1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GlowingReviews.co sued by Edmunds.com

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by aakon7, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. aakon7

    aakon7 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    248
    Occupation:
    eCommerce consultant
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Heads up to anyone using GlowingReviews.co

    Edmunds.com accuses GlowingReviews.co of posting more than 60 fake reviews of about two dozen dealerships, including eight in the L.A. area.

    In its lawsuit, filed in Texas, Edmunds alleges GlowingReviews.co, operated by Humankind Design Ltd., of creating multiple accounts and submitting fake reviews in breach of Edmunds' membership agreement. The company also accused GlowingReviews.co of using Edmunds' logo on its website without permission.


    Humankind, based in Friendswood, Texas, did not respond to an email and a voicemail seeking comment. But Justin Anderson, who runs GlowingReviews, told Bloomberg that he was collecting handwritten comment cards and submitting them to Edmunds. He called the allegations groundless and vowed to work with Edmunds to allay its concerns.

    http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-edmunds-fake-reviews-20130724,0,2362873.story
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  2. CosmicSoundz

    CosmicSoundz BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    wow!!!. Im a big fan of humankinds blogs.
     
  3. szhang

    szhang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    31
    Occupation:
    college student
    Location:
    corn fields
    Might consider signing up now that I know they work well
     
  4. Joelamite

    Joelamite Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    17
    My experience with "Glowing Reviews" was a bad one, although I was using it to try to get reviews on Yelp to stick for a client. None of them did, and I was charged for an additional month of service after I had canceled. Still waiting for that refund...
     
  5. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    The problem is not glowingreviews, its that you don't know how to use their service.

    I've been using them for 6 months and they have gotten >>>> EVERY single Yelp review
    to stick. Every new listing gets a filter applied for 3 weeks. So you post **1** review,
    then wait 3 weeks for it to show up. Afterwards, you should never post more than 1
    review a week (for Yelp, places like insider pages are obviously different).

    A little bit of split testing / research could have solved that for you.

    They are not a perfect company, and they should have tutorials that educate people
    who have no idea how to use their service. But for the low monthly fee, and the
    amount of reviews I have gotten on all of my listings, I would gladly pay double that
    fee for the same service. If you had any idea how many phone calls we get from
    people saying "your online reviews are really impressive" and how much that helps
    conversions, you would know why their service is worth a lot more than what
    they charge.

    So many people repost the same review with Yelp, or another one immediately,
    the filter never comes down and they wind up fucking up their listing forever.

    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2013
  6. aakon7

    aakon7 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    248
    Occupation:
    eCommerce consultant
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Well their site is now offline so a warning to companies out there looking to do the same type of service!
     
  7. DangerousDEN

    DangerousDEN Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    18
    yup still down, was going to sign up.
     
  8. aakon7

    aakon7 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    248
    Occupation:
    eCommerce consultant
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Edmunds and a number of other journalists outed some of their clients too.
     
  9. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    The site is gone?! What the fuck?

    I AM SO ANGRY RIGHT NOW ITS NOT EVEN FUNNY.

    It took me a long time to find this place, and for the last half a year I've been using
    them they have made it SO EASY to build my online reputation. I can't even say
    how angry I am right now that they're gone. They are part of the reason I got into
    local lead gen and started making good money.

    If glowingreviews does not come back, someone really NEEDS to fill this gap.

    And they need to provide this service in a way that is 100% anonymous. To avoid lawsuits.

    THIS IS AN OPEN BLACK MARKET FOR ANYONE WHO KNOWS WHAT THEY'RE DOING.

    You would have to do it smarter than glowingreviews did. No paypal, nothing that leaves a
    trail to you the vendor. The site would need to be 100% untraceable. And if you could do that
    you could make a lot of money. I would set this up myself if I had a clue what I was doing.

    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    510
    I think glowingreviews.co just made it a little TOO obvious.... Great service and concept, but it's quite blackhat no matter which way you look at it.
     
  11. StrixMedia

    StrixMedia Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a competitive world
    ANYONE with a minimum common sense can see what these guys where doing... it was all a matter of time seriously. Let's hope the next guys do it better, these guys are done
     
  12. mudbutt

    mudbutt Jr. Executive VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    4,208
    Location:
    ghosted
    What did he expect? his "written cards" defense isn't going to mean shit if Edmunds signed up a fake business and got fake reviews posted proving there was no "written cards" before the review was posted.
     
  13. Skyebug77

    Skyebug77 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    828
    Occupation:
    Marketing
    Location:
    Portland,Or
    Yeah they were very obvious.
     
  14. dragonrage01

    dragonrage01 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    155
    You are doing blackhat and you are getting mad because the money train is gone?
    Welcome to SEO.
     
  15. SPQR

    SPQR Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    872
    Home Page:
    They we not using enough secrecy.
     
  16. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    TBO the reason I'm mad is cause I have to build my own network now rather than outsourcing it.
    Not really a money issue, its a laziness issue. =]
     
  17. goldendeli

    goldendeli Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    38
    Occupation:
    dolalr bills
    Yikes that is scary, they were advertising on here for a while.

    Id love to hear a follow up on this, anyone know more details?
     
  18. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    510
    I might be wrong about this, but I believe glowingreviews's founder is a member on BHW as well? HKSEO? And he is the same founder as a lot of other services such as linklicious, 24hoursbacklinks etc.?
     
  19. HFlame7

    HFlame7 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    154
    Thanks for the post, aakon. Surprised nobody else in this thread gave a thanks to you for the heads up (at the time of this post).

    This should definitely remind people that any form of blackhat can come back to bite you if you don't take the necessary precautions.
     
  20. afman

    afman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I'm also pissed that some company can just throw their weight around and cause a small company to immediately take a dump. Just because some dumb ass marketer got too ambitious with the edmonds reveiws. I bet 90% of the GR customers didn't even use freakin edmonds. This was a very helpful tool to drip feed hand-written (REAL) reviews from client's customers to a variety of reviews sites. I've kept all the comment cards for FTC compliance. This is the case of a tool that could be used legally or illegally.

    In all reality, If it's against the TOS of a site to do it a certain way, fine, that's a rule of the site but its NOT A LAW... what damages were they suing for? They knew damn well the endgame was to scare the hell out of the owners into ceasing business.

    Does anyone know a service or tool like this? It was much easier to use this tool than to hire outsourcers to do this work manually. Who gives a shit about edmonds apart from car dealers... Most of us need google, yelp, citysearch, YP, etc.