1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you get Yelp reviews to stick?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by mqs1000, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    I posted a few reviews for a local business using different proxy IPs. They all got filtered. What works?

    Using aged accounts?
    Writing reviews for other local businesses in the area?
    Building up your own profile like adding images?
     
  2. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    Just like most accounts: Complete profile \ aged accounts, both as you mentioned.

    Footprint: Unique IP's for each account, don't mix them up to play it safe. Write reviews for other businesses in and out of the same category\niches. You wouldn't want to review all the same sites (especially desired target sites) from all of your different accounts, it would be wise to split those up across the board. Use each account as a different persona basically. Don't give all 5 stars either as it doesn't appear natural or authentic

    Additional sticking: Provide intelligent, educated reviews as they will seem unbiased and more valuable. That ones a no brainer.

    I've heard of Yelp removing legitimate reviews regardless of how they are rated or well written though, but the above would be some basic steps to take to try to prevent that from occurring.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  3. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    Can I buy aged Yelp accounts anywhere?
     
  4. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    If you're in the US it's actually illegal to provide false reviews on products and services for self-promotion. If you're not in the US, or don't care, try the marketplace, you might find some there. Find accounts that have a level of seniority, not just an account that was opened a year or two ago. You won't want one that has dozens of reviews that seem false or shameless.

    Also, your Yelp page can be flagged with a nasty looking warning notice if their algo busts your ass, so proceed cautiously.
     
  5. partymarty4870

    partymarty4870 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    I come from a land downunder
    I've been playing with this for a while, and it's bloody hard and takes a long time.

    As others have said, make sure your profile is complete, write lots of reviews for random companies, age the accounts, basically do absolutely everything you can to make yourself appear as a genuine user.

    Only when you are getting a good percentage of reviews to stick from a account try writing the review for your own page.

    Also place "review us on yelp" links on your site to try to get authentic reviews - lots of people forget this bit.

    I'll just add that I found the process to be not a great ROI and I don't get much traffic from it anyway.
     
  6. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    I just don't understand how you can sell the 7878 system or anything related to reputation management when it's so hard to get reviews to stick. You mainly want reviews on Yelp and Google Places - both sites filter the reviews unless you have an old account and have left a number of reviews about other businesses. So how many of your customers actually pass the requirements? Doesn't sound right
     
  7. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    I would think it would primarily be of use as authority\relations from a branding stand point, not to drive direct traffic.
     
  8. Logician

    Logician BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    581
    Be careful though when yelp starts calling you trying to sell their crap. They have been known to filter legit reviews from aged accounts.. and then they will tell you "the yelp algorithm is a mystery" when you ask wtf is going on.
     
  9. affarmy

    affarmy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    94
    Occupation:
    Full Time SEO
    Location:
    Orange county, Calif
    Home Page:
    Yelp is junk. Wouldn't waste my time. For one account alone I have 12 reviews (legit- from actual customers) filtered.

    Don't waste your time.
     
  10. Jonny Quick

    Jonny Quick BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    340

    That's the problem with BHW, is that you have so many idiots posting idiocy that it's hard to pay attention to what's worthwhile. How stupid. "Yelp is junk because I can't get legit reviews to stick."

    And yet, some people make money selling reviews, and they guarantee they stick. So, obviously they know something Mr. Idiot here does not, and because he's stupid, Yelp is somehow the problem?

    And folks, THAT is your competition.

    I read more about legit reviews not sticking than the professional reviews not sticking. Ergo, the Yelp filter is set to "MAX", and still the pro's can get them to stick. $25 to $40 per review, and yes there are some services.

    I won't pay for them. I've got good results by networking with other local businesses (even outside the location) and trading reviews. "I'll do yours if you do mine." I've never had one fail to stick. If you are serious about getting Yelp reviews to stick;

    1) Ignore the idiots, and every single thing they ever say about anything. A stopped clock is right twice a day, but it's wrong 718 times a day, and what kind of dumbass sits around watching a clock that is wrong 718 out of 720 times a day, just so they can be a witness to the two times a day it's NOT wrong. And, if anyone WERE to do such a thing, who is the biggest idiot? I say this over & over again. Stupidity is contagious. Stay away from it, or you will get infected with it.

    2) Develop a Skype-based network of local business owners and/or Local SEO's, and develop relationships with them. In addition to trading technical, relevant and profitable information with them, you can also trade Yelp reviews, Google reviews, G+'s and anything else you might want.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
  11. localseo510

    localseo510 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think its a combination of all three!
     
