1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting Reviews to stick on Google Reviews

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by SuperNoobInc, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. SuperNoobInc

    SuperNoobInc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    32
    I am wondering if you guys ever write your own reviews for your clients on Google Reviews?

    I have done it a few times before and I realize that some got removed. Can someone share their experience on this? Thanks
     
  2. SuperNoobInc

    SuperNoobInc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    32
    From what I recalled; I did the following;

    - New IP each account (DSL - tho they are IP from same area - C-class IP)
    - New account (instant made ones - fully setup with g+ as well) <-- this might be the catch
    - Cleared full cookies/cache/flash cookies
    - Same user agent/browser/screen resolution each time

    I am surprised there is no special bots for Google Reviews - I am thinking that there must be a catch in regards to this.?
     
  3. noahs

    noahs Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    An easier method is just head out to a couple of your local internet cafes - do the reviews from there.
     
  4. SuperNoobInc

    SuperNoobInc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    32
    fingerprint? you meant footprint? :)
    yeah, but thanks for the advice, i believe VM will help the process.
    Just tried it and it works. I am not sure if it will work as effectively when I scale up.

    Not quite sure what you are saying about adsense? They arent really related?
     
  5. Derek Foreal

    Derek Foreal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    772
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    Try it on your iPhone/Smartphone

    I just tested my iPhone, I shut my wifi off and checked my IP a few times and noticed I got a fresh new IP everytime, I did have to clear "History" and "Cookies & Data" within settings for safari otherwise it would give me the same one back.
     
  6. HazeBlazer

    HazeBlazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    19
    Can it be that simple? Anyone willing to verify this?
     
  7. honzarox

    honzarox Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    52
    As "lame" as it sounds, I use my cell phone and different wifi hotspots in the city, never had a problem. I dont post fake reviews, only reviews that were sent to our email instead of being posted. Also, I post a few reviews/account on different google places.
     
  8. skgoa

    skgoa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    10
    I am going to make a couple of accounts and check by posting legitimate reviews of businesses I know. If the reviews stick, we should know for certain that it's different factors that lead to reviews being removed.
     
  9. limey

    limey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    88
    I only do 100% white hat legit reviews (not by me). I know its BHW, but just saying what I do.
     
  10. HighRiskJohn

    HighRiskJohn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    101
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Has anyone tried using local business listings robot? It was referred to my by someone who does a lot of Google Places setup and review management. I haven't signed up for it yet, I was hoping to get a review from someone else before I jump in. You can google it and it should come up as the 1st listing.
     
  11. chambras1281

    chambras1281 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    25
    Home Page:
    I am using local business robot but currently is not posting on google, but for the other sites is working fine.
     
  12. seoactive

    seoactive Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    22
    It seems like local business robot doesnt post in yelp nor google+... (the 2 biggest review sites in general). In this case, is it even worth the price?
     
  13. geezer466

    geezer466 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    62
  14. Alinea

    Alinea Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    546
    Are the IP addresses from the same region as the business? If so, it's probably the accounts. They need to look like an account someone actually uses. "Instant made ones" is a red flag, it just isn't realistic for a bunch of newly created accounts to post reviews to a certain business. You said that G+ is setup already, so what you can do is share some things, use other Google services like YouTube, etc. Things a real user would do.

    Also, don't post too many reviews. Post one or two on Google one day, then post on other review sites or directories, and alternate.

    Keep in mind it's against Google's policy, and really, the best way is to get the reviews from the customers anyways. You're also not allowed to offer rewards for getting reviews, but what you can do is add chance. Say they can enter to win something if they add a review.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  15. ronmojohny

    ronmojohny Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    59
    Why not pay people on craigslist to do it for you? They will have a local IP and an aged email account.
     
  16. Poppa Rotzee

    Poppa Rotzee Power Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    162
    Occupation:
    Search Engine Optimizer and BJJ Assistant instruct
    Here is a resource of info for you regarding Online Reputation and getting reviews to stick.


    Check out www.TalkORM.com for info on Online Reputation Management. This is will teach you strategies for getting reviews to stick, tools to use etc.
    Here is an example of a google hangout session on strategies.

    Don't commit Reputation Suicide
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ijZLRWzdDU

    How to get reviews to stick
    http://www.talkorm.com/talkorm-what-are-some-tips-for-getting-my-reviews-to-stick/709

    How to sell ORM service
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3vzsF7f5iY

    www.Glowingreviews.co is an automative site that can get reviews to stick at Google.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vc7OO899UoM
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. susanjabs

    susanjabs Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    12
    We are serving android ratings but none of them got removed so far. I was posting before reviews but i realized that android catching them with no reason as they think getting reviews more with less number of downloads and within limited time then they will block that review.
     
  18. apexbeat

    apexbeat Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    40


    Iphone has almost done away with browser fingerprinting, which is the proper term :p.

    Although turning on and off your wifi will not give you a new IP address, toggling on and off airplane mode will usually give you a new IP (keep it off for a few mins).
    This works better with smaller ISPs because Google knows Metro-PCS and similar companies dont have a lot of IPs, so its very hard for google to flag the IP as spam without wrecking others using it.

    Clearing cookies and cashe is also important.

    Firefox user agent addon is great. sometimes its important to save your cookies from the last session if you ever want to log back on the account and leave another review. Google sees saved cookies and validates its easier then a private browser and the likelihood you will get flagged is lower.