1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Negative Google Reviews

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by JustRipIt, Sep 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JustRipIt

    JustRipIt Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hey Guys,

    Not sure if people have already posted about this, but I couldn't find anything. One of our clients has received some bad Google Reviews. Unfortunately, we have optimized their Google+ page (and thus Google Places), so when you do a branded search for them, the Google Reviews show up right there below their ad copy and link on the SERPs (as well as if you search for them on Google Maps). I don't know how to push down the bad reviews from Google Search since they are associated with the ad copy (if it were like Yelp or something it would be easy). I also don't know how to get rid of them on Google Maps.

    So the million dollar question is, how do I get rid of Google reviews? Do I delete their Google+ page and local listing and start over again? Will that get rid of the reviews? Do I incentivise their clientele to get good reviews to push down the bad ones? Do I have my network flag the reviews so they lose their weight and eventually blip off?

    Would like to get some ideas as I am presenting a proposal on Monday and want to be able to deliver on my proposed solution. Any help would be grand!

    THANKS!
     
  2. mfde69

    mfde69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    19
    Bunch of good reviews will push down the bad ones, as long as they are genuine. Because people are used to ignore good reviews and read the bad ones. You could also remove g+ page, I know that you can delete your personal page thus business one can be deleted as well.

    You can also contact people who left bad reviews and ask them to reconsider their review. Ask them to try your client service again.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. SEO Power

    SEO Power Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    680
    Occupation:
    Self employed
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I would follow the last suggestion by mfde69. Contact the customers who left the negative reviews and ask them to change their reviews. If necessary, incentivise them. If that doesn't work, get more positive reviews.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Pablo Picasso

    Pablo Picasso Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Try contacting the one who left negative reviews and offer him/her discounts, so that he'll be happy and consider your client's service the next time. Creating positive reviews to push those negative reviews is second option left for you. Those who takes their business serious will go with the first option.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  5. JustRipIt

    JustRipIt Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    69
    Thanks guys, appreciate the advice! I will try reaching out to the customers to change their reviews. If that doesn't work, will rely on getting more good ones and flagging the bad ones. But just a quick question, depending on how things go, if we delete the Google+ profile (or business page) and then create a new one will that get rid of the reviews or will they just follow the new profile? Thanks.
     
  6. dufc1983

    dufc1983 Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hi, which country are you from? I can work with some Google reviews and have them removed under legal grounds. I'm from Uk and did this for a few of my clients with success but it varies from country to country. PM the details and I'll have a look bro.
     
  7. hasa1015

    hasa1015 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    432
    Home Page:
    Two years too late buddy.
     
  8. WizGizmo

    WizGizmo Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,833
    Likes Received:
    55,431
    This thread is now closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.