1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Question] GPlaces client already claimed Listing

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by bhspiderz, May 9, 2012.

  1. bhspiderz

    bhspiderz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    22
    So my question is how do you handle clients that have already claimed a Google Places listing but does not want to share the account used to make the listing so you can edit the Listing?

    I have a client that claimed the listing under their personal account and is worried about account safety. As I understand it you can not have multiple accounts managing a listing like you could analytics. Do you just ask the client for their account info and work through that or do you try and delete and start over?

    Any thoughts on this would be helpful.

    Thanks
     
  2. ardavidr

    ardavidr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    Full Time Internet Marketing
    use the account he has if is aged it will help you rank faster. Tell them that its important to use their account if not google will penalize their listing. This might scare them and be more easy.
     
  3. dubious

    dubious Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    222
    Occupation:
    Project Manager/Business Development Manager
    Location:
    Australia
    Tell them it will violate your contract if you use their details erroneously. Seriously, if a web developer needed to change the Name Servers of a domain a client registered but they wouldn't give the details out of privacy issues then there would be no websites built. Your client is a moron, explain this to them clearly (not the moron part)
     
  4. bhspiderz

    bhspiderz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yeah I handled this a while a go. I just thought they were not wanting to share. Instead the real issue was they hired some local website designer/SEO worker to build their site and increase their online presence. He was holding the accounts hostage, and after I explained to the customer that they are not in control over their own things it got them nervous enough to get the account info. They shared that with me.