1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I divide a 3000+ words review ?

Discussion in 'White Hat SEO' started by Valkurm, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. Valkurm

    Valkurm Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    226
    Hi there,

    I don't know how I should approach that in order to get the best results for ranking. I have an article which is between 3 to 4k words, a full and detailed review.
    Should I post the whole review in just one article with multiples pictures etc, or should I post maybe 4 articles of 750 words for example with "Go next" after each one ?

    Others reviews on my website are generally 700-1500 words and are always on 1 page.

    If I choose the second option, how should I title my different pages ? Like "XXXX Review - Page 1, 2, 3 etc.." ? Also should I write different meta desc. for each pages of the same original article ?

    Well, any advice is welcome.

    Valkurm
     
  2. 1337python

    1337python Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I think it would be better to post it in a single one, you could divide the article with css( google's will be still able to see it, but your user wont) if you really wanted. But if you made pages like 1,2,3,4 It would result in keyword stuffing( titles,widgets,recent posts etc.). I would just post that whole article as a whole.
     
  3. Valkurm

    Valkurm Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    226
    Any other opinion on that ?
     
  4. dimitris

    dimitris Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    15
    Greatly depends on topic, but if it's possible to separate it, I would go for two 1500+ words interlinked articles, since 3K+ is too much. I have same results as you with 1200 words articles/reviews, with a low amount of backlinks pointing to them.
     
  5. Numbuh362

    Numbuh362 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    462
    3000 is way to much, if I was reading a review 3000 words might scare me away but it's also good since you'll have a lot of info in one spot. Instead of going to different sites for more info it would be easier if all of the info was in one spot so I guess one 3000 word article is better.
     
  6. screw123

    screw123 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    28
    If you can write a specific title for different keyword for each part I would divide it in even 5-6 parts.
     
  7. jaselc

    jaselc Regular Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    123
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    I'd go with one article, 3000 words is not a great deal. Your 3000 word review is probably better than most competitors 750 word reviews!! So hopefully Google will think the same
     
  8. JessePinkman

    JessePinkman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    If the work is high quality, you're selling yourself short by using it as one giant article. Personally, I would separate it by the specific aspect of the product you are discussing instead of dividing it by word count. I think that it will be more coherent and logical that way. As it is currently, I would imagine that most customers would be turned off by such a giant wall of text.
     
  9. MikeX

    MikeX Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Like others have said, 3k is a lot of words for one review. It would be best to spearate it into at least 3 categories and put the content on different pages
     
  10. lolseo

    lolseo Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    24
    If the article is reviewing just 1 product, you could split it into 2 articles, however, would it make sense? Im guessing you'd have to rewrite sections of it in order to make sense.

    Are the 3000 words you have quality or waffle? I bet with some editing you could trim a few hundred words.

    If its an article comparing numerous products, stick with it as it is in my opinion.