GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

 

Results 1 to 28 of 28
Heads up to anyone using GlowingReviews.co Edmunds.com accuses GlowingReviews.co of posting more than 60 fake ...
  1. #1
    aakon7's Avatar
    aakon7 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    484
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked 236 Times in 127 Posts

    Default GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Heads up to anyone using GlowingReviews.co

    Edmunds.com accuses GlowingReviews.co of posting more than 60 fake reviews of about two dozen dealerships, including eight in the L.A. area.

    In its lawsuit, filed in Texas, Edmunds alleges GlowingReviews.co, operated by Humankind Design Ltd., of creating multiple accounts and submitting fake reviews in breach of Edmunds' membership agreement. The company also accused GlowingReviews.co of using Edmunds' logo on its website without permission.


    Humankind, based in Friendswood, Texas, did not respond to an email and a voicemail seeking comment. But Justin Anderson, who runs GlowingReviews, told Bloomberg that he was collecting handwritten comment cards and submitting them to Edmunds. He called the allegations groundless and vowed to work with Edmunds to allay its concerns.

    http://www.latimes.com/business/la-f...,2362873.story

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aakon7 For This Useful Post:

    -Jericho- (08-02-2013), HFlame7 (08-01-2013)




  3. #2
    CosmicSoundz is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    1,475
    Thanked 1,224 Times in 399 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    wow!!!. Im a big fan of humankinds blogs.
    This member has been permanently banned from BHW.

  4. #3
    szhang's Avatar
    szhang is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    corn fields
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Might consider signing up now that I know they work well

  5. #4
    Joelamite's Avatar
    Joelamite is offline Newbies
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    My experience with "Glowing Reviews" was a bad one, although I was using it to try to get reviews on Yelp to stick for a client. None of them did, and I was charged for an additional month of service after I had canceled. Still waiting for that refund...

  6. #5
    aakon7's Avatar
    aakon7 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    484
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked 236 Times in 127 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Well their site is now offline so a warning to companies out there looking to do the same type of service!

  7. #6
    DangerousDEN's Avatar
    DangerousDEN is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    yup still down, was going to sign up.

  8. #7
    aakon7's Avatar
    aakon7 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    484
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked 236 Times in 127 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Edmunds and a number of other journalists outed some of their clients too.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 315 Times in 127 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    I think glowingreviews.co just made it a little TOO obvious.... Great service and concept, but it's quite blackhat no matter which way you look at it.

  10. #9
    iDeserved's Avatar
    iDeserved is offline i swear
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    In a competitive world
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 80 Times in 66 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    ANYONE with a minimum common sense can see what these guys where doing... it was all a matter of time seriously. Let's hope the next guys do it better, these guys are done

  11. #10
    mudbutt's Avatar
    mudbutt is online now GOD MEMBER
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ghosted
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 3,627 Times in 930 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    What did he expect? his "written cards" defense isn't going to mean shit if Edmunds signed up a fake business and got fake reviews posted proving there was no "written cards" before the review was posted.
    pm me if you're renting sig space.

  12. #11
    Skyebug77's Avatar
    Skyebug77 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Portland,Or
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 253 Times in 136 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Yeah they were very obvious.

  13. #12
    dragonrage01 is offline Power Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    669
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 152 Times in 83 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Quote Originally Posted by SpiderBlast View Post
    The site is gone?! What the fuck?

    I AM SO ANGRY RIGHT NOW ITS NOT EVEN FUNNY.

    It took me a long time to find this place, and for the last half a year I've been using
    them they have made it SO EASY to build my online reputation. I can't even say
    how angry I am right now that they're gone. They are part of the reason I got into
    local lead gen and started making good money.

    If glowingreviews does not come back, someone really NEEDS to fill this gap.

    And they need to provide this service in a way that is 100% anonymous. To avoid lawsuits.

    THIS IS AN OPEN BLACK MARKET FOR ANYONE WHO KNOWS WHAT THEY'RE DOING.

    You would have to do it smarter than glowingreviews did. No paypal, nothing that leaves a
    trail to you the vendor. The site would need to be 100% untraceable. And if you could do that
    you could make a lot of money. I would set this up myself if I had a clue what I was doing.

    -SB
    You are doing blackhat and you are getting mad because the money train is gone?
    Welcome to SEO.

  14. #13
    SPQR's Avatar
    SPQR is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1,510
    Thanks
    266
    Thanked 596 Times in 463 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    They we not using enough secrecy.

  15. #14
    goldendeli's Avatar
    goldendeli is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Yikes that is scary, they were advertising on here for a while.

    Id love to hear a follow up on this, anyone know more details?

