1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to prevent someone from posting negative google/yelp reviews.

Discussion in 'Online Reputation Management (ORM)' started by tylewhit, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. tylewhit

    tylewhit Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I have a former employee who is threatening to leave negative reviews of my business. Just wondering if anyone here would have any advice on how I might go about preventing this individual from posting on my google plus and yelp pages. I have thought about possibly changing the name of my business on my google plus and yelp pages so that he is unable to find the page to post on. I also attempted to find his google plus account in an attempt to block him from posting on my google page but I couldn't find his account. Any advise would be much appreciated. Thx
     
  2. Sombrero

    Sombrero Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Occupation:
    Driver
    Location:
    On The Road
    You can't. You can only report him if he uses profane language.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Lunaaa

    Lunaaa Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    You cant really. There is one option. Do orm.
    So you want to floood it with good reviews.
    So have a little post card that you give to clients before they leave. There's a link to a website. When they go to the link they can choose either that they had a good experience or bad. If they clicked bad then they are redirected to a form that they fill out. If they press good. They get redirected to either yelp or Google business page. Hopfully alot of people go to the link and press good experience and leave a review
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    Yelp and G+ will be tough as you can't suppress them easily. Yelp can be suppressed but if your customers search on Yelp that won't help. G+ reviews are easier to get as Yelp is very aggressive with their filtering.

    Your assumption is that he will only post on those two sites when in reality there are hundreds of sites he can post on that will rank well unfortunately. In situations like this, we usually do "proactive" reputation management in an effort to keep negative listings off the first page.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  5. seeing44

    seeing44 Newbie Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Local SEO Expert and IM mentor
    If your concern is only about the bad review from your old employee.
    Build a probable bad reputation threat doc (the doc should explain the case in detail and should show that the INTENT behind the review is bad.). Whenever you think you got a bad review from that ex employee, you can always report to Google(not sure of yelp.) with doc you prepared above.It should not necessarily be a doc, a mail explaining the case will also do. DO THIS only if you get a bad review from ex employee. It worked for us in the past!
    Changing your business name to prevent a bad review is cracked up thought.If you change your business name,there are lot of factors(SEO wise) that negatively impact your business's online presence.
    Like @BHopkins mentioned,Its always a good practice to go for proactive reputation management to shield/protect your online presence as your business grows.
     
  6. bossofthebosses

    bossofthebosses Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    282
    Did the employee threaten you by mail? do u have docs to prove that? try to collect all the proves, then send him a kinda 'fake' legal notice, threat him that you are telling him under the law of bla bla bla that if he does what he is saying then u will file cases against him under the law of bla bla bla
     
  7. wadamaa

    wadamaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    I agree, I would not recommend changing your business name especially because according to Google's terms & service it's supposed to reflect your actual businesses name. Although 44 is right, I've dealt with something similar (our competition was posting negative reviews to make themselves look better by comparison.) Because of how hateful and obvious the reviews were, they were removed not long after reporting them.