Discussion in 'Business & Tax Advice' started by KingStone, Feb 8, 2009.
Do I need to file my state tax if my refund is $0?
you mean your income is $0, right?
You have to file a tax return for federal and state no matter what.
Thats not true, do a quick search and will see a lot places with tables for income thresholds and if you make below that amount you are not required to file.
I know its the same amount for everyone for federal but it may vary by each state. Also depends on your age, filing status & gross income.
Depending on the individual, a lot of low income people that are not required to file do so anyways and get a nice refund even though they paid no income taxes at all. Doesn't make sense to me but sometimes it can profitable to file even if not required. Actually its a huge percentage of people that get a refund that don't even pay taxes.
I dunno but I just filed my income with turbotax but they charge money for e-filing the state return so i did not file state yet. Only filed my federal which I owe $400 but it says $0 on my state so i dunno If i should file it since I have to pay turbotax for state filing.
Yes, yes, yes...you need to file your state income tax return also. What you "owe" is not the reason returns are filed. Returns are filed to report income and expenses and square away your tax for that given year. In your case, you have zero owed, however, you still need to file for the reasons stated above.
You could also BH turbotax and print off the sample, then write it in to the form you can probably download and print. Send it in and keep the state happy.
Yeah it's pretty damn easy to fill out those forms. I think you can get them at the post office or even print them off your states website. Follow the directions and you'll be fine.
There's a lot of bad advice in this thread. I am a California Registered Tax Preparer and, while I can't speak for the laws in your state, in California you do NOT need to file a state income tax return unless your adjusted gross income is above the filing threshold.
Make a quick call to your state tax authority (or your local H&R Block office, for that matter) and find out what the limit is in your state. It may be to your advantage to file a return even if you don't have to, for example if you need to file one to qualify for certain benefits, etc.) You could take all of your paperwork into an H&R Block office and they should be able to tell you right away if you need to file a state return. You don't have to have it done at Block, but at least you can get some free advice.
The bottom line is that you need to provide more information about your particular situation before someone can make an educated guess. Don't fall for the answers in this threat that tell you absolutely yes or no. You really should be getting your tax advice from a professional and not someone anonymous on a forum. Some of these people do know what they are talking about, but so many have no clue and are basing their answers on their personal experience (or lack of it) with no real knowledge or education about the facts. Talk to a professional to get some advice - that doesn't mean you have to pay them, but a quick telephone call or drop in to a local tax office should get you some reliable information.
I looked up my state tax requirements in 5 minutes or less, just put in G " 'insert state name here' state taxes" It should refer you to your state tax commission page, they should have a FAQ of who should pay and who shouldn't.
Monthly publication with detailed practical business tax advice delivered in plain English.
Separate names with a comma.