1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why is it so hard to buy Yelp reviews?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Guerrero, Jul 4, 2013.

  1. Guerrero

    Guerrero Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Singapore
    It's been so tough getting decent Yelp reviews for my buddy's business that I'm seriously considering starting a Yelp reviewing business. Can you guys talk me out of it? With a VPN service and some determination, why can't I set up 50 Yelp accounts, fill them with scraped reviews, and start charging $20 per quality, unfiltered comment? I'd love to hear the reasons why this is a bad idea from people a lot more experienced than me. Thanks in advance! Guerrero
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. mikestern

    mikestern Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    i used "yelp review services" few times and it ends bad usualy...
    reviews stick for few days but then most of them gone. im getting pissed, the provider is pissed and its just not going well....if u have a reviews service in the US let me know. i will use your service
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. localseo510

    localseo510 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found that trading Yelp reviews works fine. I trade the reviews with local active users. there should be a thread here on bh
     
  4. swords12

    swords12 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    89
    Because it's not legitimate. You don't think a company like Yelp can see that "Oh hey Ronny ate at a restaurant in Los Angeles, and 5 hours later he is eating at one in New York -- nothing going on there I'm sure!". Also, search Google for the NY Times articles about a company being sued $300,000 for using fake Yelp reviews..... not something I want to even consider playing around with. Get them legitimately and everyone is happy.
     
  5. fistor

    fistor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, i
    Not saying faking Reviews is something one should do, but:
    The Provider could obviously have their Accounts seperated by Regions,
    also People dont have to leave a Review right after they left a Store. You could travel through 5 States on 5 Days, while visiting 10 different stores, and then place legitimate Reviews on the 6th Day for all of those 10 stores. It happens; People travel.
     
  6. chuladi

    chuladi Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    PM if you are interested in trading yelp reviews.
     
  7. gkid650

    gkid650 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will trade Yelp reviews for free with others that have good profiles. Also Google+, facebook...
     
  8. whynotmakeit

    whynotmakeit Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    278
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Njames2

    Njames2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a good account I can trade reviews with you
     
  10. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    I've tried about all the suggestions on BHW to get a yelp reviews to stick (not get filters).
    Nothing works long term.