actually work, it is well worth the money over paying for ads or someone to run the account.

Late Friday night I signed up for the trial. As another user here stated, I was already not liking the trial only being 24 hours. It just isn't very long to decide to commit or not. But oh well. I soon realized many of the features I wanted to use were not available during the trial. I decided to just let it run overnight. The next day I decided to go ahead and upgrade to the premium plan because I really wasn't getting a full go around with the trial. This was probably a horrible reason to upgrade. But with the fall back that I could ask for a refund within another 24 hours I decided to go ahead. After I received full access with the premium plan, I quickly noticed a major problem.

Where is the Auto DM feature?

Auto DM is a very important feature for us. When new followers are added, I like sending them a personal message thanking them for the follow and reiterating the importance every customer is in a growing business. This message also contains my personal contact information. No product advertising or anything of that nature. Pretty much just a thank you. We do not participate in auto commenting or any other type of spamy features. But the auto DM is something I really like. This feature is blatantly listed on their front page. In fact, it is 1 of 3 of the main features listed. I have attached a screenshot. But feel free to check it out for yourself. I didn't see this feature in the trial. But I thought it was not available due to the trial. Now upgraded to premium, it was still nowhere to be found. After searching and some googling, thinking it was just hiding somewhere, I still didn't have any answers. I tried to contact customer service. But they were not available until Monday morning. So I waited until today and contacted them via the chat. It was immediately confirmed that "we do not offer a Direct Messaging Feature at this point, since we strictly focus on growing your audience, but we do have plans to add that in the upcoming weeks". Unbelievable.


I will let the chat conversation below speak for itself. But I could not believe they would pull something like this. These deceptive business tactics have really turned me off to them all together. How hard would it be to remove this feature from the front page? or better yet, simply state it is a feature that's on the way. This alone would probably have kept me with them until I decided the service wasn't working for us. But now? I don't think so. It's a shame as I did like several things they were offering. The auto mute feature for new followers is especially nice. I hope this is something competitors incorporate in the future. I'm not sure if the AI, advanced targeting stuff really makes a difference just yet as we just didn't have the service long. But if there is any truth to it, I could be a game changer. I informed them that, until today, we were actually prepared to move up to the $99/ month Turbo plan. For now I'll probably pay the modest $14 / month to reactivate Viral Soda while I continue to test out other services.

If anyone has any questions feel free to message me or I'll try to reply to them in here. I'm also welcome to any thoughts or suggestions on this subject. As I said, ViralSoda is the best I've found so far. But we're open to try others. Jarvee is something I'd like to try and tackle. I just haven't found the time just yet.

**I'd also like to add as of this post time, I am still waiting for a refund (giving me time to write this post). Notice in the chat there is no mention of addressing this misleading tactic. Even if they had zero intention of taking it down, you'd think they'd say "they're working on it". Also, no effort to try and retain our business.




CHAT

Me: Hello, I signed up for your premium service this weekend after trying many other services. Only question I have right now is how do I access the auto DM feature for new followers?



SC: Hi there, thanks for reaching out! Maxine from SocialCaptain, here. We do not offer a Direct Messaging feature at this point, since we strictly focus on growing your audience, but we do have plans to add that in the upcoming weeks


Me: **attached screenshot of front page to chat**

Me: So why is this being advertised specifically on your home page, right up front, as a current feature? That is very misleading


SC: yes, I understand appreciate your feedback-- that copy went live a little too early. That feature is still in the works but should be coming soon. Let me know what I can do to make the best of your experience in the meantime!



Me: Well I would think you guys would take this down until it is live. That is pretty shady. I'm the owner of a small start up. We are at the stage where we're ready to spend some money on social media exposure. I really like everything SC has to offer. There are a sea of services like this out there. SC being one of the more expensive options. But our team decided on you guys due to a few features that others are not offering. Specifically the layout, automatic muting, and overall new approach to adding quality followers. We were prepared to flip up to the Turbo plan. But blatantly listing features on your website, on the front page no less, that are not available, is unacceptable and downright false advertising. This is very disappointing. We would like a refund.



SC: I understand. I do apologize. I've reached out to our billing team to assist you with this matter. Once it's been taken care of, a billing expert will reach out to confirm. In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything else I can help you with!



Me: How will they be reaching out? Email?

