1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amazon review site or affiliate store?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by cooliyog, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. cooliyog

    cooliyog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Okay so I've got a really nice keyword with about 1300 searches a month. Its a product keyword e.g. barbie dolls. I want to go the amazon affiliate route but I don't know which path to take.

    My initial thoughts were to do a review style site with the home page featuring like a top 10 or just a table of different products along side 3000+ words related to the product. I would then have other articles like how to's, buyers guides etc and other long tail keywords making up the other pages

    But then I was thinking I should set it up as a typical ecommerce store. The home page could still be somewhat similar to the review site with a mixture of products and 3000+ words and would also feature the various product categories and could also feature buyers guides and stuff also.

    I'm not really sure what will be the best route to take. With the store I am not sure if allowing users the ability to add to cart and then head over to amazon on checkout is an advantage or not. I am leaning more towards the store mainly because it is a product keyword I am going after and not 'best barbie dolls' or 'barbie dolls review' etc. This is my first foray into internet marketing and everything I've learned has come directly from this forum so if anyone has any advice for me I'd greatly appreciate it.

    Also if I am to go the affiliate store route I'd be happy to hear any suggestions in regards to a decent wordpress amazon store plugin I could use
     
  2. elhosary

    elhosary Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Egypt
    affiliate site wins
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. cooliyog

    cooliyog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Im assuming you are talking about the affiliate store? And if so why do you say that?
     
  4. rob1977

    rob1977 Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    676
    no i think they were suggesting a review type of site rather than a store.

    i would like proven wrong but to me a store seems pointless unless you had a source of traffic already as i would head direct to amazon if i wanted to search items etc.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. meil luiz

    meil luiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a Hollow Earth
    Review type site for promoting amazon product always working for me at this time. You need to write good infomation, a 150-600 words (way too good I guess) for your visitor in order to attract them so they will view another page of your site if they like (your another amazon product review). Just keeping it natural, avoid being a desparate affiliater lol
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. cooliyog

    cooliyog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ye I've been giving it a lot of thought and through some more research on the topic I found myself leaning towards a review type site. And now the input from you guys has made my decision clear. Thanks gor your help!
     
  7. Servercookie

    Servercookie Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    What i have found that works is build a website, a good website with good information about the stuff you want to sell ,and then add a affiliate store on top of it once you start to rank and get some traffic. I did that and
    making pretty effortless 500+ usd pr month on that 1 site alone. Just keep updating it with new and relevant information regaridn the topic and put a few links to the products were they make sense and its a winner.

    There are some really nice plugins that will pull all the products from amazing with your affiliate links, i think its called Zoo something, search for it on themeforest / code canyon
     
  8. magicherbs123

    magicherbs123 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IMer
    Location:
    Malta
    +1 for a review site. I have two e-commerce styled Amazon affiliate stores and neither are converting well. There's a lot of traffic coming into the product pages though cause they are imported from Amazon and are showing up in SERPS for the exact product keywords. Users also get redirected to Amazon from checkout. No conversions yet.
     
  9. staypositive

    staypositive Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    129
    Occupation:
    Hiring content writer & VA for links building, PM
    why not both? make a review site to get traffic and store to bait the clicks?