1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Stop Asking For Review Copies

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by matapples01, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. matapples01

    matapples01 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    208
    I'm sick of every thread I look at where someone is looking for a freebie. If it's something worth selling in the BST area, it's going to get a mod review. If it's in freelance, stop asking for handouts. Pay these guys what they deserve or move on.

    If the seller looks shady, don't buy, wait for others to try it or try it on a small scale first to see what the quality is. This ain't rocket science. Don't buy 100000 articles from the guy right out of the gate and don't send $500 via Western Union to some outsourcing company for an enormous project if you've never worked with them before...duhhh.

    End of rant.
     
  2. netjedi

    netjedi Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Endor
    LoL.. wow, what happened there Bobfrapples?
    You sound very... angry..
     
  3. vivalafeva

    vivalafeva Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    719
    I myself am someone who often asks for a review copy, why is it so wrong? if I dont get the review copy thats fine, as long as someone gets it to verify the legitamacy of the OP. Very often a review copy is helpful for both the reviewer and the seller, one person gets a service for free, and the other one gets more orders because of the review copy.
     
  4. justthinking

    justthinking BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    463
    I agree with bobfrapples. It is extremely irritating when members start asking for review copies. It seems we are starting to get a 'DP' mentality.

    But if you do create a e-book about this topic bob, I would like a review copy. :)
     
  5. netjedi

    netjedi Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Endor
    Gotta agree with vivalafeva on this,
    Review copy = more trust people have
    more trust people have = more sales
    more sales = more profit

    win-win for both.
    I know that you're trying to state a point that we shouldn't ask for a freebie, but i think its a win win situation
     
  6. matapples01

    matapples01 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    208
    No, it's all good, and I'm not even smart enough to sell anything :rolleyes: I just think people should get paid for their work.
     
  7. netjedi

    netjedi Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Endor
    lol.. well i think giving away one free review is alright. Its up to the seller. :)
    Whether he wants to give a
    1. free review
    2. half price
    3. promotional price
    4. package
    5. etc
     
  8. vivalafeva

    vivalafeva Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    719
    yea it really is up to the seller, if they decide to give some away thats their own choice. Hey im not gonna turn down a free copy of something i need, and all i have to do is give my opinion.
     
  9. netjedi

    netjedi Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Endor
    Have to agree with you on this point bobfrapples, people should get paid for their work :)

    But humans are built with the need......
    the need... to get free stuff lol...

    that how human are made lol..
    NOT all though lol..
     
  10. matapples01

    matapples01 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    208
    The review copy process is flawed by its nature. A review of a service is useless because the provider knows it's a review and MAY go above and beyond their normal level of service to get a good review. A review of a product never gets as crucial of a critique as something you paid for...just human nature. You're not gonna skewer some guy who just gave you a free piece of software, ebook...no matter how bad it is.
     
  11. netjedi

    netjedi Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Endor
    NOBODY turns down a free stuff lol..
    thats what my economics teacher always say haha..

    except if...
    IF the person is BALD and someone is giving him a free COMB...
     
  12. The Scarlet Pimp

    The Scarlet Pimp Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    3,120
    Occupation:
    Chair moistener.
    Location:
    Cyberspace
    might be a good idea for writers to prepare a special "review copy" of their book.
    this would be identical to the book they are selling, except there would be bits
    and pieces missing. if you thought the idea was good, then you buy the book.

    for example... the missing data could be the names and phone numbers of suppliers.
    or the name of a program that you need to make their system work. etc.

    this lets people see what you have to offer but it does not allow them to progress
    without paying you for your info.
     
  13. gimme4free

    gimme4free Executive VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    I think the problem people really get pissed off with is newbie DP members with 10 posts asking for review copies. If you actually look through their 10 posts you will also notice that they have been through 10 BST threads and asked for reviews of everybodies products.

    Personally what I think is fair is trading products to offer a review to each others products. Obviously this would make both parties a bit more wary of what they post the review about as they wouldnt want to receive a bad one back themselves but 99/100 times people get a free review copy they don't leave a bad review anyway so it shouldnt make too much of a difference.
     
  14. scubaslick

    scubaslick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    512
    A review is only as good as the reviewer. If you don't know your ass from a hole in the ground, what kind of a review can you possibly give?

    I'll ask, in PM, for a review copy of some items if I suspect the person might be a potential scammer or if it's a topic I know something about. I can usually spot the first, and I try to help them make the product better in the case of the second. When I do a review for someone I do it for the author first to help them clarify their ideas, improve the presentation, add value etc. to help them sell more copies. But only if it's a good product. If it's a piece of shit, I tell them so.

    I've reviewed a few products pre-launch that never saw the light of day, and for good reason.

    So asking for a review copy isn't necessarily a bad thing, but giving a review copy to a clueless one post newbie doesn't help any one - seller, buyers or the forum.
     
  15. stylesb

    stylesb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Straight Outta Compton
    im with netjedi and vivalafeva ... it helps all parties ...

    I had a guy on DP screw me with CL posts and I ripped him in a review. Definitely saved a ton of people money by getting screwed going forward.
     
  16. DrJekyll

    DrJekyll Senior Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    697
    Location:
    1-9 for your Keyword goodluck
    I think where bob is coming from is it makes us look like no money having noobs like on another forum, So just pull out your wallet, and buy if you really can use what is offered. At least act like you are making enough money to test a new product or service
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. graphicnut

    graphicnut Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    240
    I agree this forum has gone nuts with noobs wanting freebies, i think someone has made an ebook at dp and the method was to visit bhw :)