1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

payday loans are manually reviewed?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by theseodude, Mar 27, 2013.

  1. theseodude

    theseodude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    88
    Hello

    I saw this in another thread and i got curious.

    a couple of people were saying that the payday loan niche is manually reviewed by Google, and they were saying something about how your website can only survive for a month, then you have to change websites.

    I don't quite understand this. what does this mean? What exactly do they review, do they review your backlinks to make sure they are not spam? and why does your website only last a month?
     
  2. leena

    leena Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    757
    You can rank for payday loans for a month only in your dreams. Its 2-3 days max in top 10, my personal experience. They manually review it every 3 days, and you are immediately removed once they find that your site is using spam backlinks.
     
  3. theseodude

    theseodude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    88
    how do we know that this niche is manually reviewed? and why do they do this? or why don't they do this with all niches?
     
  4. drogon

    drogon Elite Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    Look, the only way you can know for sure is go test it yourself as several people already said it is a manually reviewed keyword and none of us work for G, let a lone in the team that makes these decisions so obviously no one can answer the why question and only speculate. If you are asking all these questions...repeatedly when you already got a reply of "personal experience" then you may be wayyyy out of your depth with this keyword as it takes a 4 figure monthly SEO budget and specific strategy to go after it.
     
  5. xmoreno

    xmoreno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Home Page:
    I can tell an affiliate program that pays up to $ 150 for a completed form of payday loans. It also provides no public marketing materials and detailed advice to newcomers. Details PM
     
  6. market_analys101

    market_analys101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like they are semi-manually reviewed they have a software algorithm that picks them apart. Then they're sub-categorized into lists, kinda like good, ok, poor etc...
     
  7. williamstraus

    williamstraus Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't have the link - but Cutts said that do watch out for certain niches because the chances of people being misled or scammed is higher and more dangerous in those niches.

    So things insurance related, medical (he mentioned cancer) etc. are more closely watched.

    It would make sense. They are running a business and obviously have a team of reviewers. There has to be some process for prioritizing the requests to investigate spam etc.

    Since Payday loans are dodgy to begin with - they probably end up getting more closely scrutinized.

    Do these seem like natural search results? Google 'payday loans' and this is what I get:

    - FTC.Gov link
    - Wikipedia Link
    - YellowPages link to my city
    - Bank of America ATM (yeah - seriously)
    - Local Payday loans with few back links (probably less dodgy to get a payday loan from a local company than the Payday loans run thru CPA networks)
    - News stories for Payday loans