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 315 Times in 127 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    I might be wrong about this, but I believe glowingreviews's founder is a member on BHW as well? HKSEO? And he is the same founder as a lot of other services such as linklicious, 24hoursbacklinks etc.?

  17. #16
    HFlame7 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    1,243
    Thanked 123 Times in 92 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Thanks for the post, aakon. Surprised nobody else in this thread gave a thanks to you for the heads up (at the time of this post).

    This should definitely remind people that any form of blackhat can come back to bite you if you don't take the necessary precautions.

  18. #17
    afman's Avatar
    afman is offline Newbies
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    I'm also pissed that some company can just throw their weight around and cause a small company to immediately take a dump. Just because some dumb ass marketer got too ambitious with the edmonds reveiws. I bet 90% of the GR customers didn't even use freakin edmonds. This was a very helpful tool to drip feed hand-written (REAL) reviews from client's customers to a variety of reviews sites. I've kept all the comment cards for FTC compliance. This is the case of a tool that could be used legally or illegally.

    In all reality, If it's against the TOS of a site to do it a certain way, fine, that's a rule of the site but its NOT A LAW... what damages were they suing for? They knew damn well the endgame was to scare the hell out of the owners into ceasing business.

    Does anyone know a service or tool like this? It was much easier to use this tool than to hire outsourcers to do this work manually. Who gives a shit about edmonds apart from car dealers... Most of us need google, yelp, citysearch, YP, etc.

  19. #18
    Corydoras007's Avatar
    Corydoras007 is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    This post just shows how serious reviews can be (real or fake).

    People have been doing this since the stone age. Reputation is a big deal!
    Last edited by Corydoras007; 08-02-2013 at 06:19 AM.

  20. #19
    -Jericho-'s Avatar
    -Jericho- is offline Freebie / Giveaway Section Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Stalking My Ex-Wife
    Posts
    2,833
    Thanks
    288
    Thanked 1,575 Times in 689 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Anyone found an alternative? It's much easier to get written reviews then it is to get people to log into a site many times. Especially for older people who are not so tech savvy.

    Thanks OP for the heads up.

  21. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 315 Times in 127 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    I am wondering if it's worth anyone to replicate glowingreviews business model now.. since they just got sued.

  22. #21
    CosmicSoundz is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    1,475
    Thanked 1,224 Times in 399 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    But how. lol.. According to them they had accounts in every city that were active. Good luck getting that replicated.
    This member has been permanently banned from BHW.

  23. #22
    mudbutt's Avatar
    mudbutt is online now GOD MEMBER
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ghosted
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 3,627 Times in 930 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Quote Originally Posted by originalposter View Post
    I am wondering if it's worth anyone to replicate glowingreviews business model now.. since they just got sued.
    Good idea! Lets replicate a business model that just got sued into oblivion!
    pm me if you're renting sig space.

  24. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 315 Times in 127 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Quote Originally Posted by mudbutt View Post
    Good idea! Lets replicate a business model that just got sued into oblivion!
    Not sure if you misunderstood my statement there. I meant to say what you just said. Definitely stupid to jump into this business model, to whoever thinking of making their own alternatives...

  25. #24
    mudbutt's Avatar
    mudbutt is online now GOD MEMBER
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ghosted
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 3,627 Times in 930 Posts

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    Quote Originally Posted by originalposter View Post
    Not sure if you misunderstood my statement there. I meant to say what you just said. Definitely stupid to jump into this business model, to whoever thinking of making their own alternatives...
    ah i did misunderstand your post. I apologize!
    pm me if you're renting sig space.

  26. #25
    CaptinAmerica's Avatar
    CaptinAmerica is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 53 Times in 34 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

    I had been using GR's to crush local comp. Sucks it has been down for a while but the service was WAY to good to last long. Check out LBLrobot. Not the same and does not do Yelp. It say they do Google listings but I think I have had 2-3 go though a month. There are a few good guys on Fiverr that can get google reviews done and have English accounts. Usually priced $5 for 2-3 reviews. As far as Yelp you need to get real reviews. If it's a BS business you are pretty much screwed for yelp reviews.

    Good luck out there!

    CA


Similar Threads

  1. Glowingreviews.co Reviews ? Anyone using this service?
    By chuckleboo in forum White Hat SEO
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-30-2013, 07:16 PM
  2. http://glowingreviews.co/ Legit?
    By howard_hughes in forum BlackHat Lounge
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-30-2013, 11:02 AM
  3. Will I get sued?
    By blackstone37 in forum BlackHat Lounge
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 04:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




BlackHatWorld on Twitter BlackHatWorld on FaceBook


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109