Getting a review copy from the vendor

Discussion in 'Clickbank' started by Leart, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. Leart

    Leart Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi I wanted to ask something I don't quite understand

    I have read in google and other sources that you can ask for a review copy from the vendor of a product (I understand vendors might not always give it to you).

    Now I want to know:
    1) what is this "review copy", I mean what does it contain ; does it have like a screenshot of what the product is about or something like that?

    2) Does having a review copy increase your sales for the better?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Shyam007

    Shyam007 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    No. Its the actual product which the vendor provides you for free so that you can do a review of the product on your website/blog or youtube and get sales.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  3. Leart

    Leart Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Great. Does that mean when I do a review about the product on my blog, if I have the actual product copy to show my potential buyers, they're more likely to buy it?
     
  4. rolas_c

    rolas_c Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CB
    Simply describe what they will find inside the product and if it will help them to solve their problems.

    You can put a few screenshots of the actual product as a proof.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  5. Leart

    Leart Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks a lot :)
     
  6. zebrahat

    zebrahat Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    2,997
    Occupation:
    Clickbank Platinum Vendor
    Location:
    Mexico
    Don't be cheap. Just buy the product for yourself.
     
  7. Eagle 95

    Eagle 95 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Europe
    You can always ask for a product but keep in mind, you'll have to prove why it would be beneficial for them to give you. Promising sales isn't going to cut it as everyone can make a promise and run away with free stuff.

    This is the best strategy.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Leart

    Leart Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm not being cheap. A true marketer tries every possible way of earning, right? I just want to explore every part of
    affiliate marketing, and asking for a review copy is no different. It's even a way of getting the product without spending money.

    Thanks, and yeah I realize that telling the vendor "Can I have the product, I'll get you sales..." isn't going to cut it, because there are many who abuse this.
     
  9. Rastis

    Rastis Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just buy it and avail of the guarenteed refund from clickbank
     
  10. Nerva

    Nerva Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Writer
    Location:
    Around The Corner
    Home Page:
  11. krishnaverma

    krishnaverma Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    2,469
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IM
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    1) Actual product.
    2) No. What you do with review copy is what that matters.
     
  12. Siddhie55

    Siddhie55 Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    It's like cake shops they make you eat a piece to make you aware how tasty it is, and then if you like buy it.
     
  13. MediaGrizzly

    MediaGrizzly Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    18
    What happens if you request a product for a review and it ends up beings total crap? Do you still post your unflattering review?
     
  14. Shyam007

    Shyam007 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Where is that cake shop?
     
  15. MediaGrizzly

    MediaGrizzly Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    18
    Farmer's markets are the best for this stuff.
     
  16. Sophie

    Sophie Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
       девушка
    Most marketers will request a review copy to fully understand what the product really is. This helps them to craft a good email swipe, which they will broadcast it to their leads.

    For example, you wouldn't just write an article or an email swipe that goes: "Want to lose weight? Try the xxxxx program". That just stinks of spam and your conversion rate will be terrible.

    A more effective way would be, "If you truly want to learn more about the secrets to losing weight effectively, just check out the xxxxx program by xxxxx. In this program she touches on the many factors that are indirectly causing you to keep that weight on. For instance, do you know the toxins in the air and environment around us can affect our metabolism? Yes! That's just one mindblowing fact that the program unveils. And in chapter x of the program, she unveils the surprising rules of weight loss. You MUST know these 3 weight loss rules if you want to lose weight effectively." etc etc

    Now you may wonder, "Wait a minute, why can't they just get the email swipes or articles from the affiliate resources page then?" Well, it is overused. Let alone most newbie affiliates will just copy-and-paste those provided articles directly into their website - and we know Google doesn't like duplicate content. And even when a vendor provides a 'sample preview' or a small copy of the product, there's a chance every affiliate/marketer will be writing the same thing about the same provided content. And wouldn't it kill the conversion rate if a subscriber receives the same email swipe or happens to read the same article on multiple websites? That just kills credibility, and it makes the readers want to click "Back" or the "Unsubscribe" button too.

    Screenshots and what not aren't really necessary. What matters is the delivery.

    Now the question is whether is it worth asking vendors for a review copy. Unfortunately, most of the time, they wouldn't grant it to you unless you have large list of subscribers or a very good marketing strategy. If you're going to write review pages or by PPC advertising you can pretty much forget about it as they will just ignore you. Some vendors even set criterias like "Make 3-5 sales first and I will send you a review copy". And some will require several follow-ups - they want to know what's your strategy, and they will want to review it first.

    You may wonder, "Why are these vendors being so difficult?" Well, you can't blame them as they fear it could be a fraud request (a customer pretending to get a free copy) or a fellow vendor is trying to grab a copy so they can plagiarize and make a duplicate product. Also, most vendors have the mentality to not entertain small-time affiliates... they only want to entertain platinum affiliates or superaffiliates, an affiliate with a large subscriber list, or fellow vendors to do cross-promotion.

    Most of the time the only vendors that will grant a review copy easily to any affiliates are those small-time vendors with low gravity scores. They are desperately trying to get people to promote their product or to just appease new affiliates, so they will grant review copies freely. Regardless, I wouldn't advise it because these vendors will be messaging you incessantly asking you "how's the promotion going?".

    You can always visit their landing page through your affiliate link, then try to close the browser so you will see their exit-splash page that gives some discount. Then buy from that discount while getting the affiliate sale. Use a fake email address though as you don't want your personal inbox to be spammed to death.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018