1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BuyYelpReview being sued

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by roofwalker, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. roofwalker

    roofwalker Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    So, let's say hypothetically... after reading about BuyYelpReview on here... I bought a review for a business on here. Hypothetically. It turns out BuyYelpReview is being sued by yelp. One of the things Yelp is asking for in the complaint (I can't post links, but google: tim catron digitalcommons.law.scu.edu yelp) is the name of businesses who they wrote reviews for. Do you think I should be worried in said hypothetical situation? Especially after the FTC levied fines against companies for fake reviews... and since Yelp is pretty litigious?
     
  2. kaylanewett

    kaylanewett Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    547
    Location:
    NYC
    I don't get it? Why don't people just write the reviews themselves??
     
  3. Aaric

    Aaric Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    do not take risk.
    you know about a jeweler bert lewi in such situation.
     
  4. roofwalker

    roofwalker Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Kaylenewett... it's because Yelps filter works so well
     
  5. kvmcable

    kvmcable Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    2,815
    Occupation:
    24 year business owner - old school dude
    Location:
    KFC - BW3
    SWIM is the fitting acronym to save you all that typing. :)

    SWIM shouldn't be worried because SWIM didn't know he was doing anything illegal or wrong. SWIM purchased a service from a service provider in good faith. Should SWIM get a Court notice otherwise it would be good for SWIM to contact legal counsel to squash a complaint without incriminating himself.

    Now that's the BH language I know :)
     
  6. Parrotfish2005

    Parrotfish2005 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    23
    Careful these things can bite back as shown above.
     
  7. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    TBO, I don't think Yelp could afford that type of litigation.
    Its not like they can just fine hundreds or thousands of companies that they suspect of using the service.

    They would need proof, companies can hire lawyers, and that can result in Yelp spending A LOT of money
    just to make a point that in the end, wouldn't seem worth it.

    With that said, I agree with what another posted said. Just do them yourself.

    -SB
     
  8. roofwalker

    roofwalker Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    What does SWIM stand for?
     
  9. richanytime

    richanytime Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    wow thats scary lol...
     
  10. theseodude

    theseodude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    88
    this is more of a legal question, but yes, it is POSSIBLE that they will find the name of every website that has used the service. Will it happen? I dont know, but legally, it is possible.
     
  11. Asif WILSON Khan

    Asif WILSON Khan Executive VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10,119
    Likes Received:
    28,559
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Fun Lovin' Criminal
    Location:
    London
    Home Page:

    SWIM:
    S- Someone
    W- Who
    I- Isnt
    M- Me

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 4
  12. noseo

    noseo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    122
    Btw, their first mistake was the name. They used the Yelp trademark and can be taken to the cleaners for that, regardless of any other merit of their defense. There's blackhat and then there is reckless, stupid stuff like that.

    To the OP: maybe, they might use that information as a bargaining chip for a better settlement.
     
  13. TheLinkGuy

    TheLinkGuy Power Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    EU
    Ya they are pretty fucking stupid for using Yelp in the domain name like that

    One thing though is that the company that you bought fake reviews for could come back and sue you for damages. Hypothetically of course.
     
  14. Jobless

    Jobless Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    184
    Or they can just delete the paid for reviews, which would still screw OP.
     
  15. JG1320

    JG1320 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NJ
    My sympathy for the OP, this is some scary stuff. It seems the best thing for the OP is if they just deleted the paid reviews like the guy above me said. The worst is getting sued.
     
  16. Nigel Farage

    Nigel Farage BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1,495
    Reviews are protected political speech. Satire is also protected speech. Yelp violates my civil rights by attempting to censor or suppress my speech. I'll post whatever the fuck I want, whenever the fuck I want and wherever the fuck I want, and I will continue to do so until the government stops sleazy telemarketers from harassing me.

    If it wasn't for fake reviews, no one would read any of that shit on Yelp. I bet less than 5% of the reviews on that shitty site are genuine, and 90% of those are negative.

    Given the profile above, if "real" reviews were all they presented, Yelp would have more to worry about from an organized effort of abused small business owners, particularly restaurants, than penny-ante fake review vendors. Small businesses fucking hate Yelp already, and Google too.

    In my legal universe, the legal argument that allows Yelp to host and publish fabricated, false and financially destructive information about virtually ever small business and restaurant in the country is the same legal argument I use when I post the same information on their shitty, spam-laden website, except I'm not the one that's hosting it; they are. So send Yelp executives to prison, and fine them millions. If anyone should be sued for damages, it is them. They need to tread extremely fucking lightly, because the legal arguments that they might use against a guy like me for chump change, are the exact same legal arguments that can be used against them, and for millions.

    Also, too many toadies, sycophants and dick-suckers in this thread. Any time there is a dispute between something that vaguely resembles "authority" and a lone individual just trying to make a buck, some people immediately drop to their knees and start looking around for the biggest dick to suck on. This is a black hat forum. The Sister Mary Theresa of the Church of Immaculate Conception's Holy Internet Marketing Methods Forum is 3 websites down. Some of you should go over there with your Bibles, and your rosary beads and your self-righteous notions of right and wrong, and your self-entitled authority to enforce that "standard" on others.

    While you do the exact same thing in private, and think that no one knows. News Flash: We know.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  17. drywallrob

    drywallrob Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    476
  18. faibol

    faibol Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    473
    this is why:

    Code:
    [URL]http://searchengineland.com/yelp-outs-more-businesses-with-another-batch-of-paid-review-alerts-169476[/URL]

    more information about "buyyelpreview" being sued by yelp:

    Code:
    [URL]http://www.webpronews.com/yelp-sues-site-that-sells-yelp-reviews-2013-06[/URL]
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. Logician

    Logician BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    581
    Sorry, wrong thread. Please delete
     
  20. jr_sci

    jr_sci Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    686
    Occupation:
    CTO at Tiny Piglet Publishing, Bestselling Author
    Home Page:
    There are much better marketing tactics to earn Yelp reviews than to buy fake ones.

    You can't blame the ones who does it either. Likes, G+, Retweets are manipulated on a daily basis. Some day might come when Google, Twitter & Facebook would sues Fiverr for promoting these gigs. And I also hope, Google doesn't sue Blackhatters for manipulating Google Rankings. Ehh.. who knows !



    .
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013