1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fake reviews

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by martin82scott, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. martin82scott

    martin82scott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi all, thanks for looking and any advise is much appreciated!

    massive thanks in advance!

    Basically a website that allows independant reviews by clients has very strict methods of catching you out. The reviews sit on the review website on your profile page and a widget is then placed on your own site in order to display them if you like.

    1)I need a method of quickly but manually generating email addresses which need to be accessed later to verify the reviews written.

    2)I need a method of visiting the review website via unique IP every time and it HAS to be UK only!

    I need to learn about proxies, although i do have a software that scrapes them and delivers within seconds but im unsure of what country they are and if they are private or whatever. Any help on this would be massively appreciated too.

    Question - can a geo location be easily tracked/decided by a proxy?
    If i got a review via a proxy and the 'reviewer' said he/she recieved a service in scotland, would this look suss depending on the proxy?
    My services are to a very refined area/town etc but keywords play a massive role in each review and therefor using the KW's town and service really are a must.

    big thanks all.

    Oh - does/can anyone provide these services?
    It would be literally a review every day or so and has to be uk based IP and an email address needs to be used in order to confirm your review.

    thanks guys
     
  2. martin82scott

    martin82scott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Im still no further with this and would massively appreciate any advice as it might even lead to some $ for people on here

    thanks, martin
     
  3. darrensss

    darrensss Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    79
    which review site is it for? pm me.
     
  4. HDShock

    HDShock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    18
    Alrighty... To address some of your issues.. It really depends on the sites in some respect.

    I guess we will start with the email issue. I don't like doing this for reviews, but technically if you aren't doing a huge amount of them, and they aren't being displayed, you can use a no-reply catchall on a domain email address. This is ONLY if you do not have the time or the software to create a ton of email addresses and need reviews in a pinch. My other more viable suggestion (if this still works) would be to create msn (hotmail) email addresses and forward them to a catch-all domain email. (or just use them as is without forwarding them). I find MSN is a lot less strict with their banning for spam and unlike Yahoo, you don't have to pay to be able to forward your emails out.

    The proxies... The easiest way to do this manually would be to get a program like "Elite proxy switcher" that tests the security lvl and speed of proxies with the free version, and location data with the paid version. I always suggest using paid private proxies for reviews though.. As they are not shared with other people who are potentially doing the same thing or just plain spamming. Also keep in mind a good chunk of scraped proxies do not really block your IP address. Some also show up looking like your using a proxy... Which could raise a red flag right there if the site owner is smart enough.

    As far as geo location decided by a proxy.. You would be surprised at how easy it is to track geo location with a lot of these traffic programs/plugins. Again, it varies how strict each individual site is, what kind of software/plugins they are using, and the security lvl of the proxy.. I know on my network of sites for example, not only do I see my entire network of sites traffic real time, but it's also displayed via a Google Earth style map as to a close location these people are. (like the general town or county) IP address locations can also be looked up via random sites on the web kinda like a phone directory.

    Anyways, i hope this answered some of your questions or at least gave you a better idea of what you are looking at. :cool:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. martin82scott

    martin82scott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    WOW! thanks for the masses of helpful info here mate! sorry i have not responded sooner but for some reason i had issues login in yesterday and i couldnt even get on the site at one point!! must of had some major traffic!!

    Just to confirm, the name of the reveiwer will be listed and you can click it to follow the link to their profile. A mini proflie is auto setup for you when you leave a review which means it makes it easier for you to leave reviews for others in the future but email address isnt displayed public. Thanks or this major detail. I may by some unique looking email accounts for this as they always come in handy and it sounds a bit of a farce attempting to get it right using auto captcha email addresses incase im caught out by the slightest hickup. I will definately refer to this info in the future mate!

    massive thanks again. this has cleared a lot of stuff up for me and im going to try this! Thanks for mentioning elite ps too - i would of never of found something like this very easily.

    Great details again here and i can definately learn from this. Would you be so kind as to explain how i can a google earth style map into my traffic stats etc on wordpress please? this would benefit me massively as i provide services at peoples addresses and i can guage where the enquiries come from too then as some enquiries look like others doing their homework on your prices as they then dont respond! I could really do with looking at my stats in this way in order to decide how mucch info to give out upfront.