SC: They'll reach out here, but you'll receive notification about it via email as well. :)



Me: Ok I will just wait.

**35 minutes later




Me: Still waiting.



SC: I can confirm your issue is on the billing teams queue - they will reach out via email once it has been processed.

**as of this post it has been an hour and I'm still waiting.
 

Attachments

AnnaLivia

Newbie
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
Take this advice. I tried other services because they’re “cheap” or just to test them out and it’s just not the same experience as what @redarrow recommended. The new ones I tried always end up glitching or have terrible support. I’m currently paying a monthly subscription fee for this automation service and support left me hanging. Now I have to cancel it :/
Hey everyone, I wanted to share an experience I've had with SocialCaptain. First off, I am the owner of a new small startup type business that has really started to grow. As a result, we have decided to throw some cash at Instagram to help grow our online presence in the online community and more importantly, automate most of our activity. As a disclaimer, I have zero affiliation with any of these types of companies. This forum seemed to be the only place discussing SocialCaptain and other services I was looking at in an unbiased fashion. I specifically made this account on here to share my current experiences with others looking for answers.

Our overall goal with any of these services is to gain quality followers that might actually have an interest in our products. We are not looking to just spam people 24/7 to gain the maximum amount of followers. After some research, I started to try some of these services. Most of them were garbage. But last week I decided to try ViralSoda. Over the span of that week, everything went pretty well. It is easy to understand and has all the features we were looking for. Price really isn't a major concern for us as long as the service provided is doing what we want. That being said, VS was on the lower end at $14/ month. Nearing the end of the trial, everything had gone well, other than our feed becoming complete trash. But I decided I needed to keep trying other services I had my eye one. I decided to try out SocialCaptain. IMO, the price is high. But I thought if many of the innovative techniques they're claiming actually work, it is well worth the money over paying for ads or someone to run the account.

Late Friday night I signed up for the trial. As another user here stated, I was already not liking the trial only being 24 hours. It just isn't very long to decide to commit or not. But oh well. I soon realized many of the features I wanted to use were not available during the trial. I decided to just let it run overnight. The next day I decided to go ahead and upgrade to the premium plan because I really wasn't getting a full go around with the trial. This was probably a horrible reason to upgrade. But with the fall back that I could ask for a refund within another 24 hours I decided to go ahead. After I received full access with the premium plan, I quickly noticed a major problem.

Where is the Auto DM feature?

Auto DM is a very important feature for us. When new followers are added, I like sending them a personal message thanking them for the follow and reiterating the importance every customer is in a growing business. This message also contains my personal contact information. No product advertising or anything of that nature. Pretty much just a thank you. We do not participate in auto commenting or any other type of spamy features. But the auto DM is something I really like. This feature is blatantly listed on their front page. In fact, it is 1 of 3 of the main features listed. I have attached a screenshot. But feel free to check it out for yourself. I didn't see this feature in the trial. But I thought it was not available due to the trial. Now upgraded to premium, it was still nowhere to be found. After searching and some googling, thinking it was just hiding somewhere, I still didn't have any answers. I tried to contact customer service. But they were not available until Monday morning. So I waited until today and contacted them via the chat. It was immediately confirmed that "we do not offer a Direct Messaging Feature at this point, since we strictly focus on growing your audience, but we do have plans to add that in the upcoming weeks". Unbelievable.


I will let the chat conversation below speak for itself. But I could not believe they would pull something like this. These deceptive business tactics have really turned me off to them all together. How hard would it be to remove this feature from the front page? or better yet, simply state it is a feature that's on the way. This alone would probably have kept me with them until I decided the service wasn't working for us. But now? I don't think so. It's a shame as I did like several things they were offering. The auto mute feature for new followers is especially nice. I hope this is something competitors incorporate in the future. I'm not sure if the AI, advanced targeting stuff really makes a difference just yet as we just didn't have the service long. But if there is any truth to it, I could be a game changer. I informed them that, until today, we were actually prepared to move up to the $99/ month Turbo plan. For now I'll probably pay the modest $14 / month to reactivate Viral Soda while I continue to test out other services.

If anyone has any questions feel free to message me or I'll try to reply to them in here. I'm also welcome to any thoughts or suggestions on this subject. As I said, ViralSoda is the best I've found so far. But we're open to try others. Jarvee is something I'd like to try and tackle. I just haven't found the time just yet.

