1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fight against fake reviews

Discussion in 'White Hat SEO' started by valesence, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. valesence

    valesence Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Great site, newly registered but I have been reading lots of posts on here for a while. Thank you to everyone that has posted.

    Anyways, I have a client that has a service business in a small market 100k people. He has a good site with quality information and fair number of backlinks. He has recently been dropped in ranking from 1 to 2 due to another company. I looked at everything the other site is doing and it boils down to one thing. He goes all over the internet and writes fake reviews. Places like yp., superpages, yahoo, google local, and every directory you could think of. He has over 50 reviews on yahoo and the closest company has 10. On yelp he has 3 reviews showing and 13 filtered. Even reading the reviews it is easy to tell that he has a firm in another country writing them for him because the grammar isn't correct or even understandable sometimes.

    Google is giving high weight to this company because search volume for the specific keywords is low and he has citations from these directories.

    What would you do? My client doesn't want to play the same game because he runs an ethical business and doesn't want a black eye like that floating around the internet.
     
  2. math182

    math182 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    92
    Occupation:
    Chemical Process Operator
    Location:
    Canada
    What kind of ethical business wants to leave money on the table?
     
  3. thebanker

    thebanker Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    You forgot your /S tag.
     
  4. the_demon

    the_demon Jr. Executive VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Occupation:
    Search Engine Marketing
    Location:
    The Internet
    Unless you can find proof it's him you can't do anything realistically except flag his fake reviews and dispute them w/ the respective sites.

    You may wish to launch a pro-active and retro-active reputation management and defense campaign respectively.

    If you can find proof it's him, hire a lawyer and file a Cease & Desist letter and then proceed to legal action.
     
  5. valesence

    valesence Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am a little confused on the last post. The fake reviews are not negative ones against my client they are fake positive ones for the competition. I think it would be very hard to file a lawsuit against that.

    I will attempt to flag his reviews on the various sites though. Thank you for the advice, I really do appreciate it.
     
  6. the-kashish

    the-kashish Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    79
    Occupation:
    Pimp
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Home Page:
    I got this same exact problem, and it's actually a huge problem just like in your case.
    I'm ranking #2 while the d*ckhead ranks #1.

    I'm getting customers all the time that went to my competitor first because of the numerous fake positive reviews, but they turn to me when they realize the scam.
    I didn't also want to go the unethical way and I've begged returning happy clients to, please leave a positive review for me if you're happy with my services.
    Would help me and others a lot.

    I've even tried to offer satisfied customers discounts for their second order if they leave a positive review, but in my case, it hasn't helped.
    So my suggestion to you is to maybe give it a shot and if it's not working do your own fake positive reviews.
     
  7. Kosher1

    Kosher1 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    387
    If ya can't beat 'em, join 'em!