    Will elite PS allow me to make an "enquiry" or do a task via proxie and check its geo location details etc that the other owners website would see? I take it i will need paid for this to ensure i do not risk a proxie failing/giving out too much detail?
    Is this method reliable and safe enought to do what i want to do then?

    Finally, where is a reliable source for proxies anyone please?

    Massive thanks so far!

    Martin
     
  6. HDShock

    HDShock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    18

    With the location checking of the proxies, if you absolutely don't want to pay for the full version of the software: What you can do is enable the proxy through the program and do an internet speed test from a testing website which will show the proxies rough location. I don't think I can post links yet but try speedtest(dot)net

    With the proxy security, I personally only feel safe using private proxies. I'm sure there are a lot of good free proxies out there.. But again, even if it shows as lvl 1 secure on "Elite Proxy Switcher" keep in mind, other people will be sharing the proxy also. (and who knows what they could be doing) As websites and plugins get more advanced and start "clouding databases" with each other, IPs will get flagged faster. Just my 2c though.

    As far as me monitoring my networked sites and having direct point/click control of my real time traffic... I hate to sound this way, but that is something I'm not willing to share at the moment. I'm glad you found my other advice helpful though. ;)
     
  7. geezer466

    geezer466 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    62
    If you are talking about Tripadvisor then you also need to read up on a deep level cookie (the name escapes me but I will try and find it) that they place on your machine. There is a firefox add on that will null the cookie but again the name escapes me.

    I tried last year to do the same thing but found the workrounds to achieve it not worth the return.

    My 2 cents worth are the Tripadvisor business model of reviews is out of date, there are many sites now that offer guests online booking and the opportunity to leave a 'real' review after their stay. (the request is by email after the stay has occurred) This is very fast becoming the industry standard and is already leading to the demise of 3rd party accreditation organisations such as Visit Britain in the UK.

    Of course I would be well wide of the mark here and you are not referring to this site al all in which case ignore most of what I have said above. :eek:
     
  8. martin82scott

    martin82scott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, thanks for the info again buddy - sorry for the delayed response but i have been on hols - hard life!

    Ill take into account all of the info you have given and will try the elite proxy software and speedtest method etc.

    If you do change your mind and decide that telling your secret to instant direct point/click control is worth a little fee then do pm me

    all the best mate
     
  9. martin82scott

    martin82scott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks for your info and i have always forgot about cookies - another issue arghhh! although not too much of a worry as im looking for individuals in the uk to swap/post a single review only. i can confirm its not trip advisor but do not want to post it as their admin are always hunting like wolf's
    would a server solution of some kind cure my issues or is this silly?

    I would like to achieve a unique ip to post a single review on each time round with a seperate email and name given each time too?
    sorry for newbie questions but there must be a simple answer to my needs surely - even if it costs a little.

    thanks all again
     
  10. gemini79

    gemini79 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys!
    I`m interested in GeoSurf alternatives, geo proxy services.
    I`d appreciate any help.
    Regards: Robert. (robmaggg at gmail dot com)
     
  11. Alexanderine

    Alexanderine Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    United kingdom
    Also you should know:-

    1- if you are using a vpn pr proxy say in uk or usa then you have to change the computer or the device local time to match wih the server.
    2- keep tracks of you fake accounts and email adresses because you are gonna need them later
    3- the trip advisor somehow knows when you are using the same pc or laptop to post for the same establishment , my advice is you change the pc or get a program that can change the pc identity for you ( mc-address, computer name, computer description etc )
    4- some of the vpn solutions are black listed although they are very famous. So you have to try and review random places first then review the place you want.

    5- there is a firefox add-on that can block the tripadvisor tracking opt cookies >> DNT >> dont track us plus

    6- start slow and dont get too excited because you will end up hurting your self or someone else's business .
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. yasburrows

    yasburrows Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    52
    How many reviews exactly are you trying to post? I use cyberghost which has about 32 unique UK ip's, surfeasy 5 or 6 (although you can't select a particular one - I don't think). Obviously I/you will have my/your actual real IP address (presuming you are in UK?) and also my/your work IP address and also any BT or other open wifi. However, if you are looking for hundreds then nae idea, sorry.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016