**I'd also like to add as of this post time, I am still waiting for a refund (giving me time to write this post). Notice in the chat there is no mention of addressing this misleading tactic. Even if they had zero intention of taking it down, you'd think they'd say "they're working on it". Also, no effort to try and retain our business.




CHAT

Me: Hello, I signed up for your premium service this weekend after trying many other services. Only question I have right now is how do I access the auto DM feature for new followers?



SC: Hi there, thanks for reaching out! Maxine from SocialCaptain, here. We do not offer a Direct Messaging feature at this point, since we strictly focus on growing your audience, but we do have plans to add that in the upcoming weeks


Me: **attached screenshot of front page to chat**

Me: So why is this being advertised specifically on your home page, right up front, as a current feature? That is very misleading


SC: yes, I understand appreciate your feedback-- that copy went live a little too early. That feature is still in the works but should be coming soon. Let me know what I can do to make the best of your experience in the meantime!



Me: Well I would think you guys would take this down until it is live. That is pretty shady. I'm the owner of a small start up. We are at the stage where we're ready to spend some money on social media exposure. I really like everything SC has to offer. There are a sea of services like this out there. SC being one of the more expensive options. But our team decided on you guys due to a few features that others are not offering. Specifically the layout, automatic muting, and overall new approach to adding quality followers. We were prepared to flip up to the Turbo plan. But blatantly listing features on your website, on the front page no less, that are not available, is unacceptable and downright false advertising. This is very disappointing. We would like a refund.



SC: I understand. I do apologize. I've reached out to our billing team to assist you with this matter. Once it's been taken care of, a billing expert will reach out to confirm. In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything else I can help you with!



Me: How will they be reaching out? Email?

SC: They'll reach out here, but you'll receive notification about it via email as well. :)



Me: Ok I will just wait.

**35 minutes later




Me: Still waiting.



SC: I can confirm your issue is on the billing teams queue - they will reach out via email once it has been processed.

**as of this post it has been an hour and I'm still waiting.
I m using Social captain, I really like it. I want to use Jarvee but set up so complicated I m using Social captain for now.
 

Blackout99

Newbie
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
10
I wanted to come back and update this post. I recently discovered Social Captain never processed the refund or canceled my subscriptions. We should have caught this a long time ago. But the charge was on a company CC and the person who monitors this thought we were still using it. I've tried to contact SC on two different chats for the past 3 days. No response. I'll give it another day or two. But this is not good. Sounds like I'll be forced to contact my CC company.
 

Tommy T

Registered Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
68
Reaction score
12
FWIW: Our account on SocialCaptain has grown to a halt and they stopped responding to customer service requests.
 

Blackout99

Newbie
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
10
FWIW: Our account on SocialCaptain has grown to a halt and they stopped responding to customer service requests.
Well there it is. Doesn't surprise me one bit honestly. Looks like I'll be talking to my CC company about them.
 

SaintBlanc

Newbie
Joined
May 29, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
I've tried SocialCaptain and it wasnt worth the money.

Also tried Jarvee for a few months, but didnt really like the UI of the software. Jarvee can be quite intimidating to newbies.
Now currently using Wavlly, they have the automation features i wanted. And basically abusing their Free Trial system:D
 

Federico Marcelo

Registered Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
50
Reaction score
8
Anyone heard of this software?

I'm always looking for ways to "automate" my Instagram. I use jarvee but I'm open for other software/ bots as well.

When I google this + reviews I'm only seeing positive reviews and this feels fake to me. They do have a free trial of 3 days so I'm testing this out.

Before "buying" a monthly package I would like to know if people heard about this tool and have experience with it and if it really works.

Much appreciated :)
I tested it a few weeks ago, I can say it surely is not what I expected. First of all, as you said there is no free trial. I had to pay 15$ just to test the service. Second, I regularly had the issue of blockage of the actions. Third, it works really slow. Last but not least, I sent a ticket on the first day, they responded after 5 days! Literally, their support did not help me since my paid days would be finished in 2 days. I have been using Instarazzo for my clients for about 8 months and I am really happy with it. The blockage of Follow has also been solved on their platform.
 

G0nzal0

Registered Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
54
Reaction score
20
a shady company with overpriced services
they have heavily invested in ads to deceive end users and I suppose they had some success indeed! sad but true
 
Top