New Google Algorithm Update Aimed At Product Reviews

MisterF

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
26,132
Reaction score
39,344
Website
www.blackhatworld.com
Google launches a third product review algorithm update in search results, which builds off of the product review updates introduced last year.


 

4440

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
386
Reaction score
240
matt diggity says it's nothing different from last update, but I haven't got time to look into this.

I'm also doubting, all updates google made is to make it easier for them to steal, short and conclusive content from websites, to show directly in serps. Just like rich result or feature snippet, so users won't have to click on websites.
 

notNewB

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
947
Reaction score
918
I have been coming across "informational designed" affiliate sites more frequently than traditional affiliate sites filled with only "top best" articles. By "informational designed" I mean that people are publishing "how to", "can you" or other type articles that are intended to provide information, and inside such articles they are including affiliate links to products with contexts like "like this one", or "such as", etc. Such articles contain as much as links (if not more) as regular "top best" listicles would, but they provide the links in a more natural way. By doing so, they don't have to worry about these product review updates.

matt diggity says it's nothing different from last update, but I haven't got time to look into this.

I'm also doubting, all updates google made is to make it easier for them to steal, short and conclusive content from websites, to show directly in serps. Just like rich result or feature snippet, so users won't have to click on websites.
Matt Diggity is a clown
 

paisawaisa

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Mar 23, 2022
Messages
664
Reaction score
153
matt diggity says it's nothing different from last update, but I haven't got time to look into this.

I'm also doubting, all updates google made is to make it easier for them to steal, short and conclusive content from websites, to show directly in serps. Just like rich result or feature snippet, so users won't have to click on websites.
They do this to be able to sell more ads.
 

moonshine7000

Elite Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
2,465
Reaction score
1,768
Google is going to shit,nothing but news sites on the first page.Google will soon fall just like Yahoo.
 

wchu88

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
163
Reaction score
33
I'm new to the party.
I'm building out a new product review site at the moment in the traditional listicle format. It feels like I am screwed.
How would you build it out now?
 

varun barve

Elite Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
2,466
Reaction score
751
Website
socialescalation.com
Google launches a third product review algorithm update in search results, which builds off of the product review updates introduced last year.


I was just searching for some google update thread cause I have seen a small surge across 4 domains on GSC impressions and this usually happens when there is some update or something in google so I think something actually happened on 21st March 2022.

All my domains on GSC have a spike-like this from 21 and 22 March.

cdsvf.png
 

Ozzyzig

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
1,885
Reaction score
1,518
A lot of my reviews have actually seen a jump, which is a nice bonus!

One thing that I've always done (and assumed that others do as well) is that when a product is in the "best of" list, I also have a separate review of it as well. It works extremely well for bringing in more traffic. The individual reviews I post are approx 1k words, so putting 5 products at that length into a best of just doesn't fit.

I know a lot of people will do this anyway, but for my best of lists, I also link out to products on my site that work well with the items on that list. I'm not going to give my niche away, but if you're doing a run down of hammers, you could link to a review of nails and then on the nails review you could link back to the best hammers. It's a nice little bit of interlinking that helps to bring in traffic to your other pages before they're indexed.
 

notNewB

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
947
Reaction score
918
Can you please elaborate on that?
He is the dirties player among SEO influencers we have around. Around half a year ago he made a post on YouTube that said "learn how to grow your site from these 3 case studies" or something like that and he CLEARLY said that one can go through a given link and download it for free on his website.

I opened the link, saw a page with a big ass download button, clicked on it, and guess what? - it just subscribed me to his email list. I returned to the page, opened the Inspect and the link did not have any files to download - he just put his email list link with an anchor text "Download".

Then I wrote a comment on YouTube that said something like "using bh methods to your own subscribers isn't nice, Matt", to which he immediately replied "Do you think everything is free in this world?". Later that day I received an email from him with a valid link to download the file.

I watch Brian Dean, I watch Ahref's Sam Oh, I watch Nathan Gotch, and other influencers on Youtube, none of them tries to sell you something by misleading you or promising some free stuff, if they want to sell - they are open about it. Even freaking Neil Patel doesn't do that.
 

DeadJoe

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
May 18, 2014
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
1,289
I never put 10 items in a best of article, I do way lower but I make the reviews detailed and make it seem like I have tested the product, conversions are great as when i put more products with less detail, if not better. how the product works, what it feels like, what it does and doesn't do, all of this can be gamed. All of the information is out there, you need to look at user/customer reviews on forums and shopping sites. Go as granular as you can.

Use your brain, and work harder than your competition. Then steal pictures from eBay and watermark them to show them what it actually looks like. Come on guys, exercise common sense. Even if you don't cover all of the points, but cover some, you are still ahead of your competition. Bunch of articles ranking that are just reiterating the manufacturer's description.

The most important thing, this is hard to outsource. You need to do it yourself first, and then train a VA to do it for you. You need to put all of this information in a word document with the article structure and give it to your writer, don't expect your writer to do this unless you are paying top dollar for content. Get that through your head.

"Fake it till you make it" concept right? you actually need some intellect to fake it. If you're just going to do what everybody else is doing then lower your expectations.
 

SEO KIT

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
122
Reaction score
32
Website
seoskit.com
The update should have come. I saw many people are using ai content to write review content. It's with some of the product but I don't want a very important content rank by ai.
 

gipulvorka

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
452
Reaction score
353
My site is affected by this update, what do you guys suggest to recover?
 

Ozzyzig

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
1,885
Reaction score
1,518
My site is affected by this update, what do you guys suggest to recover?
1) Check the quality of your reviews compared to the top ranking ones.
2) Does your reviews meet the guidelines suggested by Google?

Depending on the answers, I'd either edit, it completely rewrite the reviews.
Just taking info from an Amazon sales pages isn't enough. You need to put in why it's good and what things you don't like about it. This is really the case of knowing the niche inside out so that you can stand out amongst the crowd.

There's a reason my sites stand out from the other ones. I'm ranking above newspapers and Which in my main niche because I understand the products being reviewed, whereas they're just taking the manufacturer info, adding in some fluff and expecting to rank high. Also, the newspaper and Which are a lot older than my site, with high DR/UR DA and PA. They're still faltering despite this.
 

gymlpjklm

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 12, 2021
Messages
190
Reaction score
91
sorry for newbie ask. for now after update, we need review from other website to increase ours serp??
 
Top