1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Help] How to write Amazon product reviews? Tips/tricks/strategies?

Discussion in 'Associated Content & Writing Articles' started by SilverKnight, Jul 8, 2016.

  1. SilverKnight

    SilverKnight Power Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    58
    Hey guys,

    I'm trying out meathead's method and I am now at the stage of content writing for the website. I can write decent English but I don't know the first thing about writing product reviews. This is where I need help. I need to know the format, tips, tricks, strategies etc. Anything that will help and guide a person who is going to write the first product review of his life without even trying the product or looking at it in person.

    Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Jason Starkey

    Jason Starkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    USA
    I will help you. PM me if you are interested, because I am busy doing Amazon reviews right now.
     
  3. SilverKnight

    SilverKnight Power Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    58
    I did but no reply from you for several days now.
     
  4. Jason Starkey

    Jason Starkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    USA
    Check again. I literally responded 28 minutes after your pm. I just checked my convos to make sure. I can screenshot it and/or send again if you dont see it. Let me know asap! I got your back brother!
     
  5. 322n3

    322n3 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Arepas, Venezuela
    Are you guys getting paid to write Amazon reviews?
     
  6. Jason Starkey

    Jason Starkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    USA
    No
     
  7. baidovich

    baidovich Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    118
    Gender:
    Male
    Would be grateful if u can share some infos with us , because I have an amazon website too.
     
  8. Jason Starkey

    Jason Starkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    USA
    These are messages I sent to others to help. I copied and pasted them here to help others. This is only theoretical and very basic, so I am not advising anyone to go against amazon or other sites terms and conditions :)


    Hi,

    So I cant tell you all in one day, but when you dont have the product you need to do some research. search "(products name) review" and see if other reviews exist. Look at the amazon or other markets and see reviews. especially pay atention to the most helful reviews with highest ratings. Look at the companies website product description. search for pictures of the product, and the products box with listed specs. Things like this. If you have a good memory, all those little bits and pieces add up in your head, and then just summarize it all. There should be a flow to the review and it should have emotion. always include some exclamation points, and talk about size, durability, comfort, your personal experiences, specs, value, multipurposes, buzz words, anything that you would want to know. look at other competitor products to see what others like or dont like to compare and make up story about how this one is better than another brand (dont say brand) because of this or that. add humor when appropriate. There is much more that i keep forgetting while writing because it is 4am. Hope this helps a little and feel free to ask many mre questions if you want.

    Hi! Yes if you do not have a physical product, then read reviews, website, specs, etc and mix up. Make a flow (ex. intro, specs, personal experience with product, outro).

    Imagine that you do have the product, and you will think of ways that you or your friends would use it if you had it. For example, I am always running out of battery, so this helps me everyday!

    And do your spelling and grammer checks! These are quick messages and so I do not do that in a forum!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. MisterF

    MisterF Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,159
    Likes Received:
    5,633
    Occupation:
    Conference Organiser, Business Advisor.,
    Location:
    JADIP
    Home Page:
    Doing it for fun ? :)

    @OP
    Have a look at some of the Amazon site creators sample sites for ideas.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Jason Starkey

    Jason Starkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    USA
    Hehe! :D It has its rewards from time to time
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. yriako

    yriako Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Writer
    Location:
    Mexico
    The points I focus when I write product reviews (for Amazon, eBay or Aliexpress) are:
    1. Read the seller review. These are so boring but give relevant information.
    2. List the focus point of the product (the principal problem it solves, specific uses, color options, etc).
    3. Create an atractive review. Talk about the stars it has in the market place and the focus points but adding your personal style.
    It is common to read boring reviews so play with this to gain points with your readers. For example, if you are reviewing a pet product talk to the owner with a friendly tone: "How many times you came back to home and find Fido playing with the sofa pillows? Well, this X product will be the help you need because..." and you continue with the description.
    I hope this helps you. This is the steps I take and for now, they work very well.
     
  12. Hawkster

    Hawkster Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Listen to everyone - Follow no-one
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. ContentWriter

    ContentWriter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    382
    Occupation:
    Content Writer
    Home Page:
    I do. That is because I operate a content writing firm. I got clients who order product reviews. I am not referring to writing reviews by using Amazon accounts, by the way.
     
  14. farfan

    farfan Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    The hardest part is" reviewing " a product you don't really have in your hands.

    .
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. kabe

    kabe Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketing Professional
    Location:
    Marketplace
    Home Page:
    These are three points that you need to give to your readers in your review. The first one is the pros. What are the benefits of the product? List the benefits of the product according to your observation. Also, you should list the disadvantages about the product according to your observation. Keep the benefits bigger than the disadvantages since you want people to purchase the product through your link.
     
  16. JamesBlake

    JamesBlake Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    75
    I am contemplating writing a full post on crafting content for different focuses but to be brief:

    When writing any article, having your audience in mind is essential. It doesn't take much effort to find out who is using the product that you are recommending, especially if the product has literally any reviews online. That isn't the value. Your ability to capture their attention in a way that is relevant and guide them to the product hinges on your ability to understand them. Knowing the niche, even if only after spending an hour researching it, will make every review you write for products within it easier and more connective. Keep the relevant information aka :

    1. How the product solves their problem
    2. Why it's better than any other alternative
    3. Why your opinion matters
    4. What it's main benefits are
    5. How they can get their hands on it.

    That's the general gist anyway. If anyone wants me to help them, feel free to PM me, or if a full thread is needed, I can write a brief thousand word piece addressing it and post it in this section of the forum.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. yaew

    yaew BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks
     
  18. ababab

    ababab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    18
    Occupation:
    Desiner , writer and programmer
    Location:
    BHW ZONE #3
    Home Page:
    Thankx( kabe & JamesBlake & yriako & Jason Starkey ) for sharing very informative tips about product review.