1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I find user-deleted photos?

Discussion in 'Tumblr' started by rowebil, Jul 17, 2017.

  1. rowebil

    rowebil Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    A tumblr user would upload cool photos mostly everyday.
    Some people would like and reblog them.
    Mostly ALL personal photos would be reblogged.

    Well she deleted her Tumblr.

    Her ORIGINAL photos are 'gone', but when people reblog them, they get re-uploaded to a different server so if the original content owner deletes their account then the photo will still be there on the reblogged account.

    Typing in her username brings up some photos, but not all.
    I'm not typing it in correctly.

    URLs when reblogged look like this
    user2.tumblr/post/35345/user1-whatever-she-posted-as-text-for-the-picture

    User 2 reblogged it from user 1 - well user 1 deleted their account.

    So how can I view their old photos?
    Is there a scraper that can go on these accounts and scrap through every post and find 'reblogged from user1'?
     
  2. Botoshima

    Botoshima Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    50
    If the blog is deleted then you have no access to it so you can't see any photo.
    Finding the reblogged ones it's just a matter of pure luck and you will never find them all. Even the Tumblr staff can't find all reblogs of a specific one photo reblogged by many others.
    Searching for old photos that belonged to deleted blogs and posting them as your own will get you some copyright claims and your blog will be deleted too (and your new blogs according to Tumblr TOS).
     
  3. bartosimpsonio

    bartosimpsonio Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    12,487
    Likes Received:
    11,187
    Occupation:
    CHEAP
    Location:
    DATASETS
    Home Page:
    Tried archive.org?
     
  4. LazzyJazzy

    LazzyJazzy Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Queue+ seems to work fine with deleted posts, but that only works if you queue all their posts before the blog is deleted.

    You see an error message about the post being deleted or the URL changed, and it just shows the error message so you can't preview the post, but when it comes time the queue to post it everything shows up fine.

    It used to be that you could copy entire blogs, queueing 3,000+ Posts at a time, but now you get error messages queueing more than 300 at a time. You could still "preserve" all of a really big blog's content, it'd just take a little longer.