1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Review Flagging Systems: How are they catching this?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Delta223, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. Delta223

    Delta223 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi all,

    This Q comes from a friend:

    Our website is looking to boost our Bizrate / Shopzilla review counts. My workers have posted reviews but they are always taken down somehow. These are outsourcers with their own computer & IP address details! Our actual customer reviews never have this issue which tells me they have a very smart flagging system.

    Anyone know how they are catching the reviews?
     
  2. Code monkey

    Code monkey Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    If they're getting flagged and taken down, are they written grammatically correct? I haven't seen many spammy reviews; so, I'd imagine they're filtered out or removed if it's obvious they're fake.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  3. Delta223

    Delta223 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hmm, from what I know his VAs have excellent written english. I believe there is another factor at play
     
  4. monk13

    monk13 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    268
    discussed here
    Code:
    http://www.blackhatworld.com/blackhat-seo/black-hat-seo/420705-big-gs-places-reviews.html
     
  5. HG-Emp

    HG-Emp BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    mac address probably
     
  6. kvmcable

    kvmcable Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    2,815
    Occupation:
    24 year business owner - old school dude
    Location:
    KFC - BW3
    Obviously not MAC address and such if VAs from different parts of the world. Most likely it's the reviewer's reputation. How many reviews have they left for others? Yelp is very good at this. New account reviews rarely stick and are filtered. Have them leave reviews for other places and when they start sticking them come back to yours. Mostly like their account has no reputation so posting one review on an account with negs is a flag.

    What I do is make fake Yelp accounts and Google accounts. Then about once a month I spend a few hours with these ids (all linked to different proxies) and post 3 and 4 star reviews on a 2-3 sites. Do this for a few months and they your reviews start showing up where you post them. Also you build more authority for your fake accounts. ;-)