1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Affiliate Niche product review site

Discussion in 'Making Money' started by sot1993, May 2, 2016.

  1. sot1993

    sot1993 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey, after a lot of researching i found the idea of starting an authorative in one niche website highly interesting to me. What I am going to do is to create a wordpress site that i will be having reviews about a smaller niche of the fitness/bodybuilding industry. The reason i chose this niche is because of my love for bodybuilding and that will be my motivation of proceeding. What i would like to ask is it necessary to use a theme that is optimised for amazon affiliate? i am going to use amazon affiliate but other affiliate services as well.
     
  2. Jesse Custer

    Jesse Custer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    185
    Not necessary. The best links you place inside your content so as long as you get a "blog" theme, or maybe a "magazine" (depending on your approach) it's all good. There's a lot of great themes out there.

    My advice would be to choose one that is well supported, with enough "How To" guides, forums, videos on youtube, etc.
     
  3. T2tkid

    T2tkid Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    1,745
    The fitness niche is very tough. It took me almost 1 year and 6 months to get to the top 3 positions for lots of money keywords. And lots of investment too.

    The theme you use depends on you. But if I were you, i will not use a theme that will shout 'affiliate' to the users and google.
     
  4. bigbrothers

    bigbrothers Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Seo Company
    It's NOT an easy type of niche to set up and there's lots of competition and money being spent. However this niche is VERY lucrative when successful.

    This will be a lot of hard work ( unless you're a good writer ) and time and NOT cheap as you'll need a team of quality writers. You've to hire content writers who specialize in your niche or find them through niche forums, blogs and from sites like Elance.

    As T2tkid told, do not use a theme that will shout 'affiliate' to the users and Google. As you want to build authoritative niche website, choose both magazine & review type of themes.

    Best Wishes - BB
     
  5. sot1993

    sot1993 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    can you suggest me some of these themes? Also on of the categories which i am going to review products is yet new so i have the opportunity to rank for keywords in this category and then try to redirect visitors from landing on the reviews of this product category to other reviews. does this sound any good?
     
  6. bigbrothers

    bigbrothers Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Seo Company
    Redirecting to other reviews sounds good.

    No theme exist that will fulfil all of your Amazon niche site requirements. You need to do some customizations by adding plugins, setting up unique widgets and related stuffs, if you can.

    You will need to use themes that will provide you with the most simplistic front-end design, clean in look, light weight pages, and functions required to run a magazine type site that will fit into your budget.

    I would personally suggest to try - Deli press - Magazine and Review WordPress Theme. Also, I suggest to try few more themes and go from there.

    Best Wishes - BB

     
  7. sot1993

    sot1993 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    I found some keywords that are with a lot of monthly searches, low competition and good CPC. Do you think is a good idea to start a review site and focus just on these categories? or adding categories with high competition but aim to rank for the low competition keywords is better? For example lets say the one category is "Pre-workout supplements" (High searches and low competition) and the other categories are "protein powders" "creatine powders" etc.

    I am planning to create a site with reviews for all the categories, but aim to rank for "pre-workout supplements". Then from there i will link with the other categories reviews like "Check out more about the best protein powders and how they can maximise your workout".. Also i would add general fitness articles just to make sure that google identifies my website as authority site. Examples of articles can be "what are pre workout supplements and how to use them", "the 4 bodybuilding myths that hinder your results","why you find it hard to burn fat" etc. Is this a good idea? or is it better just to focus on bulding a website related only to my high search low competition keyword? and just add content for this category?
     
  8. Shadexpwn

    Shadexpwn Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    452
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Showrunner
    Location:
    In the Shade
    Instead of going towards a traditional review approach aim at getting any blog established with list review articles so you can promote products there.

    The Bodybuilding niche contains products which cannot be listed inside standard review posts as it takes more to leverage the content in different ways.
     
  9. zsimpson22

    zsimpson22 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    101
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On My Way To The Top
    You're going to get a lot of different opinions on the fitness niche brother. Truth is if you have a passion for it, then do it 100%, like others have said though, it will more than likely need to be a blog/newspaper/magazine theme. The reasoning is pretty simple in that people who are into fitness, want trust and relationships built. You can't do this by simply trying to sell them a product. You want something they can constantly keep coming back too and learn from.
     
  10. sot1993

    sot1993 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    I outsourced most of the work of content writing, but i am also trying to get me feet wet on content developing. I am trying to identify long tail keywords and include them into my content. Is there any optimal number of long tail keywords that are needed for a single article? is it one long tail keyword per article? also what is the optimal keyword density?
     
  11. bigbrothers

    bigbrothers Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Seo Company
    Cool, it would be great if you get your feet wet on developing content asap, so you can make the quality content more possible with your own writing.

    About optimal keyword density - in my experience, there is no ideal percentage. I write natural page copy which is always focused on the key phrases and related key phrases. If it looks natural, it's ok with me. I never calculate density in order to identify the best % - there are way too many other things to work on.

    I recommend to focus more on writing good relative content, proper page structure and decent link building.

    Rock ON! - BB