1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I successfully fake Google+ Local reviews?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Fathom, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Fathom

    Fathom Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    First of all I'm not sure if this is the right section or not as there doesn't seem to be a local search optimisation section on this forum.

    I don't have any experience in ranking sites on Google places, but 2 days ago I decided to leave a fake review on my Google+ local page.

    As I can see from David Mihms local search ranking factors, gaining reviews is quiet important if you want to rank well.

    I knew I needed to be smart about writing a fake review and was not sure if simply using HMA pro would be enough. So I logged into a windows VPS that I own that is also hosted in the UK and signed up for a Google+ account, no way would Google be able to see that I would be making a fake review. All they would see is that a legitimate IP address in the UK is leaving a review for a UK business.

    After I had verified my account and wrote a nice review I published it on my businesses Google+ local page. Simple right? My business had gone from page 9 to page 6 in Google local search from that 1 review.

    2 Hours later I re-checked my rank, but the review had been removed and my position was back to page 9 again.

    I'm not sure how Google has automatically detected this but I am assuming it might have something to do with the review coming from a brand new gmail account or that the review did not come from an IP that was based within the 25 miles radius that my business services. Or maybe it was removed for another reason that I can't think of.

    I've tried doing some research on this and found nothing.

    I'm sure a lot of people are successfully doing Google+ local reviews, care to share how you are doing it?
     
  2. hbeezy

    hbeezy Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    NY
    Well... one way you could get reviews legally is to go on microworkers.com and set up a campaign. It's low cost, and it shouldn't break the bank.
     
  3. shaun1981

    shaun1981 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you created the fake G+ accounts did you leave any reviews on other pages or partake in any activity on G+ at all? I think a lot of reviews are getting pulled, genuine or not, if users sign up for a G+ account and leave one review and do nothing else.
     
  4. followtheleader

    followtheleader Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    You need to write reviews for other companies as well. Google is moving more towards Yelp's guidelines where they want established reviewers. This helps them in reducing spam too.
     
  5. Fathom

    Fathom Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    In that case if anyones from south England, has an established google+ account and wants to make a quick $10, let me know. I'll even write the review myself.

    When I see a competitor writing multiple reviews for several companies in the same niche then I know I have to fight back.
     
  6. zx123

    zx123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    875
    Home Page:
    I wrote some reviews in the past for some clients, you not need a review from a local IP. I am italian and every time I leave a review from my normal italian IP and every time worked fine. If you need, I can put the review and after you can pay me :D
     
  7. crazyz

    crazyz Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    SEO, bio diesel trader, sales.
    Location:
    London
    I'm In London and I'll do the review for fun, but you can keep your 10 dollars, thomas cook will give you 5 quid for it if your lucky, pm me the review and where you want it
     
  8. drinkingoutofcups

    drinkingoutofcups Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I' getting ready to start doing this. Thanks for the heads up