  12. Jonny Quick

    Jonny Quick BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    340
    I nominate this post to be included in the BHW Golden Posts Hall of Fame.

    I can't believe this didn't get hardly any thanks or rep+. This (#1) is the best advice an intelligent person can be given.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  13. Tangy

    Tangy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Did you just nominate your own post? Sure, great tidbit and all but nominating yourself for recognition based on a single reply, come on...

    Good luck?
     
  14. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    The reason you didn't get repp'd is cause you just shared the same rehashed nonsense that has been reiterated on this forum for ages.

    "Develop your own skype network" "some stupid random shit about a clock" LOL.

    I just love how you set it up like you were about to say something important, ie. "If you're serious about getting Yelp reviews to stick;"
    then you start talking about clocks, idiots, and skype.

    HERE IS MY ADVICE.

    And please don't rep me unless you actually learned anything.

    1) New yelp BUSINESS accounts are put on a "probationary" period.
    2) This means, the accounts RECEIVING reviews need to be aged, NOT the accounts delivering reviews.
    3) I have left reviews from plenty of new accounts, and gotten them to stick (this was prior to finding glowing reviews who is now gone).
    4) The proper way to initiate a new business account, leave 1 thoughtful review. Make sure that review has at least 1 mild criticism of the service.
    Then WAIT 3 weeks. Do NOT post any more reviews on that new business account.
    5) You will notice the review will pop up weeks down the road, if it does, you did it right.
    6) When adding more reviews to a young business listing, I don't recommend more than 2 / month for the first couple months.
    7) NEVER, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES REPOST a different review, from the SAME account, if you don't see it show up immediately.
    8) This is rehashed nonsense. But leave a review on another businesses listing first, wait and see if it gets filtered or shows up.
    9) If that review doesn't get filtered, leave it on the proper account.
    10) Just have to say. Glowing reviews got ALL of my Yelp reviews to stick over the 1 year that I used them. And their prices were ridiculously cheap.

    In conclusion, Yelp is not the fucking CIA.
    I always started slow on my new business accounts, then would gradually increase reviews overtime. It always worked.
    I don't think there is any crazy technical shit you need to be doing aside from good local proxies, and uploading a picture.
    I've seen reviews stick from brand new accounts plenty of times.

    So if you ask me, be patient first, persistent later.

    As far as a "skype group", I've always liked that idea. Its just not a new idea.
    And up until now, I haven't seen 1 well organized skype group.

    I think the better solution would be setting up a "review exchange website".
    Like a vagex for local reviews. You leave a review, you get a credit to receive a review.

    That can be used for ALL local directory sites. Yellow pages, insider pages, kudzu, yahoo, etc etc.

    Because IN THE END. I've ALWAYS gotten more traffic by drip feeding reviews to all those sites, not Yelp.

    Its a better strategy overall. Less filter problems. And when you hitup insider pages, yahoo, kudzu, yellow pages,
    etc etc with reviews, you'll be amazed at how fast your Google Listing ranks.

    Thats why these days I still do Yelp, but I do it for mere reputation, not traffic. I get 4-5 reviews, and after that
    point I bastardize those accounts and focus on my G listing.

    Right now, I have a Yelp listing #1 for a keyword, and a G listing #1 for a very similar search keyword, my google
    listing gets about 10xs the amount of calls. Just some food for thought.


    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  15. swordking

    swordking BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I have 4 accounts in yelp I am operating them with 4 different Ips. I have taken thos Ips for next 3 month and using them continuously from the same ips. Now I am randomly posting comments on different business. It's not getting filtered. But the problem is when i am posting for any company that hired me reviews are getting filtered.

    I am still searching a way to fix them :/
     
  16. mego818

    mego818 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    280
    Occupation:
    SEO Gigs / Offline Consultant
    Location:
    Cali
    Does the company that hired you have really bad reviews already?....because the same thing is happening to me. I think companies rated 1 star or 2 star on average have a stricter filter.


    Now THIS is a post that deserves rep and im sending some.
     
  17. TropicalSun

    TropicalSun Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    34
    Occupation:
    Perpetual innovator
    you cannot be serious, your post wasnt worth the effort to type out. let alone a follow up post like this.

    produce value for the community and you will get repped and thanked. what you told people to do was basic common sense.
     
  18. Parrotfish2005

    Parrotfish2005 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    23
    I don't know if worth Awards, but some useful information here
     
  19. higoga

    higoga Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    SpiderBlast :Great post.
     
  20. DangerousDEN

    DangerousDEN Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    18
    Looking for yelp reviews in NYC. Can buy / trade.