Nop you cannot. The original creator have to remain admin.
One time I actually became the head admin of someone else's facebook group myself when all the previous admins left the group. Basically when that happened it left that spot to whoever joined the group and claimed it first. I don't know if that's something they've changed since then however, as this was well over a year ago..