1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Experience with super long reviews?

Discussion in 'Clickbank' started by serioza, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hey everyone!

    I've been slowly working on my clickbank review site and when I started, decided to go all out and write massive reviews covering the products fully.
    I've got 2 so far, the first one is at 4000 words, the second one is over 7600. Have any of you had experience with reviews that long? Or is there an optimal length past which the conversions go down?

    Someone told me that I shouldn't completely show every part of the product in the review, but leave some intrigue to get the reader to buy. How true is this?
     
  2. HostStage

    HostStage Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    1,769
    Occupation:
    BHW - CEO of Webhosting Company
    Location:
    BWH from France
    Home Page:
    I would answer you in an user point of view.
    Long reviews makes it serious but i highly doupt that anyone would go through them all. The more advanced the user is on internet the less he actually reads. (some studies were published to proove that)

    So you must organize it properly so the key points are introduced first, the ones that would trigger a conversion.

    I'm not sure the product you are going to sell through CB but you need to analyze what buyers are looking for and what are their needs to cover it at first.

    I would also use big and impactful titles throughout the whole review.
     
  3. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks! Not sure if I understood correctly, but it's not my product, I'm just promoting products as an affiliate. If that's what you meant, then apologies!

    Problem is that some of the products I promote already have a bunch of short reviews, but they're all generic, not that useful to a customer.

    Would breaking the review up into several pages help? Or do you find that if the review is all on one page, that converts better?
     
  4. Nonilol

    Nonilol Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Media Informatics & Webdev Student
    Location:
    Hamburg, GER / Southampton, UK
    Home Page:
    Depends on the price of the product you are selling.

    If you are selling a $5 ebook, no one will read through a 10-page-review. However if you are working with higher prices, like 50+$ its more likely that they read those reviews. And those that do will probably buy your stuff as long as the reviews are well written.
     
  5. HostStage

    HostStage Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    1,769
    Occupation:
    BHW - CEO of Webhosting Company
    Location:
    BWH from France
    Home Page:
    I know you are an affiliate but the maths remain the same ;)

    Analyze why the people would buy the product you are promoting and cover it in your first part of your review, the rest should be emphasized / sum up by big titles.
     
  6. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    One product is 80-100$ and the other one is 40$, but with a massive upsell inside it that I review as well, which costs around 600$
     
  7. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    My reviews follow this kind of structure:
    First I have an introduction, I think my introduction is pretty good and contains all the main points, then a short section about authors, then the main section that looks inside the product and reviews each part, with screenshots and all, then the final parts where I talk about its value for money and pros and cons, then the conclusion, where I go over the main points again and nudge to sell a bit.
     
  8. Enryu

    Enryu Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    158
    Just test it. Test, test, test. Theory is nice and all, but all that matters are results. There are simply too many variables involved for you to receive any meaningful answers to a question like this. Super long reviews may be perfect for your demographic/market/product/site...or they may not be. So test and measure everything.

    For future reference, here is most of IM in a nutshell:
    1. Test, test, test.
    2. Adjust.
    3. Go to step 1.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks haha! I plan to test a lot, just came here to see if anybody has done any similar testing or if there is some data I might be missing that's obvious to experienced IMers :)
     
  10. Paper-Boy

    Paper-Boy Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,118
    Likes Received:
    1,825
    @OP, have you had a chance to look at your competitors' LP?

    You can do this by searching around google. Use those landing pages as a foundation only. Improve it and have multiple variations to test.
     
  11. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hey, yes I looks at some competitors, but most have short reviews, under 1000 words. Mine are a bit different and include much more content. I review all of the content in the product, provide screenshots and thoughts about individual parts.
     
  12. Dante12

    Dante12 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    368
    Longer posts are definitely better from SEO point of view but 7K+ seems too long and boring. I'd suggest to Put some "Buy it now" buttons every 1-2K content
     
  13. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok I will try! I also thought to add an index and get people who don't want to read all of it to go to the conclusion.
     
  14. klatzen

    klatzen Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    20
    Personally, when I look for reviews I look for small articles that covers the basic need-to-know, not all the other blabber. But indeed a 4000 Word review seems more serious, but I would find another one if i stumble upon a review of 7000+ Words, thats a small book :)
     
  15. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok thank you! I feel it's a bit much too, will see if people read it haha
     
  16. Wyld888

    Wyld888 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    I would keep the reviews short but long-enough to cover all of the important aspects of the product. You don't want the visitor to get sick of reading, especially when they have to click over to the sales page and read more about the product.
     
  17. HoneyHelper

    HoneyHelper Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    388
    Proof read both of the reviews.
    See which one is more promising and convening and use that!
    You cant select the reviews based on word count
     
  18. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah, maybe I went in a bit too deep, but I was hoping to get the people who are looking for info on specific parts of the products. They are massive products.
     
  19. serioza

    serioza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    10
    The reviews are about different products, I'm using them both, just that's how long they are. Will probably keep the reviews shorter in the future.
     
  20. tvonpchq

    tvonpchq Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks for your valuable info