1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Word Review In Domain Name

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by moonlighsunligh, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. moonlighsunligh

    moonlighsunligh Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    218
    Hi,

    Would there be any seo harm/gain if i use word reviews in domain name for physical product review site?

    I have heard google usually rank better sites that are selling product, than reviews site. This is why i think that review in domain name may lower rankings a little bit.

    What do you think?
    Is it a considerable seo factor?
    Are you sites, that contain word review in domain name ranks well?

    Thanks
     
  2. raven123

    raven123 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    277
    A domain name with "review" alone doesn't make for a #1 ranking... unfortunately.

    Basically if you have the keyword in your doman, you get some extra seo juice than if you didn't have it there.

    But, if you have good onsite and good offsite seo, you can rank for "product name review" even without having review in your domain.

    In short: Helps a bit, but there are things that matter more.

    Good luck!
     
  3. moonlighsunligh

    moonlighsunligh Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    218
    I ask will it hurt to have keyword review inside domain name. Because this can consider this domain is an affiliate site. Since there are affiliate sites are in large percentage reviews sites.
     
  4. jon_xx_x

    jon_xx_x Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    No it won't hurt. I have one doing very well. It not only ranks #1 for keywordreviews, it ranks #1 for keyword, ahead a huge company's huge product.
    It gives you the chance to hit both keywords, keyword, and keyword review.
     
  5. moonlighsunligh

    moonlighsunligh Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    218
    It is good to know it is the same now as it was a year before.

    I know it didn't hurt before, because i have had 2 sites, first have had review on it, another one didn't. Niche was the same. They have had the same level of traffic, even second one have had much more links.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  6. N1ckG2

    N1ckG2 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    115
    product{-}review{s}.anything can be ranked pretty easy for product review kw, and its converts well. If you do your link building properly, then you can rank for product, and for many of long-tails. And yes, you cen get ranked for buy product as well, but a little bit harder.

    review and buy have different meaning and google knows it.
     
  7. moonlighsunligh

    moonlighsunligh Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    218
    Is it much easier to rank for just Product Name if i do not use review inside domain name?

    It is site that have many different product reviews. It is a niche that has 1000s amazon products.

    My dilemma is something like bellow. Which one is going to rank better for productname and productname snowblower ?
    1) snowblowersreviews.com/productname-snowblower-reviews.php - title:
    2) snowblowersforsale.com/productname-snowblower.php

    Also is there big difference between 1) and 2)?
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  8. TripleBeamDreams

    TripleBeamDreams Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    44
    Occupation:
    Affiliate Marketing
    Location:
    Where the Wild Things Are
    It doesn't hurt seo-wise but think about how a customer would think. Would they trust a site having that "spammy" word in the title? I would go for a more brand-able domain name.
     
  9. moonlighsunligh

    moonlighsunligh Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    218
    It is a product review site, so they probably should know these are product reviews.

    What about:
    "review and buy have different meaning and google knows it."

    I think google will find out on its own it is product reviews site, and not a store.
     
  10. moonlighsunligh

    moonlighsunligh Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    218
    anymore opinions?