1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Rules For Review Spam In The BST Section?

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions & Feedback' started by Shaunm, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Shaunm

    Shaunm Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Home Page:
    Afternoon guys,

    I just wanted to post this and see if it gets much support as I personally think service providers spamming reviews in their own threads is beginning to get out of hand now and is misleading.

    Although a service provider should always have the right to display reviews of their service to help display social proof I feel the rules could be tightened up to help the BHW community and potential buyers. Some of the threads have reviews being pasted that are from months and sometimes years ago, SEO and IM is a rapidly changing land scape where these reviews are often out of date and defunct now. I have also seen a few people pasting reviews from other forums that cant be verified, surely the service provider should just give out a few review copies to Jn VIP members and get reviews right here on BHW? Additionally some threads quote reviews from suspicious accounts that have very low post counts.

    I have taken the liberty of drafting a few ideas for both the mod team and the community to look at and I am interested on how they feel about them and if there is any chance of getting this sort of thing implemented. Obviously the numbers such as time frames, post counts and such as just an example.


    • The Review of the service has to be posted here on BHW.
    • When quoting the review the service provider also has to post a direct link to the post with the quote so potential buyers can check it has not been edited in anyway and inbox the reviewer with any questions they may have.
    • The quoted review has to have been posted with in a specified time frame such as three month.
    • The service provider is only aloud to quote a maximum of three reviews per post.
    • The reviewer who posted the review has to have a minimum of 50 posts for their review to be quoted.

    What do you guys think of this idea?

    Shaun
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 9
  2. RuthSam

    RuthSam Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    979
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    I totally agree with you. It will even make it more difficult to cheat that way however it won't help to avoid fraudsters!
     
  3. Hawkster

    Hawkster Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    3,728
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Listen to everyone - Follow no-one
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    I get more annoyed when the first two pages (sometimes more) are filled with 'any review copies' or 'good luck with sales'

    But yeah i agree with what your saying.
     
  4. SeoWrecker

    SeoWrecker Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Doesn't matter
    Also the niche and the authority site's screenshots making 9999999$/month.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
  5. jimbobo2779

    jimbobo2779 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    2,750
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Some noble ideas but I don't see there being that big an issue. If you have a problem with how a vendor is acting in their sales thread it will likely put you off and stop you buying.

    One of things every vendor gets asked repeatedly is "are there any reviews of this?" and they can be literally all over the previous page yet people still ask, because of this often the easiest way is to have a stock response copy and pasted ready to go.

    What you are talking about is not really something I engage in myself but I have noticed it and tbh I don't see the issue with it.

    I have a bigger problem with the 100 vendors of yet another linking package that is the only one guaranteed to give ranking increases. I would hate for this place to become the next WF and it doesn't seem like it will do as people are much quicker to call bullshit where it is due.

    Trying to enforce rules above are not overly feasible or needed tbh. Generally people want to see the reviews, if they look fishy people will look deeper and they will call the person out. If they are patently false then the BST thread will be removed.
     
  6. zburatorul

    zburatorul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Bora Bora
    While I do agree with your post, you do realize that there will always be ways to get around those extra measures right? They will of course not be implemented (not the first post of this kind), and all you will be doing is giving more work to the cheaters (like they care). There are also exceptions like tommy once said regarding the low post count of some of the reviewers, not that he's an angel but still he has a point.

    My best bet is you (and we) will have to live with this system, and I believe the only improvement is to get people to use the iTrader system more often.
     
  7. VinceC

    VinceC Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    752
    Totally support this thread, assume some buyers will come and argue about it :)
     
  8. jimbobo2779

    jimbobo2779 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    2,750
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    The only arguments really are:
    1) That it is currently not a big issue
    2) Those bothered by it simply won't buy from that seller
    3) Legit sellers will just be answering the question of "do you have any reviews"
    4) Dodgy sellers will continue as they always have
    5) Ultimately it won't change much if anything

    Let people run their BST how they want unless they are purposely being dickish about it or trying to scam. If anyone is taking the piss a mod can tell them to get in line at any time they want.
     
  9. Aluminium

    Aluminium Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    935
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    High-Quality Content Provider
    Location:
    Canada
    Home Page:
    I'd stand to agree with both parties in this case, as I hate it when service providers spam their own threads with copied reviews.

    I never knew it went as far as being "copy and pasted", but I figured some of the reviews (that were stemming from month or so old accounts, mind you) was the OP trying to get ahead of the competition.

    I've had newbies contact me through my BST thread before - they always ask for samples and such; but I've definitely never taken it upon myself to copy and paste reviews. Unethical service providers should be dealt with, or at least be penalized with a suspension of some sort (even though it won't stop them; well, probably won't).

    If they're legitimate posts, it's whatever - Jimbobo pretty much hit the nail on the head regardless.
     
  10. Apricot

    Apricot Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    13,490
    Likes Received:
    8,441
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    BHW Admin
    Location:
    Station 2E
    Home Page:
    This is something we're going to address with the forum upgrade. For the time being though, be vigilant and keep reporting fake reviews with as much info as possible. Fake reviews and sellers promoting/bumping each others threads is something we take very seriously.

    Don't just ignore it and assume someone else has reported it. I'd rather delete 5 duplicate reports than let someone screw the system and deceive members.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 9
  11. Shaunm

    Shaunm Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Home Page:
    Thanks for the post Apricot, glad to see its already on the RADAR :).
     
  12. EmailMaster

    EmailMaster Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    556
    Occupation:
    Proxy & Account Seller
    Location:
    Canada
    I mean you guys can clearly see the fake review post, most have 1 post and its the review post lol. If u go through the thread you can see the same writing style, and its even more noticeable when its one after the other.

    You cant stop it, there is always a way to bypass any security feature they have set in place.
     
  13. Shaunm

    Shaunm Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Home Page:
    Thats only one small part of what I was getting at....
     
  14. proxygo

    proxygo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    20,081
    Likes Received:
    10,401
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    PROXIES .
    Location:
    UK - ALWAYS ON BHW
    Home Page:
    thank god with 5 sales threads never done a review copy ever.
    thankfully it was bhw users who came to my sites years b4 i even came here
    between 2005-2007 - i came here mid 2007, having an established name
    thankfully meant i never had to do review coppies and lets be honest half
    the people who take 1 never buy they just want a freebie
     
  15. gmsniperx

    gmsniperx Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    624
    Totally agree with you on this.
     
  16. Reviewergal

    Reviewergal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    33
    Occupation:
    Kindle Addict and Rabid Reviewer
    Location:
    United States
    I'm more annoyed by the multiple people asking for review copies even after the seller has stated multiple times that there are no review copies available. It makes it harder for someone considering a service to find recent, legitimate, reviews. After reading two pages of the multiple variations of "I'll take a review copy" I can feel my eyes glazing over. I realize as a buyer and adult I need to do my own research/due diligence prior to purchasing a service, but those useless posts searching for freebies and the (sometimes) inane bumping makes it difficult to find real feedback from real users of the service. The gems of information are getting buried in mountains of bs.
     
  17. dbk03

    dbk03 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    EU
    It might have already been implemented but I would suggest a verified/ unverified reviews system...something like amazon reviews. I mean...if you've bought a service from a BHW provider, your review should have the Verified badge. If you haven't or you've bought the same service from the same provider but from a different place (eg: his website) you could also post your opinions on BHW but your review should have the Unverified badge.
    This way we could easily see if a member has actually paid for that service and his opinion could be a bit more trustworthy in this situation.