1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fake Amazon Reviews Hurt Everyone

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by codexehow, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. codexehow

    codexehow Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    496
    Location:
    NC
    Wow...I just took a tour of Kindle with my new Amazon Unlimited account..and I have to tell you guys...it's pretty grim.

    There are so many books that I know some of you are putting out there, and the fake reviews are VERY obvious. 5 star reviews from people who obviously barely speak/understand English? Really? Do you really think these reviews are fooling anyone?

    Then I download the 4 or 5 star rated book...and it's horrible. Typos everywhere, bad, even dangerous info, etc.

    Let me let those of you who need it in on a little secret: when a book has 4x the number of 5 star reviews than it does 1 star reviews, and little to no 4 or 3 star reviews, it's an obvious fake.

    Amazon is going to crack down on this—Amazon MUST crack down on this. Soon the Amazon review will be meaningless, and then people who actually produce good content will be screwed.

    Click on a few of these reviewers who are leaving 5 stars, and you see that they give 5 stars to everything.

    Oh, and seelling "Part 1" books for $3.99 is really lame. Kindle is not set up to support that. You're just shooting yourself in the foot.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  2. sn0rt

    sn0rt Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    3,502
    Occupation:
    "Most obstacles melt away when we make up our mind
    Location:
    "Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is
    You sound like you work for amazon. If you don't, you sound like you'd be one of those that would send them an email complaining about it.
     
  3. codexehow

    codexehow Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    496
    Location:
    NC
    It's just really lame seeing books ranking with obviously fake reviews. The point of kindle is to build residual income, not to make a few bucks here and there. Amazon will eventually purge all of these crappy books with fake reviews, so what's the point? If you're doing it, you're just wasting your time. Once they accuse you of gaming the system, they don't have to pay you.
     
  4. ShadeDream

    ShadeDream Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    5,230
    Location:
    He who laughs last, laughs longest.
    I hope Amazon send those dumb fucks releasing those pieces of shit to space. Fuck large companies, but fuck shit content creators even more!

    That's my opinion.
     
  5. sn0rt

    sn0rt Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    3,502
    Occupation:
    "Most obstacles melt away when we make up our mind
    Location:
    "Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is
    I see it as just another form of stealing/conning. If you're convincing prospective buyers of something that's different than what you're providing, you're stealing money from them and conning them. I don't think amazon will do anything about it though, at least not until they notice a percentage of their sales/kindle activity decline because of it.
     
  6. SnoopyDrew

    SnoopyDrew Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    534
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Affiliate Marketing And SEO
    Location:
    Oregon
    i agree they should throw in a 4 star review every once and a while because 5 star is just way too obvious.
     
  7. mickyfu

    mickyfu Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5,278
    Likes Received:
    15,458
    Location:
    Jennifers Office.
    I think people who leave fake reviews on Amazon should be hung, drawn and quartered, or at least locked up for life.
     
  8. socialmediapro

    socialmediapro Jr. VIP Jr. VIP UnGagged Attendee

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    436
    Occupation:
    Online Entrepreneur
    Home Page:
    I think I should start another company that sells them and other reviews! Thanks!
     
  9. Clive56

    Clive56 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sure they will, just about anytime now. I must confess the rising number of the fake reviews are getting to me, and I never did give them much thought before.

    Reviews should be realistic or at least comprehensible. When they don't meet either, it's saying you don't value the revenue stream. I really hope Amazon does something about this soon.